Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Great value in Stratford-upon-Avon area

Posted Jun 21, 2017
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, value, food
Location: Take the car or public transportation into Shakespeare's birthplace, see a Royal Shakespeare Company play and enjoy a bustling town along the River Av
We arrived without our luggage, and the manager worked diligently with the airline to ensure our suitcases were on the way. She addressed the issue even while we had to leave for an event. We should all be so blessed by such a caring and aware hostess. The hotel is across the street from one tourist destination and although it is a distance from the town center, we noted city buses went down the street. The price is very good, so the value is high. It is an old-fashioned inn, so don't look for the latest in showers and so on, but it's clean and nice. The breakfast room has a great atmosphere.
5 out of 5
by james

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
GREAT STAY
4 out of 5
by Chris

Perfect location and Hosts.

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
A wonderful location and the hosts were perfect. The room was to die for BUT the whole establishment was in need of upkeep. A paint job and some general maintenance would make it perfect.. also the location cries out for a decent WI-FI connection.
5 out of 5
by roger

A homely, hotel, full of character

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is situated in a very quiet village only 3 miles from Stratford-upon-Avon and is in a beautiful setting. Is is full of character with log fires and oak beams. The room was very spacious with a nice bathroom, and everything was clean and comfortable. There is a good sized bar with a range of quality cask beers, reasonably priced. I didn't have an evening meal there, but I had a full English Breakfast on two mornings and that was delicious and nicely presented. The accommodation price was very reasonable when other hotels where more than twice the price for comparable accommodation. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to family and friends, and I will definitely be using it again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by DEBRA

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Room was dirty shower head broken had to hold to shower would not stay there again
4 out of 5
by Denis

Could be a little gem

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
An Ideally located and quiet place to stay good food and service. the only let down was our room would have benefitted from a bit of dusting. Staff were very friendly and inviting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham West Midlands

said 5 mins from 'rail station' but not locality

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: The hotel was comfortable & clean. Only 1 member of staff doing reception, bar, cleaning and waiting on tables she was rushed, curt and untidy.
Cons: More staff and appropriately dressed especially for serving food. Web page needs to say near 'WILMOTE' rail station.
Location: Only Mary Aden's House and farm nearby.
The webpage says 5 mins from 'rail station' so one assumes it's Stratford-on-Avon 'main'; we went 3 stops too far [past where we should have alighted] and had to take our cases around with us all day sightseeing in Stratford centre till we could check in. Had we known it meant Wilmcote 'local' station we could have got off there and left our luggage 'till check-in time. Then we had to get back on the train to the Mary Arden Inn and were charged to go back to where we had passed by earlier.
4 out of 5
by Simon

Welcome return visit

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely to return to a quiet, friendly hotel. With olde worlde charm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and great value accommodation.

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Had a lovely one night stay at this hotel. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Great value for money and about 10 minutes from Stratford upon Avon by car.