Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel stay for works Christmas party

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Proximity to our works party
Cons: Hotel needs a bit of a refurbishment, including rooms all looking a bit tired.
Hotel room was for us to stay in overnight as we were attending a works Christmas party.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elsenham, UK

On a par with Premier Inn. 15 min walk to Bury.

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: Proximity to town with pleasant staff.
Cons: Decor needs updating.
Location: All that Bury St Edmunds has to offer.
Nice bar area, clean rooms with all facilities you need for an overnight stay. Only 15 mins walk in to town. Restaurant food is nice. Free wi fi throughout.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Raymond from Doncaster

Ideal stop over location

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
Staff were very welcoming both on arrival and throughout our stay, the rooms are a good size with modern bathrooms. The bar is a friendly area to relax and unwind. We'd already eaten, so cannot comment on the food, nor the breakfast as we were on the road ASAP.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Excellent friendly, helpful staff.

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Easy 15 minute walk into Bury St Edmunds town centre, free parking. Great staff. Good breakfast.
Cons: Larger wardrobe and hangers for longer stays.
Location: Lots to do in Bury St Edmunds. Good shopping, the abbey and good gardens and park.
Couldn't fault the staff. They went the extra mile to make all 5 of us in our party welcome?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by John from solihull

Average hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
I had a first floor room with a leaking overflow pipe outside the window, not dripping but flowing. Therefore the window had to be kept shut all night, making the room too warm. The exterior of the property was shabby. The shower was only just warm. There was also an out of town workman using foul language at breakfast time making the hotel feel down market. Otherwise everything was fine. Admittedly i should have reported these matters.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Drangonfly Bury

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Business trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Claire from Braintree

Good stay at the Dragonfly

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for one night to attend a wedding reception locally. Was greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist, who also ordered us a taxi to get us to the wedding reception. The room was very spacious and bed comfortable. Plenty of towels provided. Breakfast was good with plenty to choose from. No complaints, would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from York

Overnight stay in Bury St. Edmunds

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
An overnight stay in Bury St. Edmunds to visit family. Excellent location and easy to find. Hotel did exactly what it said on the tin ............
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Teesside

Nothing to write home about

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: Good sized rooms. Bed was comfortable. Quiet at the rear of the hotel away from the road.
Cons: Standard of room décor, fixtures and fittings had a bit of a down market look. Complimentary tea/coffee facilities were not very good.
Location: Fairly remote location. On a roundabout at the side of the busy A14.
Only had a work related short stay so the hotel served it`s purpose (somewhere to lay my head and get a bite to eat). Generally speaking the hotel was clean and quiet but once away from the reception area it seemed like any other budget hotel with slightly higher than budget prices. Main dining area was ok, the staff were pleasant and service was good although the down side was a very limited menu. I`m certainly not a snob but the management might want to consider a minimum clean dress standard in public areas (I was surprised to see someone in the food/dining area with dirty hi-viz overalls on). This guy was using seating that others were going to use, let alone the hygene issues. I`m not one for sitting in a hotel lounge on an evening but unfortunately there was little else to do due to the Hotels location. Would not be my first choice when in the area again.