Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Overnight stay

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Easy to find
Cons: Hotel is being updated
Excellent hotel that provided us with all we needed without having to hunt for a bar or something to eat . Great staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from felixstowe suffolk

Hotel has changed its name to ipswich hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.Made the function more enjoyable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rupes

A hotel of quality

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Clean, big, parking space available and u feel u are on vacation. I really enjoyed my stay. The price was quite good too. Great experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Runcorn

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable and well priced
Have stayed before and hotel is now being refurbished so will be good when all done but the decorators could have used odour free paint
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Name of Hotel has changed to "Ipswich Hotel"

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Position
Cons: Look of hotel
Location: Please see earlier comments.
Looks a bit tired having changed ownership, think the new owners want it to become a "BestWestern". Staff all ok and welcoming lots of free parking.. Right next to a dual carriageway but that was the Old London Rd long since bypassed. Its reasonably comfortable bar snacks are available at reasonable prices even full room service is available prices look ok but food not sampled. Its ok for Ipswich and surrounding areas but the new A12 can get busy at the junction with the A14 main route to Felixstowe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Location: Very quite at night time
Good value. staff excellent just what I wanted after a stressful day
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but works going on and smells a lot,

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Experience of old age. Good Hotel with Old trends.Good and spacious room, work going in the same floor, smells a lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Cons: its in need of updating .
A little tricky to find because of the name change, but once there the food was lovely and the staff was helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Friendly atmosphere, attentive staff.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Friendly atmosphere
Staff were attentive and friendly. Food was hot and tasty. Bar was comfortable to sit in after a long day. Rooms were clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middlesbrough

Stay satistactory, meet our requirements.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: The room was of a comfortable size and meeted our requirements. The room was clean and tidy on arrival.
Cons: More staff presents, meeting and greeting visitors. Not placing guesting in rooms next to those being refurbished if possible.
Location: The location is good for visiting Ipswich alongside local villages such as Hadleigh.
The hotel signage stated Ipswich Hotel so was difficult to find as we were looking for Cameo Hotel. The hotel is in the process of being refurbished (not stated when booking), we were placed in a room on the same corridor as those rooms being re-furnished. There was a strong smell of paint and painters dust sheets along the corridor, not ideal to be carrying suit cases over dust sheet nor walking over dust sheets covered in paint when wearing smart wear, black suits etc. The staff were not present during the stay, other than 1 lady at breakfast we did not see any staff around the hotel for the duration of our stay.