Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Quiet hotel and generally good views

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Location and quietness were lovely.
Cons: It would make sense to bring all rooms up to the same standard of interior - the shower would be the first improvement. Housekeeping seemed patchy.
Location: Hike Stromboli and recover next to the beach the day after.
Mixed feelings about the hotel. The location is delightful - though probably not a good choice if you want to be as close as possible to "downtown" Stromboli - but perfect if you want somewhere quiet. Overall it felt like 2 and a half stars rather than 3. A lot of the work seems to be done by one young man who was friendly and hospitable (very sorry that we did not check his name) but the rest of the staff gave no impression of welcome. We were not able to book a sea view room - if "sea view" is not mentioned, then you won't get one (there is a small price premium). We were in the "annex" and although it was spacious and had a lovely shaded porch, the room felt old and run down - eg chipped furniture, holes in the bedspread. The shower cubicle seemed to be 70s era and minuscule although the bathroom itself was a reasonable size. The towels were mismatched in size and housekeeping had the novel idea of folding up damp towels rather than letting them dry. The tiled floor was extremely pretty but not swept when the room was cleaned ( if you hike Stromboli then may drag a lot of grit back) and you could write your name in the dust on the bathroom window sill. We heard that the main rooms and sea view rooms were in much better condition. We had heard there was a charge for WIFI but when we stayed it was free and the wifi password was on a sticker on the reception counter, so that may be a recent change in policy.
3 out of 5
by Cheryl from Las Vegas

Great place if you just want to relax at beach.

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was beautiful with it's own lovely beach, however it is too far from the port to walk to if you have more than a backpack. Shuttle was not always available, and taxi to town costs 10 Euro each way. Staff was helpful, but overwhelmed with a wedding on the day we stayed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sudbury, CANADA

Stunning!

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Everything! The grounds were stunning and hotel staff were helpful.
Location: Hiked the volcano but wish now that we had planned a 3 day stay instead of our 1 day. Truly enjoyed the tranquility, beaches, uniqueness of Stromboli.
The grounds were beautiful. Our villa was a short walk to a great black sand beach. There was a mix-up with our booking on the Expedia end and Hotel Villaggio Stromboli was quick in resolving the issue. Even though there were no vacancies, they made room to accommodate us.
5 out of 5
by Sophie from Huddersfield

Perfect!

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
Stromboli is a small somewhat undiscovered gem and the Hotel Villagio is a perfect, on the beach hotel. It has great views, access to a small beach where you can hire loungers and parasols as well as water sports equipment. The restaurant is amazing and the staff are absolutely wonderful. The room was comfortable if a little dated. The outside area of the hotel is gorgeous, lots of gardens, places to sit, patios and fountains. We had a great stay and would go back again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Watford

Villagio, Stromboli

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: The hotel was neat and clean and, while the room was fairly simple, it was ideal as it suited the relaxed and sustainable character of the island.
Cons: If arriving with luggage it would be best to arrange a lift - we found an autorickshaw from the hotel at the pier so we put bags in that and walked.
Location: There is a beach (black volcanic sand) nearby and the path up Stromboli is 5 mins away. The centre of the village is walkable, a km or two up the road
The hotel was a fairly long way from the port but they provide transport if needed, although the walk was nice as it followed the coast. The room was in a seperate building - was fairly simple and slightly dark but provided all that we needed. Breakfast was provided on the terrace - a good view - and was sufficient for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from Essex

Lovely hotel - Fantastic view

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The views from the hotel are fantastic. The staff are very helpful, can't do enough for you. Loved the complimentary journey from port to hotel.
Location: Walk to the summit of Stromboli is a must. We used a company called Magmatrek who I can recommend.
The views from the hotel are fantastic. Rooms with either seaview or view of volcano, both are great. Delicious buffet breakfast that can be eaten either in the restaurant or on the balcony. Afternoon/evening walk to the summit of Stromboli. You can only walk to the summit with an official guide. We used a company called Magmatrek and I can recommend them. We fell in love with Stromboli and hope to return one day. We'd definitely return to Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Stromboli

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: Its family charm
Cons: No dining facilities
I had quite a compact room, but it was sufficient if you're not looking for luxury abode. Shower unit was tiny and left not much room for movement. Pity that they did not have a restaurant or snack bar facilities.
4 out of 5
by Ettore

Bello, ma la dependance è un'altra cosa....

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
la struttura è molto bella ma all'atto della prenotazione non ci è stato specificato che la nostra stanza non faceva parte del corpo centrale bensì di una dependance poco distante. quindi la vista mare di cui si leggeva nella prenotazione in realtà non c'era.