Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Charming traditional inn

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Cons: The plumbing of the over-bath shower was difficult to use, require additional care to avoid scalding. An updated mixer unit would help.
Friendly and helpful staff from the onset. Beautiful, clean and very comfortable family room. Our child loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Cosy historic country inn

Posted May 21, 2017
The room was lovely and much higher standard than what I was expecting, lovely rural location,plenty of parking,excellent service . Breakfast was great with plenty of choice. The evening meal was far too large for me so I found it too overwhelming to eat so if I had known I would have gone for the lighter bite option. My husband's dish - pie and mash was not too good as the gravy was far too rich and spoiled the meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Just lovely!

Posted May 8, 2017
Even though partially above the pub, noise is generally not a problem. Monty and Gemma always makes you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dana Point, CA, USA

A room with all the comforts of home and more!

Posted May 6, 2017
The Crown is a lovely very comfortable and welcoming place to stay. Monty, Gemma and Mark were excellent hosts and food is so yummy! Breakfast was included and was superb with many choices and staff were so nice and went out of their way to provide earlier breakfast on our last day when we needed to leave for Heathrow airport. Room was very charming and I loved the "Thomas Hardy" experience with paintings and books. The Crown was a wonderful place to stay while I visited my family on my brief trip from California, USA. My grandfather, Arthur Lewis was the original owner of Cooks Garage formerly known as "Lewis Garage." I have so many good memories of Marnhull.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay for Dorset villages marathan

Posted May 6, 2017
Lovely beers fine food very good service from Monty and staff well oiled team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful rooms and a very friendly and relaxed we

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Made our visit to Dorset and England worth coming back for when visiting family !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worthing W Sussex

Charming country character pub.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Very comfortable room with spacious wet room shower. Good choice of excellently prepared food served with local ales, delicious! Breakfast sets you up for the day, with plenty of variety. Friendly efficient service and thoroughly enjoyed our second visit. A fine base for exploring the Dorset countryside.
4 out of 5
by Antonio

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Large room . Real space for 3 people . Great experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
The staff were really helpful and friendly. There was plenty of parking and the breakfast was huge!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worthing

Easy access from A30 to friendly country hotel.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Large well heated annexe room with comfortable high bed and easy to use wet room. All the usual facilities - flat tv, fridge, tea/coffee maker available. Excellent dinner and breakfast in pub restaurant. Nice to look around local villages too.