Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Settle

A nice hotel that's not going to break the bank.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: It's located just off the A14. 15 minutes away bye foot is Bury St Edmunds cathedral. Then 5 minutes you are in to the town centre.
The Dragonfly is a nice hotel for those on a budget. The rooms are nice and clean. And nice fluffy towels changed every day if you want to. The hotel is about 15 minutes good walk from the town centre. The breakfast are good and evening meals are simple. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend yes I would. You get free wifi and ample parking too. It maybe just off the busy A14 but you hardly hear the traffic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing hotel but really comfortable bed

Posted Oct 19, 2016
I stopped at the dragonfly hotel due to a business trip and found the hotel to be some what tired, I had been to the same hotel around 17 years ago and too be honest the decor was the same! It did remind me of a 70s Spanish resort I found the hotel staff a little occupied and more interested in sorting personal issues than dealing with customers. Overall found the room comfortable but again somewhat tired. Could no find a hairdryer in any of the drawers, but did find an old empty bag of nuts! No good that the draw had not been checked. The highlight I must say was the bed that was really comfortable but overall the whole place could do with an update.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southampton

basic but comfortable. I stayed in an accessible r

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: easy going, comfortable plus very good staff
Cons: stow. lighting a bit dullayed in accessible room but no grab rails in bath,toilet seat too l
Location: we used to live in the area so we knew where to go in town
bed comfortable. clean. hotel a bit jaded. staff very polite and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Ok for overnight stay

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Walkable distance to town centre
Cons: Bathrooms in need of maintenance/updating. Chairs in bedrooms required
Room clean and bed very comfortable but no chairs in room at all. Sleep very disturbed by traffic noise and fire alarm sounding several times. Bathroom needing maintenance both taps loose on sink, average shower. Overall adequate for a one night. Did not use dining facilities. Good onsite parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from antrim

stayed at this hotel because close to friends

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: general service
I will not stay again, reported lights not working but not fixed from Thurs when booked in until Sunday morning. Came back at 10 pm Fri evening - no bed made or room service. Sunday breakfast was dreadful - only one girl on to run front desk and breakfast, long queues and wait. Friends stayed there and they had the same - plus a rebate which I was not given!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: easy parking close to town centre
Cons: fire safety could do with air con in rooms very hot in rooms
Location: town centre walkable
Generally speaking not a bad hotel needs some work done fire safety as improved from last time I visited beds are comfortable breakfast OK
3 out of 5
by susan from Bury St edmunds

Tired but comfortable

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
One night
3 out of 5
by Alexander from Hawick

Family Visit

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly and helpful staff good location.
4 out of 5
by James from London

Friendly staff and reasonabe prices

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
When we arrived, there was a small mix-up over whether or rooms were double or twin. However, the staff managed to sort things out for us and did so efficiently, professionally and courteously. Even though the hotel was full, and the staff were busy, they were always very happy to help any time we needed something. The décor is outdated and the place could do with a bit of remodernisation. However, this was a small drawback given the very reasonable price and the fact that we were only 15 minutes walk from the town centre.
4 out of 5
by Brian from Wales

disapponted stopover

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
I thought the hotel was very grubby. Litter in corridors, evidence of previous occupants in toilet. All in all very disappointed with stay.