Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in historic country manor

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Very comfortable stay. Hotel needs some work, however our room had been updated and was very nice. Staff very pleasant, with minor exception of gentleman who checked us in. He had some reluctance in asking if we neede help with our bags, which had to be carried up two long flights of stairs with no elevators. I chose to carry them myself as I didn't want to cause him any undue exertion!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Georgian Elegance Tucked Away!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Young staff are amazing :-) ... Always smiling and forever helpful. Management should be justly very proud of them all. Breakfast was great and filling served by lovely young smiling waitress. Thank you!
Cons: Unfortunately, after spending Saturday night with a friend who stays in the area (about 11.30pm) the bar was found to be closed for a night cap (and to chat with other hotel guests!) ... Not to worry I thought I have a mini-bar in my Deluxe Room ... pity when I looked there was a large "Out of Order" sign on my fridge door :-( Mmmm! ... A tea-total return to my hotel was certainly not what I expected ...nor hoped for! Sorry bit disappointed.
Location: Great little town of Strathaven short walk away. Locals chatty and helpful. "The Waterside" lunches are amazing. Scenery in area is gorgeous!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Nice local hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
We stayed over for a diamond wedding anniversary party. Check in was fast. Room was on the small side. Decor was traditional, but bathroom was modern. We had a very comfortable nights stay. Good options for breakfast, accommodating well for coeliacs, however the staff weren't ready for breakfast starting at 8am. All in all a nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

A fine venue for a trip around the Central Belt.

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Quiet and comfortable with friendly but unobtrusive staff.
Cons: The dinner menu is perhaps a little limited, though the food is good, full marks to the cheese board.
Location: There is a real ale brewery in the town and Summerlee Industrial Museum, the Clyde and Strathclyde Park are quite handy..
Must have been the big hoose at one time, a nice old building. Hotel slightly old fashioned, dining room a bit 50s. Comfortable and well run in secluded grounds. A nice place to retire to after a tiring day in the big city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Motherwell

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: Not much
Cons: Décor , furnishings
Location: Bit of a walk to the village
Dated hotel in need of overhaul ,I stayed in a single room which was pokey and outdated with a poor bed and quilt
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linola

Wonderful

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Orbitz
We thought we were right at home. Wonderful people. Very helpful. Very personal, warm, cozy feeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Pleasant hotel in Scottish countryside

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Old fashioned yet everything provided lovely cosy blanket on bed
Cons: Hair dryer?
Location: Half an hour from Glasgow Ideal base if you don't want to be in city Quiet and convenient
Arrived a little early but very welcoming and helpful staff allowed us to go to the room. Always a smile and greeting on arrival and departure during stay Comfortable room with everything provided (except hair dryer!) Will be back and use this hotel chain again elsewhere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

pleasant traditional hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Very nice hotel with decent food and very friendly staff. Problems with internet connection some of the stay though but staff tried their best to resolve. Would recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from South Wirral, Cheshire

Great for an overnight stay

Posted May 23, 2014
Stayed overnight whilst on business Lovely room, really friendly and welcoming staff and delicious food Great value for money Will be back !