Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stroudsburg, PA

Nice main lodge and, disappointing motel rooms

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: The room was arm and the bed was comfortable
Cons: The motel rooms need a complete makeover
The main lodge and dining/conference rooms are charming but the motel rooms away from the lodge are a disappointment. The beds are comfortable but the rest of the furniture thread bare and beat up. The exterior of the building is in dire need of maintenance. The outdoor carpet on the stairs leading to the terrace adjacent to the room is dirty, worn and unappealing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Donald

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Deborah from Gulfport FL

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Our room was quite large & clean, but needed updating. The adjoining restaurant was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Thyra

Quaint with Great Breakfast

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
The room was nice for the price and the main hotel was quaint and historic. Take advantage of the discount for breakfast, we had a hearty breakfast for two for $13! Only compliant is that there was no coffee in the room, but the coffee in the Bake Shoppe is free for guests and was really good. It was also nice to get out for a little walk to the bake shoppe in the crisp fall morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Frances from Hamburg, NJ

Our stay at the Publick House Lodge

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Our 10/24 ~ 26, 15 Stay: We've been going to the Publick House Lodge for decades. We're glad for the Upgrading of room ; ie: paint, new deck doors, bathrooms and beds. However, no refrigerator or microwave were there & when I asked, none was available. That was disappointing. Otherwise, all services and amenities were great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Needs some serious updating

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: The bakery items were to die for!
Cons: Complete remodel is seriously needed
Hotel was run down and dirty. Room was dark and dingy, bed was extremely uncomfortable and I nearly scalded myself in the shower because I couldn't get the water off of hot. Hotel overall could use a paint job and new furniture and plumbing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

We slept well.

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Not too much.
Cons: Get rid of the disinfectant smell. Fix the curtains falling off the rods, update and modernize the outdated decor. Make it look inviting.
Location: Good restaurant on property, but definitely make a reservation ahead of time.
If it weren't for the good restaurant on the property, I probably would look elsewhere if I needed to stay around this area. The room smelled like a public restroom, which is not good. The room, while large has obvious need of modernization and attention. Not sure that I will rely on Expedia only when looking for a room next time, which is what I did here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Karen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay this time...

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Weve stayed here a great many times, and find the rooms to be charming, and the beds extremely comfortable. Cleaners are bad with leaving toiletries and changing the sheets, and we've also had occasions when the room hasn't been serviced at all. Front desk always extremely unfriendly, especially if you are staying in the motor lodge. We were given a room in the first block, but weren't told that there was to be a post wedding party in the small hut across from us. Consequently, lots of drinking, shouting and general noise in the grounds right outside our room. It would have been a courtesy to warn us about this, and give us an opportunity to change rooms. On our last evening, we had to get up at 3.30am, but to our horror, yet another raucous party right outside our room, which went on until midnight! This time, there were empty beer cans and bottles, and discarded pizza boxes everywhere outside. Could do with imposing a curfew on noise after a certain time, in an effort to ensure a good nights sleep for guests. This has been implemented in other hotels we stayed in on Cape Cod...one was for as early as 10, and very much appreciated by all! Breakfast pretty uninteresting unless you like to eat endless boring cakes for breakfast. Having said all this, I still like coming here, it just seems to have been allowed to go down in the last few years.....a few tweaks could brings the standard back up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jacob from Riverside CA

Historical atmosphere in New Enfland hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived late in a rainy dark time of the evening and checked in with smiley warm hosting young lady clerk on the counter. Room was very large and spacious with very soft sleepable beds. Then we enjoyed the morning with warm New England style breakfast that made us very happy.