Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maghera. Ireland

Short but pleasant stay

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: This is a family run hotel and the staff are very helpful.
Cons: The pillows we hard
Location: There are a number of coffee shop, bars and restaurants within walking distance.
The hotel is very well located with views from rooms and dinning areas over the lake. Our stay was in October and the weather was excellent 24C and dry.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Fabulous position, desperately needs updating

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Hotel is right on the lake, our room looked straight onto the water. Cannot fault position. Sadly the hotel is very dated now, comfortable enough, but really needs the interior ripping out and starting fresh. Other than this, our stay was comfortable enough, hotel was quiet, and staff very helpful.
3 out of 5
by Carol-Ann

Lakeside Stay

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
A beautiful setting right on the edge of Lake Maggiore. Fabulous terrace for breakfast & dinner (weather permitting!). However, the interior is starting to look old & sad and definitely in need of renovation. Our bed was comfy enough, but the small sofa was falling apart and the bathroom was well below standard for a 4-star Hotel. We ate dinner in the Restaurant on the 1st night and it was fine, but not good enough to inspire us to return (luckily, there was a good choice of Restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Lovely, classic old hotel overlooking Lago Naggior

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Loved staying there. We are going back & taking our grown kids. It has a huge terrace on the lake with an excellent restaurant. Very moderately priced. Great value!! Friendly, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by Dagan

Great value for our money

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was fast. oom was hugh with a balcony facing the lake. great view!!! breakfest was good. Aircondition is not efficient in hot days. the aircondition unit is too small for such a big room. the room decoration is somewhat old. we had a small refrigirator for our use in the room. Overall it was an excelent value for the money we paid (80 euro per night)
5 out of 5
by Cristian E

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect location!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby needs some serious upgrding and cleaning

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was shabby and in great need of a full upgrade. The floors in the breakfast area looked like they had not been cleaned for months. Cobwebs between cereal canisters turned me off my 12Euro breakfast. The bed was uncomfortable and I felt like I would fall off the edge when I turned. The staff were friendly and dressed beautifully, as you would expect in a 5 star hotel - a real contradiction to the condition of the property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grantham

Right on the lakeshore in a quiet resort

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: right on the shore. Parking outside. Hotel staff.
Cons: decor maybe a little dated, but that's more my personal taste than a criticism
Location: on the water, affording wonderful views at dawn. Only about 3 miles from Stresa, the main hub for cruises and sights
Warm welcome from hotel receptionist, to a nice hotel right on the water. Parked outside the door. Room was fine, with a balcony overlooking the lake. Clean, pleasant, a nice place stay. Standard buffet breakfast was perfectly good.
4 out of 5
by miriam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

The hotel was near the lake with good view.

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff members especially the very helpful receptionist.
Cons: Lift, lift, lift and a standard breakfast please.
Location: Overall, I believe it’s a beautiful little town with great sceneries that sadly lacks basic things like proper, reliable, transportation system.
The staff members were helpful and friendly. Unfortunately their breakfast menu was the worst ever for what they charge. What does it take to include few choices of fruits for those who are vegetarians or vegan? Not everyone is interested in having only sausage/ham. We had to settle for plain bread with tea in the mornings, for all the 5 days we stayed. Their old lift could hardly fit 2 people let alone to carry your luggage.