Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Really lovely hotel and staff

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Lovely great value hotel looking out over lake in Stresa. Lovely front garden and pleasant pool out the back. A nice walk into the town one way and towards the cable car to Montarone the other way. Didn't eat dinner there but breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. Had pre dinner drinks in the lovely front garden - great spot for people watching. Really enjoyed our stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with nonexistent wifi

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Wifi!!! And a lost and found for anything left behind!
Everything about this hotel makes it a good place to stay, except that wifi does not reach some rooms . $225 per night is just too much to pay for no wifi. Mgt made no offer to reduce the rate. So if wifi in the room is important to you, test it before checking into the room. I was also surprised that the hotel only has a lost and found for "valuable items". A nice pair of $40 slippers left behind in the room disappeared by the next day, and Mgt said they throw out things guests leave unless it's something valuable. as I was still staying in the hotel, albeit in another room, I was surprised and disappointed to find my belongings treated so cavalierly. Would have been nice to have a lost and found for all items left behind!
4 out of 5
by Richard

Lago Maggiore

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Visiting the three islands in Lago Maggiore was fun and the gardens in Villa Toronto were beautiful, but we enjoyed Lago Como much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Convenient location, free parking and excellent breakfast. Bathroom clean and large. Beds are not your home comfort but good enough. Negative: rooms are on the smaller side; tv is tiny and tv channels are horrible, if you care about tv
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very convenient for Stresa Town and the boats.

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Stresa is the best place to stay on Maggiore. Plenty of good quality restaurants and a lovely feel about the place. Hotel a bit dated in places but comfortable, clean and the staff could not have been more helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Ideally located and great value for money

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Hotel is much less stuffy than the grand 5 stars either side. Our room was spacious with a fab' view of lake. Flawless air conditioning, not always a given, was welcome in the 100 degree heat. Staff were attentive and friendly, I think others finding fault in earlier reviews may not be considering the different culture. Only negative would be room decor / fixings were a little tired, but it's clear the hotel is updating in turn, as we saw other rooms when passing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location right on the Lake

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Wotif
The hotel was in a great location right across from the Lake and a short walk to the Ferry terminals and restaurants. On arrival we were taken to our room in the Annexe which was quite small with no view of the Lake. After enquiring, the hotel staff were happy to relocate us to another room in the main hotel with a partial view of the Lake. The bed was quite hard and the room was on the smallish size. The powerpoints were old and couldn't accommodate our phone chargers, except for one in the bathroom. There was a full buffet breakfast in the large restaurant which has a lovely view overlooking the Lake. The restaurant service was OK but most mornings we had to get the attention of the wait staff to order some coffee. The elevator was old, slow and small and the doors would close too quickly, and on one occasion actually closed on my wife injuring her hand. There was free parking available at the back of the hotel however there was only about 8 spots which filled quickly and were always full. To their credit the hotel offered snd parked our car for us at another location that was effectively a valet type parking. The staff were very helpful and friendly and helped us make restaurant reservations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Pros: The evening meals and Italian wines were really good. In fact we only ate in house.
Location: It is also very close to the rail station and the cable car.
The hotel is ideally situated with superb views of the lake and within easy reach of both the ferries and the town
4 out of 5
by Stuart

Great hotel position for exploring Stresa

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Great long weekend away, hotel service was good and surroundings comfortable. Only complaint would be the bed, quite short and very hard.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great view and location, that is about it!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Very disappointing, even more so that we booked the junior suites. Not the level one would expect: rooms need a makeover, feels 60/70ish. Needs new rugs and beddings (so uncomfortable). Desolate roof terrace. Breakfast offer quite ordinary.