Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from England

Convenient to the town centre

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Car park was littered by inconsiderate guests.
Location: Bury is a historic town with plenty of interesting architecture. The Abbey gardens should not be missed.
Hotel was as expected - adequate. Nice location and convenient to the town centre of Bury St. Edmunds. Room was comfortable and linen fresh. Shower worked well. Buffet breakfast was adequate with croissants etc and even the coffee from machine was enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Needs good management

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Members of staff wandering around the hotel barefoot & in shorts. Bed was uncomfortable, no wardrobe space. Food was just edible & the staff were eating their breakfast at the same time as the guests. One or two members of staff were helpful especially the girl cooking breakfast but they're seem to be no proper management of the place
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

15 minute walk to Bury centre

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: cheaper rate over similar hotels
Cons: breakfast. more friendly staff.
Location: 10 mins walk to cathedral. 15 mins walk to Greene King brewery or town centre. Sainsburys supermarket 5 mins walk.
Woken in the morning by five cleaning staff arguing right outside our door about not helping each other out. reading light not working reported to reception who did nothing. room located near main road, window didn't close properly so had noisy night. breakfast very basic and was actually much better and cheaper at Sainsburys next door. were told we could add food and drink to room bill by showing key wallet. however in the restaurant we were told quite rudely "no we don't do that, you pay now". apart from that it was OK and a short walk to town centre, cathedral and brewery.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: It was warm
Cons: Put in a lift and improve the food.
Location: Not far from Sainsburys
The entrance to the hotel is attractive however, on my arrival nobody explained about wi if access when I was given the key to the room. I have a back problem but there is no lift so I had to carry my case up. I did ask about the lift but was offered no help. The room was fine except the bed was two singles pushed together and so was quite uncomfortable. The food was dreadful and I explained Icouldn't eat it as it was so bad. I then explained I was not prepared to pay which I didn't. To be fair there was no argument and I was offered another glass of wine as an apology. There was nobody else eating and I could see why.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Convenient

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Good location
Cons: More information concerning the uneven ground, accessibility and parking would have been helpful
Very accommodating staff. Despite some initial difficulties the staff team were only too pleased to help
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Check in time was supposed to be 2.00pm. We arrived at 2.30pm, were given room key, went to room to find that it hadn't been cleaned. Beds unmade, dirty coffee cups etc. etc Allocated another room. No help to take cases upstairs. Room OK. Were woken twice in the night by the door being opened. Fortunately security bolt was on . so no-one could enter room. Reception staff not very helpful and said it was because we had changed rooms. I wouldn't stay at a Dragonfly hotel again..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient hotel for town, walking distance plus hotel has ample car parking
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap but not cheerful

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Budget hotel in need of a revamp. Room was fine but noisy due to proximity of A14. Service was really poor in the bar and restaurant area. Noted several customers complaining about slow or indifferent food service and others complaining about food quality. Didn't have the right staffing on in terms of numbers and skills.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing for the price

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
No heating in the room. Reported the problem to reception who told us that they would deal with the matter but nothing happened. They couldn't find our Hotels.com booking on the system, luckily we had taken our paperwork!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
Staff dreadful receptionist chewing gum while trying to make us pay when all ready paid when booking was made stood at bar 10 minutes waiting for service barman had to go off for a delivery had to ask for ice and lemon in drink he had to go off with drink for ice put slice lemon in with fingers. Resurant servica appealing had to find menues ourselves then starter came with mains not cleared until desserts brought out just dreadful