Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle WA

Fun Stay

Posted Dec 17, 2017
This was a fun place to stay for a night. The room was bigger and more comfortable than I expected. Unfortunately there was no WiFi in my room. I had a great dinner and breakfast at the pub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Friendly local pub near to Stratford-upon-Avon

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, staff, location.
Cons: Update the rooms and bathrooms
Location: Stratford-upon-Avon, Ragley Hall etc
Great sized rooms and comfortable beds and a truly fantastic breakfast. Cleanliness of the room and tired, broken facilities let down what could be an amazing place to stay. Broken taps in bathroom, damaged furniture, half eaten biscuit in a drawer shows a lack of basic attention. My daughter had a kettle in her room without a lid which is potentially very dangerous as well as useless. Having said that, the staff are lovely, the location is fabulous, the breakfast is amazing, and the pub was full of very satisfied and happy customers. I would recommend this place to stay, but only if you want a place to rest for a night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south devon

Good pub

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Nice country pub, newly decorated rooms, simple but adequate. Good standard pub food.
4 out of 5
by Marilyn

Enjoyable stay

Posted Oct 30, 2017 on Hotels
Nice quiet friendly inn in beautiful countryside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel close to Stratford upon Avon

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: I liked the location - approx 4 miles from Stratford. The staff made you feel welcome and the hotel itself is nicely decorated.
Cons: Check out time at 10.00 could possibly be extended an hour?
Location: As we stayed just 2 nights we hadn't explored fully. The Shakespeare bus tour is well worth the trip.
We found the staff warm and welcoming. Breakfast was good and served without delay. Fish and chips in the dining room in the evening was good and staff friendly and efficient.
4 out of 5
by Dean

Good but could be better.

Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
Good value for money with the room being clean & tidy. Everything you could want for an overnight stay. Checking in was a little chaotic as the restaurant was very busy & you are affectively stood in a walk way behind the bar. The evening meal was good quality but the service wasn’t great. I ordered soup & pie. It took 1 hour for the food to come to the table & both meals came at the same time - not good. Ps lettuce & sliced tomato are not great with steak pie mash & peas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Canberra Australia

Great country pub experience

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: The ambiance
Cons: The bed was a little old but overall still good value for money.
Traveling through the UK we wanted to enjoy a local pub and was not disappointed by staying at Blue Boar. What I think is a traditional pub was everything that I had hoped for. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the dinner we had were great. The breakfast was great although it did take me a minute or two to determine if the cook (and owner) was joking or not about what we could have. I decided he was joking.
4 out of 5
by Graham

Good English pub

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely old pub with wonderful breakfast. Rooms were good size and all was clean and well presented. Very good dining room and meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hyde

Great location & great food

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Stayed for three nights in August, staff were great, food was great, clean room, just over the kitchen so did get a few kitchen smells but other than that was an enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
by Sally

Highly recommended

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely place, would have stayed another night had there been availability