Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gloucestershire

Shame about the bed

Posted Jan 23, 2018
Lovely new room but thinner than thin mattress Could feel the springs bathroom was new but wasn't clean
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London Uk

Not a Bespoke hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Too many steps and stairs up and down to rooms staff are helpful but it is a hassle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice hotel for a visit to the region

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: charming, good service and staff, good food
Cons: heat regulation, odor of cleaning producat
Location: Stonehouse is a small town but accessible to the whole region by car, bus and train; 3.5 miles to Stroud. Two very good restaurants in town.
The hotel is based around an old manor house and appears to host a fair number of events as well. Being old, the heating is a bit tricky and easy to overheat. We stayed in a lovely room in a newer part of the hotel. It was down a bunch of corridors and up and down a number of steps. I'm sure had we asked we would have had help with our luggage. The room was adequately large for a sisters trip - two comfortable twin beds, a desk, a kettle, coffee tea and biscuits. The wifi was pretty strong given how far we were from the reception area and we had a nice view over the back garden. The hotel backs onto a canal and canal path that you can take in either direction - it's about an hour walk to Stroud. Not all hotel rates include breakfast - I recommend you add the breakfast option since you're not really close to anything else. And if you don't like driving at night, think about the breakfast and dinner package - the restaurant is very good, not too expensive and the menu is varied. Service is excellent. My only complaint has to do with my own allergies - I did not do well with the cleaning products they used - when I complained they left some windows open and tried to air out the room but my eyes still stung. I recommended they find some less harsh products. Also, as an American, I'm used to more robust plumbing. It's nice that you can find better TP in England now, but the plumbing did not seem fully up to the task. A couple of items broke and were fixed promptly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So so.

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
Average. Friendly staff but overwhelmed by the number of guests. Long wait times at the bar and restaurant. Some staff inexperienced.
5 out of 5
by Louise

Lovely stay

Posted Nov 9, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms were spacious and well presented with very comfy beds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds

Outside beautiful.. inside terrible

Posted Nov 7, 2017
This place could have so much potential however worn and dated. Carpets are stained and walls are dirty.. furniture in the rooms need changing as are broken and in serious need of a good dust! The entire hotel seemed to be ran by students that always seemed too busy chatting to each other than be available to help you.
5 out of 5
by Kurt M Cowling

Historic building and great restaurant.

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
We used the hotel as a home base for a driving tour of the Cotswolds. The room was large, clean and comfortable with private bathroom. We stayed in the older, original building, not the new addition. The hotel has a great setting with access to a walking path along the canal in back. The restaurant was very good (we ate there twice) and breakfast was great as well. We enjoyed the personal service from several of the staff (shout out to Nat and Caroline!).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
Not vey good. Our room was a bit drab although the view of the gardens from our rom was very good. The curtains in the room should be taken down and started again - they don't fit at all well round the window. Also we were given just one shampoo and shower gel between us, and there were no shower caps. I have to say the breakfast was very good. I think you should do something with the reception area - I have never been into such a drab area in a hotel. You should train your staff a little more as we weren't asked if we needed help with our cases so we had to haul them up a few flights of stairs. As my friend and myself are in our 70's it was very difficult.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hastings, East Sussex

Beautiful Hotel in a fab location

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Beautiful surroundings, the gardens backed on to a canal and a church was visible.
Cons: New mattress
Location: Easy to get to Gloucester, the staff were happy to advise where was best to park and visit
The Facilities were amazing, the staff could not be more helpful, not just with hotel issues but sight seeing in the area. The only down side to our stay was the mattress on the bed, it needed replacing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

A very pleasant stay in a Lovely Heritage Property

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Quiet, clean and lovely surroundings inside and outside.
Cons: Some furniture in our room needs refinishing or replacement. It was banged up a bit.
Location: A very quiet location at the western side of the Cotswolds.
Upon checking into our room, we discovered that it was recently painted. The paint fumes were very strong. The reception clerk promptly gave us a similar room that has the same garden view. We loved the room with the view of the garden and the church in the background. Property is beautifully maintained. It is a romantic setting We enjoyed the evening meals in the lounge area and also the breakfasts. Food was nicely presented and quite tasty. It is a nice place to stay yet so close to Stroud. A lovely part of the Cotswolds. We can hardly wait to return.