Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks UK

Excellent Location but Rooms Tired

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Updating of rooms and bathrooms.
Location: Vert close to all attractions.
The staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel location is excellent, being within easy walking distance of all the attractions of Stresa. However, the whole place has a rather tired feel and would benefit from updating. Overall we had a pleasant stay at modest cost and I do not regret choosing The Italie et Suisse, but as mentioned it does need updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Traditional, immaculate, well placed hotel.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Stayed here last week. The hotel is small, traditional and spotless. It is right in the middle of Stresa, so within easy reach of all amenities and is overlooking the lake. My daughter was taken I'll and the owners were kind and helpful, Louanne was particularly good, nothing was too much trouble. Would like to visit again but without the drama!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to the port

Posted Jul 12, 2017
This hotel is fine if you want a cheap and basic accommodation,close to the port and main areas. Breakfast was also basic so we ended up going out for a decent coffee for our last 2 days. The hotel staff were pleasent but not overly friendly.
5 out of 5
by Patricia

June 2017 Happy Stresa

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Situated just across the road from the boat station, we thoroughly recommend Italie et Suisse Hotel in Stresa. Everyone there is friendly and smiling, there is a lift and wifi, the breakfasts are generous and varied and the coffee excellent. Our room (32) was a good size, had a small balcony with two chairs, was sparkling clean and our shower room had plenty of towels and constant hot water. Housekeeping is of the highest order and the hotel professionally and efficiently run, we can't wait to return! There is a travel agent two doors away where we booked a Saturday afternoon coach trip to Macugnaga, in the mountains. Pickup and return was conveniently close, cost 42 euros, and we took the chairlift (16euros return) for a wonderful half hour ride up Monte Rosa. It was the highlight of our holiday. There is a bus service, Alibus, from Milan Malpensa to Stresa. It needs prebooking, cost is 12 euros single fare. The stops are very close to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Naples, Italy

Great Location, Decent Breakfast

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, convenience.
Cons: Rooms could use updating, breakfast could be expanded to include more items.
Location: Ferry to Isola Bella (incredible), get fresh caught fish on Isola Pescatore. The food in Stresa is fantastic. Do not miss drinks at LOV.
This hotel is right on the main road, across from the ferry terminal and on the edge of old town Stresa. The location is great for access to the islands and for walking among the piazzas and restaurants. The breakfast is typical and average quality. The staff is great and very friendly. My only concern was that the wooden doors, older walls and tile floors led to a higher-than-average level of noise when in the room. An overall very pleasant stay. Lago Maggiore is incredible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in excellent location.

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Excellent location and superb views of lake. Our room was a little outdated.
4 out of 5
by Joel

Good hotel if you have a car

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is located across from ferry terminal and parking lot. They give you a card for your dash to park, which gives you a discount. It is a bit dated, but plenty comfortable and clean. The breakfast is buffet and pretty good. The lot always seems full, but wait about 15 mins and one will open up. Most cars are gone overnight.
4 out of 5
by Alan from Winnipeg Canada

Good 3 star hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Good hotel, great location especially if you have a car, friendly and good service
4 out of 5
by Roberto from Groveland, FL

Very enjoyable stay

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel Italie Et Suisse has an absolutely spectacular location for someone who wants to enjoy this lake town. Stresa has been attracting tourists from all over the work for many years and this hotel has been there for most of them. One step up gets you into the glass enclosed front porch dining room and the tiny lobby. The staff is multi-lingual and happy to help even when you do not speak Italian. The rooms are typical in size to most 3 star hotels we stayed in in the country. The bathroom was sufficient, the shower worked well and was a bit larger then a small closet (bigger than many). The beds are hard and split in the center which is also typical of hotels in Italy. The pillows were okay. The room was comfortable with a small desk and a small balcony which we did not get to enjoy due to the cold weather. The wifi worked well and was included in the price of the hotel. Parking was additional but conveniently located directly across the street in a public lot. From this hotel you can see the ferry dock and are just around the corner to all the restaurants and shops in the town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wshington ,DC

Good location but...

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: see above
Location: on the shore
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is not accustomed to staff rudeness and unwillingness to help .The information on how to get there from the airport was inaccurate,we had to do that out on our own. The promise of free internet was also misleading, the access is severely limited. The same is true of free breakfast ,it is best to eat elsewhere .How to use the safebox in the room is also a mystery,this information has to be pried out of the staff .Guests staying out late at night risk not being allowed into their rooms. A charge for calling a taxi is added to the bill.