Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Excellent location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Positive points: friendly welcoming staff, very good location, lovely breakfast, quiet in the room even though we were next to the main road and over the restaurant/bar area. negative points: saniflo toilet, dated bedroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great B&B for the Cotswolds

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Quick one night stay but very pleasant. Excellent room & looked to be a great restaurant though never had the chance to eat. Surprised that breakfast shut down 10 minutes prior to stated 10am deadline.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tokyo japan

Never stayed in such unclean room.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Was not very nice. My room was very dirty, dusty , cobwebs and couldn't even open or close the blind so that I didn't get natural light. The blind was broken. Other rooms my family stayed, couldn't get the shower to work, and water leaked out of the shower door. All three rooms had some defects.
2 out of 5
by Kevin

Don't stay here.

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Room 5 is desperate for an upgrading. Tiny bathroom and shower that doesn’t switch off. Dirty windows, stained carpet, and peeling paint. Food good, but overpriced. WIFI very slow so no good if you want your e mails with attachments.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely setting, but a bit tired.

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: The views across the church-yard are wonderful, and the staff try hard.
We stayed 5 nights and, overall, enjoyed our stay - the second occasion we had been there. The food is very good pub-grub (though the once-fabulous pork belly is now a dried-out, recooked disappointment). The rooms need work - especially the diabolical plumbing - and a little more thought is required by management. Tired old pillows can ruin a visitor experience. No box of tissues - an unusual omission. One small soap to be moved from basin to shower. No handrails to make it safe(r) for most folks to get in and out of bath/shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

Beautiful old hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We stayed here while walking The Cotswold Way & found the hotel to be so comfortable & the people so welcoming. A great tiny pub & excellent breakfast. Not for people who can't do stairs & probably not good for those expecting serious American amenities. It's a listed building with associated uneven floors, creaks, etc. But very clean, very cozy, lovely surroundings. & We would happily stay here again.
5 out of 5
by DENIS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Lovely old hotel.

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Breakfasts were delicious and the beds were comfortable.
Cons: We would have liked to have had tissues available in the room.
Location: Painswick is a 15 minutes drive from Gloucester and is a lovely town to walk in.
We enjoyed our stay and love Painswick. Our room was small but clean and comfortable. We liked the nice touch of chocolate and water bottles each day. Daily breakfast was very good and included a full English breakfast. We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the heart of the Cotswolds.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Beautiful old stone building and very helpful staff.
Location: In the heart of Painswick. Good walking
Very pleasant 2 night stay. Good breakfast. (Didn't have dinner, so can't comment). Excellent choice of ales in the bar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt Vernon, WA, USA

Nice hotel, overlooking old church

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: The history behind it
Cons: Newer bed
Staff was great, as was food. Bed was a little hard for us, but nothing we couldn't live with.