Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
I booked this Hotel because it was close by a client's premises. I had read some really negative reviews and arrived prepared for the worst. I was pleasantly surprised to see the Hotel look so nice; a bit frayed at the edges, but in keeping with its description of a Victorian establishment. The staff were all friendly, polite and efficient. The Restaurant service was impeccable from arriving at the door to leaving; they looked after everything. Like many others, I can't not mention the buffet breakfast. I spend quite a lot of time in Hotels, and the Ben Wyvis' is up there with the best. Over all; I was pleasantly surprised despite the negative comment. I enjoyed my stay and will go back again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Happy Highlander

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
A comfortable double room in a quiet setting. Staff throughout were very welcoming and helpful. Tiny TV screen and poor channel reception were the only let-downs. A good range of choices at breakfast and a decent menu at dinner with quality choices on offer. Very good value for the money and Inverness is within easy driving distance.
5 out of 5
by Jim from Aberdeen

peaceful and relaxing

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Quiet setting in middle of Strathpeffer but far enough away from main road. Beautiful grounds and building. Even has it's own cinema with different movie each night. Food excellent and if what you like is not on the menu tell reception and they will advise the Chef. New toilets in rooms. Staff very helpful. Looking forward to coming back for longer stay.
3 out of 5
by Petrus from Eindhoven

Lijkt mooi op de foto maar valt tegen

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
We waren hier voor 2 nachten maar hadden spijt dat we er 2 geboekt hadden. Het ontbijt is eenvoudig niet echt uitgebreid. We hadden een kamer aan de achterzijde. We moesten douchen in het bad. De bedden kraakten verschrikkelijk Alleen wifi beneden in de gezamenlijke ruimte. We kwamen om 20.00 uur aan en konden niet meer eten in het hotel of het dorp omdat alles daar vroeg dicht is dus zijn nog naar een dorp verderop gereden om te eten. Het viel ons erg tegen en zouden dit nooit meer boeken en ook niemand aanraden.
4 out of 5
by John from Scotland

Fairly Happy Highlander

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
The single room was adequate but would have benefited from having been a bit more spacious. The single bed was against the wall and the mattress had an inclination to roll the sleeper out of bed when turning over. Meals were very good and the service was top notch. Service throughout was commendable. The hotel is set in extensive gardens in a quiet area with plenty of outdoor pursuit opportunities available. Only a few minutes away from shopping in Dingwall and very convenient for the city of Inverness, which is only twenty or so minutes away by car. Criticisms : Tiny television in the room which had poor reception and limited number of channels. Also, the screen was too small to fit the whole picture in...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Une belle détente en

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
Séjour très agréable,service petit déjeuner très correct plus l'immeuble fantastique
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by John from Elie, Fife and Sydney, Australia

Disappointing

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms were sub- standard although dearer than most places we stayed. Not somewhere we would re- visit.
4 out of 5
by Bjorn

Mooi hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Van buitenaf natuurlijk al een prachtig hotel. Binnen hadden we ook een mooie grote kamer. Het is een leuk en mooi hotel, met bar, restaurant en ook een bioscoopje waar ze S avonds een film draaien. Enige minpunt is dat we er s avonds gegeten hebben, en dat we 3 gangen binnen het half uur geserveerd kregen.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Looks great on the outside

Posted Jul 8, 2016
This hotel is priced well above local B&Bs. We decided to splurge a little and indulge in staying here. Based on the pictures advertised, we were expecting an upscale hotel. We were very disappointed. The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. Everything was very out of date (including the tv). But that's just the beginning... Considering the area there aren't very many spots to eat so we opted (begrudgingly) to eat at the hotel restaurant. The waiter asked for our drinks and I asked for a beer. I was told that I had to go to the bar to get a beer. Any other beverage he could fetch but for a beer I had to physically get up and walk to the bar despite the fact that other drinks are poured at the same place. Wifi was advertised as included at this hotel. We arrived only to be notified you cannot access wifi in the rooms. Only on the main floor and even then it is very poor connection. I would strongly advise against staying here. Frankly, our car would have been better.