Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cannock

Very nice hotel near to the lake

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: The hotel was spotlessly clean. The reception staff and breakfast waiters were all extremely polite and helpful.
Cons: My only gripe is that our beds (we requested a twin room) were quite hard and uncomfortable.
Location: The location is approximately 200 yards from the lake, the cable car and a boat and ferry station. However it is approx. 1 1/2 mile from Stresa town.
Very enjoyable stay at this hotel. The room we were allocated was on the ground floor near to the bar/lounge area but there wasn't any problems with noise from there. My only gripe (and it was no fault of the hotel) was the noise coming from the room above. The TV was on loud and I think that the occupants were practising their Zumba class!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Cons: The pillows are hard and flat and there is only one. We read this complaint and yet the hotel don't buy more ? Or thicker ones .
Grand old Dame , We loved staying here after the hustle and bustle of other hotels. Stresa is a hidden secret so quite and peaceful. We loved our view out to Isola Bella . Couldn't get more perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex

Hotel with Italian charm and character

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: It had all we needed in a good location. Nice light airy bedrooms. Very clean. Good feel. Peaceful.
Cons: Roof terrace and balcony flower baskets could do with a little tlc. Also terrace had a broken table, better to have thrown it away, not left there.
Location: Visit islands, cable car/chairlift. Lovely walk into Stresa, with pleasant atmosphere. Plenty of restaurants.
Hotel is just a few minutes walk to boats to the islands and cable car, also a couple of lovely places to eat. Lovely walk into Stresa, along a pretty promenade, with beautiful lake and mountain scenery. Hotel has a pleasant feel to it and bed room was light, airy and spotless. We had a garden view, but could see the lake from our balcony. Great to have a swimming pool with plenty of sun beds, surrounded by plants. There is also a roof terrace, from which there is a wonderful panoramic view. Buffet breakfast (continental) was fine. We only ate one evening meal in the restaurant. We felt the menu lacked imagination. All in all it is a good hotel, but could be even better if the roof terrace was a bit smarter, looked like it just needed a little TLC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Villanova, PA

Charming, comfortable and clean hotel.

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: A more comfortable mattress.
Location: A good location. Very close to the ferry stop. Only 20 minute walk to the center of town where most of the restaurants and shops are located.
Mario, the maitre'd, was charming and accommodating. The staff was helpful. A nice experience overall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Friendly Attitude Counts

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The reception desk was accommodating, friendly and helpful in giving us information about the area and places of interest.
Cons: totally agree that the hotel needs more refurbishment to modernization, breakfast should include some more interesting menus like scrambled eggs.
Location: As per ambience, the location of the hotel was excellent with great panoramic view.
After reading the many positive comments about Royal Hotel, I just thought it must be an ideal hotel to stay in Stresa. It didn’t give me any second thought and we booked our accommodation with this hotel. I told my husband this is a very nice hotel with so many favourable comments written about them. However our fascination turned into delusion as we stayed 3 nights in this hotel and finding out it is not as very impressive as we thought it would be reading from those highly affirmative ratings. We were very disappointed about the hotel’s restaurant waiter who has unacceptable poor customer service attitude. We never expected a senior waiter to behave in a very unprofessional manner. I heard him talking behind the back to his colleague about my excessive photo takings. He didn't know that I understood every word in Italian and he was very unwelcoming to us. I guess such improvement could be done however the attitude of every member of the staff to please every guest is paramount, as we go to the hotel for relaxation, to be pampered, to enjoy and not to be insulted like this incident! However big or luxurious a hotel is, if you have member of the staff with appalling manners, it could make your business to go downhill and lose your clients. I did work in many hotels big and small establishments many years ago and I know how it feels great to be treated first class regardless of who you are and how it hurts to be ignored and unwelcome!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Royal

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Wonderful Staff. Charming, clean. Nice Pool.
Location: Close to town and pretty walk-able
Very nice hotel. Close to town and very convenient. Nice pool and wonderful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The location, the pool, that they have a parking,
Cons: Better pillows Better breakfast
Very nice hotel with a very enjoyable pool and garden. The boats for the islands are down the road from the hotel as well as the fenicular to go up th mountain. The walk from the hotel to the center is very nice along the lake and it only takes 15-20 minutes. I highly recommend the first restaurant along the lake named Daniel's. The staff was very frustrating and the food delicious. The only complaint would be the pillow being too flats and maybe improve the breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Kevin

A hotel with a good feel.

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
A good place to stay. Lots of nice areas to sit inside and out. Our room was spacious with a modern bathroom. The bed was a little hard for me. Staff were friendly and helpful. It takes about 15 minutes to walk to the centre of Stresa but it is a beautiful walk along the water. The hotel is only minutes from the chair lift to the top of the mountain and ferries to the Borromean Islands. The walk from the train station directly to the hotel is a little hazardous as there is no footpath. Best to plan ahead and find a better way there by using Google maps.
5 out of 5
by john

excellent position

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
very very good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels