Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from for information

Lovely country hotel...I thought

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Cheerful woman at the bar
Cons: Receptionists that understood about relationships
Location: No idea, I was working
It's had a make-over, actually, it's still in the middle of it. And the designer is clearly a man who likes everything minimalist. This hotel is chillingly cold. Physically it was pretty cold but the atmosphere is like ice - everything is plain grey paint. Not a picture in sight. Endless long, closed and narrow corridors with bright lights that spring on when you step into them. The place is soul-less. One set of bedrooms is actually below ground-level. And in the bedrooms, everything has been done at minimum cost. Not a penny has been wasted...and you know it. One picture on blank grey walls. Nice bar and breakfast room. But nothing would induce a return visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing night away

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Hotel obviously had recent renovation which is ongoing. Room comfortable and spotless and bed very comfortable. Didn't use restaurant but swimming facilities fantastic. Very good value for money
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short stay whilst attending a nearby wedding

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
We were staying for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding at Hengrave Hall. This hotel was well located to get a quick taxi to the wedding and walk to a barbecue the next day. We arrived ahead of check in and as the room was ready the hotel were kind enough to let us use the room to get changed. We paid for breakfast on the first morning and I thought the restaurant was lovely and for £10 the breakfast was fairly good value. You can see the hotel has been renovated and for what you pay it is reasonably good value. It is not 'luxurious' but I would not expect that for the price, for example the lift and the bath/shower are quite dated.
4 out of 5
by Ian from Sheffield

Everything You need.

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Gym, spa, swimming pool and golf if thats your thing. Very good hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ruhiges Golfhotel wird renoviert

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Ich bin schon öfter in diesem Hotel gewesen. Im Moment wird es umgebaut mit einem neuen Besitzer. Die Zimmer sind renoviert und das ganze Hotel wird renoviert. Zimmer sind gemütlich, SChwimmbad ist OK.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Nice hotel, great spa and gym!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
I was pleasantly surprised at this hotel after reading some of the reviews. I presume that it has been recently refurbished as the reception was modern and my room was immaculate. The highlight of my stay was the visit to the gym and spa. Some of the best equipment I have seen in the gym and fantastic spa facilities with a lovely large clean pool. The staff still seem to be getting to grips with the changes as I was directed to the gym via a route where I had to climb a glass barrier and I was given the code for the men's changing rooms rather than the women's! There were also some issues with the card machine and printing my bill the next morning, but it all got resolved in the end. I'm sure that in the future these problems with be resolved and I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stay for business

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Overall the stay was nice and catered for what I needed. Although I knew it was there, I didn't make use of the gym and pool but will do next time. Good choice of meals and reasonably priced. If I had to pick on any negatives, then I think the receptionist seemed exhausted. I wasn't greeted how I would of expected nor was I asked if my stay was satisfactory. The receptionist also didn't know her way around the building but I found my way.
3 out of 5
by Melissa from Shropshire

A mix of the old and new.

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is under refurbishment, although besides my room, I was unsure what was being upgraded. The pool area needs some work, but was nice for a quiet swim. The room was nice, but were I submitting one, the snagging list would have a few items on it. Everything works and is mostly clean considering the work in progress.
2 out of 5
by Wayne

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
It'll be great when all the building work is finished!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If under renovation close the hotel?

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was under renovation, no bar, no food not much more than a hostel on my stay