Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice pub and very good restaurant excellent staff

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Nice pub and very good restaurant excellent staff but rooms are basic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from luton

Comfortable Stay in Caversham

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly, there was a lovely atmosphere and the room was comfortable
Location: Ideal for country walks
We had a lovely overnight stay in this pretty village
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Weekend away.

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed for one night as part of a weekend away. The room was spacious and very comfortable with a good hospitality tray and seating area, the bathroom was great. The George has recently been refurbished and is smart and characterful. Only downside is the very worn/holey stair carpet up to the bedrooms. We had the set evening meal. Superb cooking apart from slightly over cooked liver and good value. The terrine and sorbet were amazing. Service was good. The major downside was the early breakfast tray for one of us who had to leave early in the morning. This was to be a continental breakfast ie croissants but I also asked for cereal. This was misunderstood and I was left with only cornflakes and milk. Continental breakfast?.......hardly!! Where was the fruit juice, fruit, yoghurt and cold meats and cheeses. What happened to the croissants. This was completely unacceptable given the quality of breakfast served in the restaraunt. If croissants only are normally served on the early tray, then a reduction should be given or the range of cold foods left increased considerably.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Country stay in a sleepy hollow

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Wonderful breakfast - best full english I've had for a while!
Cons: Plumbing
Stayed 1 night to attend a birthday party nearby and had a lovely stay. Best thing was the breakfast. It's a beautiful old building but this does mean that the timber frame walls allow sound to travel between rooms. Staff were great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntingdon

Four night mini-break

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Good sized room - Room 1 Cleanliness Friendly staff Excellent food, both for breakfast an evening meals
Cons: There was nothing that I did not like about the hotel.
Location: Large village location. Near to National Trust places of interest and local main towns.
I was a little hesitant about booking a hotel as an older single female traveller and looked at the much larger chains in nearby main towns but after happening upon The George, it looked to be the perfect place to stay. It has an excellent restaurant with 5 bedrooms in a village near Sudbury. The hotel room (Room 1) was a good size, with ensuite facilities, clean and all that you would need to make your stay comfortable. The young staff were very friendly and helpful and made me feel very welcome as a single traveller. The hotel has a good choice for both breakfast (which is included in the room rate) and the evening meal, in both price and range of dishes on both the set and a la carte menus. Each dish is cooked to order but the wait between each course is quite short. The quality and the taste of the food was excellent and the restaurant was busy on each evening of my stay. I did pre-book a table, which may be advisable to secure a space. I would definitely stay at The George Hotel again for both the room size, friendliness of the staff and the excellent quality of the food. It is near to interesting local attractions and transport links are good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Food and service excellent. Our room was small with no wardrobe. Lovely atmosphere and the staff were very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rm

Lovely setting

Posted Aug 19, 2016
The staff were helpful and friendly. The restaurant was excellent. We felt that the room could have been more thoroughly cleaned. Ok for one night but no wardrobes or draws so no where really to put clothes. Lovely setting though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

englishness!

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely village Essex/Suffolk quiet good sleep
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel clean and set in a nice country village

Posted Aug 4, 2016
As soon as we set foot in the place I knew it would be a warm clean bed and breakfast and I wasn't disappointed. The staff couldn't do enough for you and the breakfast was spot on. Couldn't ask for more