Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2018
A charming hotel with really lovely staff. Beautiful location although the walk into Stresa is not recommend due to the busy road and lack of pavements. However s shuttle service is offered throughout the day. The only think I feel let’s it down a little is the servicing of the room, which I felt as not done to a very high standard and things like shower gels and shampoos were not always replaced. But overall a wonderful stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, view, town shuttle, polite staff

Posted May 16, 2018
Airconditioning not working, wedding function loud and noisy and had taken over main dining areas with limited options for house guests....this kind of a redort is for relaxation and peace and should mit be let out for loud and boisterous wedding ceremonies
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mansfield Nottingham

Wonderful hotel with all you could ever want

Posted Oct 9, 2017
From the moment we arrived we loved the experience, stunning position with views to die for, amazing attentive staff, clean and comfortable rooms, excellent facilities and not to mention the food, the 2 restaurants served amazing food and breakfast had a large choice of fresh fruit, pastries and a chief cooking eggs , omelettes to your liking. The hotel arranged a private boat for us to explore 3 of the islands on the lake which was amazing, and took up most of the day, we chose to eat on the islands and there's chance to shop and visit historic houses and gardens on the islands too. We will be back to visit this stunning hotel and staff and hopefully for a longer duration
5 out of 5
by Sara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

A hotel trying to be 5 star

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The staff were very accommodating and professional
Cons: Sadly nothing can be done about the room and bathroom sizes or the proximity to the main road and freight line!
Location: Great location for exploring the local area but situated on a very dangerous road so a car is essential.
We are amazed this hotel has earned a 5 star status on the basis of the bedroom and bathroom sizes - incredibly disappointing. We complained twice about the size of our room and bathroom - my husband is 6ft 6" - there was a half size bath and you could barely enter the bathroom it was so small. There were 'Henchmen/bodyguards' guarding our corridor each night! I'm not sure what type of clientele are encouraged to stay at the Aminta but if someone need bodyguards, they are clearly in fear of their life!! This doesn't exactly bode well for a completely relaxing experience. Although an impressive view from the front terrace, the noise of the main road running beneath the hotel is unbearable, coupled with the freight train noise to the rear of the hotel, again not a relaxing experience. After complaining for a second time, the front of house staff arranged an alternative room behind the hotel in a separate building. This room was much bigger and had a large terrace. If we had not been moved to this room we would have left the hotel and found alternative accommodation. The fact that we were away from the guests who needed bodyguards made us feel a little more secure! On a positive note, the staff were very professional, the breakfast was very good but unfortunately the coffee was lukewarm every morning! If the rooms had been half the price we would still be disappointed!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location save for road noise

Posted Jul 23, 2017
The only downside at this hotel and it is a typical lakeside problem is road noise. When by the pool this does intrude a bit. Save for that a quite wonderful hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Plazzo Aminta Hotel - recommended

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Size, staff, pool, restaurants, wine list, view.
Cons: Spa facilities, attention to guest requirements e.g.) family room
Location: Fantastic views, convenient for lake, private boat available, excellent complimentary car to Stresa town.
Although on arrival staff had failed to arrange the requested (booked) family room, they made every effort to accommodate us appropriately although only after we had indicated our intention to move to a hotel with more comfortably sized rooms. Thereafter, the service, food, professionalism and all provisions by Plazzo Aminta were exemplary. Unfortunately the spa was a disappointment with malfunctioning jacuzzi and steam room. This did not spoil our holiday and we would like to make special mention of the staff friendliness and attentiveness in the restaurants and reception. The complimentary car was most welcome. This is a very good, pleasantly sized hotel which we recommend and would love to stay in again. Thank you to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Wonderful view, great staff

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The situation, the ambience and the friendly staff all contributed to make a great stay
Cons: The deep steps into the swimming pool make it very difficult for older people to get in and out of the pool.
Location: From Stresa ferries go everywhere on the lake, to the different islands with beautiful gardens,to Locarno, and by coach to lake Orta
The view from the bedroom, the lounges and especially from the dining terrace for breakfast and dinner were an absolute delight. Pity the pool is so near the noisy road. Soundproof a little by a hedge
5 out of 5
by veselin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels