Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by brad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Yury

Perfect service

Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
Nice preparation for dinner in the bar!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Splendid Hotel!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The rooms are nice, but that's easy. The bar and restaurant made the difference.
Cons: More beer selections would be a nice touch, but the scotches were terrific.
Location: The Coule House wasn't easy to locate the first time, but after that it was a breeze. So much to do nearby: it's the Scottish Highlands!
This hotel is not like any other "hotel": it's something out of Downton Abbey. Beautiful building with gorgeous gardens, and the owners and staff are terrific. It's pricey, but very worth the cost. It's close enough to Inverness (although a taxi is around 45 BP) and very close to some very good nature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Updated, somewhat secluded old hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Our "midway" stop on our trip to Skye from Edinburgh. Comfy bed, spotless bathroom with shower, delicious food. Admired the trees and fairies on our walk before dinner, enjoyed a board game in the library after dinner, and had fun trying our hand at golf on the front lawn after a hearty breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Stuart, Hotel Management
Thank you for your support and indeed for this 5 star review. Sorry it has taken me so long to respond I have only just figured out how to log on to view the reviews!
5 out of 5
by Elaine

Work, care and a lot of love

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
An unbelievable atmosphere ...a beautiful house and hotel experience while feeling throughout that you are a special family visitor. How do they do it? Work, care and a lot of love.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017
Thank you for your very lovely comments. Sorry it has taken me so long to respond, I have only just figured out how to log on to view the reviews! Feel free to come back and see us whenever you are in the area. Kind regards, Stuart Proud Owner Coul House Hotel
5 out of 5
by Veronica

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was lovely, we had a great time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Such a welcoming place

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Everybody, without exception, was friendly and attentive to our needs.
Cons: My daughter thought that the dining room music could have been a bit more upbeat but I quite liked the serenity of it.
Location: We did not stay in the general location so cannot be specific. But we did call at the Falls of Rogie on our way out - spectacular - with good walks.
Contin is on the Inverness to west coast road, so convenient for our trip to the Applecross peninsular. The hotel is about half a mile up a lane off the main road, so it was quiet and in a rural setting. The hotel building is impressive and set in grounds looking over the countryside. They have a giant redwood in the garden and even have fairies at the bottom of the garden - we visited the fairy grotto. We were quite late arrivals but were made genuinely welcome immediately and this feeling was maintained throughout the visit. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were helpful, thoughtful and informative without being overpowering. My daughter and I had booked a single room each. Both were light, bright en suite rooms of generous proportions with all necessary accessories. The big reception area had a huge open fire in it. The octagonal dining room was roomy with a fine view and delicious food. The room rate suited our budget and we felt we had a bargain. We had no mobile signal whilst in the hotel but we also had trouble getting a signal when we were travelling around. I booked this hotel because it had such good reviews. I've done this before and been disappointed but on this occasion the reviews were a very good indicator and we had a very enjoyable stay. We loved it and next time we make this trip we will probably book again.
5 out of 5
by james

A unique and wonderful place

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
We had not stayed in Coul House for a while till a couple of weeks ago but this was our second stay since then . It is a wonderful place , atmospheric , stately but not stuffy. Food excellent- I dont think there is a better breakfast in Scotland (best place in the world for breakfast). Spotlessly clean . Staff could not be nicer. However what marks Coul House out is the meticulous care of the owners. OK the bathrooms are not the most spectacular in the modern hotel world but how long do you spend it in the bathroom!. It is a quite unique place, cannot recommend it highly enough
5 out of 5
by james

Unique and wonderful hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
Coul House is a great place, wonderful relaxing location , great food (possibly the best breakfast in Scotland ) an elegant well maintained classic building, excellent service. The bathrooms are not the latest design , (but what sad person marks a hotel down if the bathroom suite is an old fashioned colour). The owners personal care for their hotel and their guests is very evident
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful highland country hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Comfort, friendliness, the magical fairy trail, the food. In a word, everything!
Location: Great central location for touring the highlands.
Stayed here for family reunion. Hotel has been beautifully and lovingly restored and is a delightful place to stay. The staff are friendly and helpful, great examples of highland hospitality! Food is very good and attention to detail in all areas is remarkable. Will definitely stay here again and would recommend it highly. Thank you Stuart and staff.