Get an overview of this hotelHotel in Suffolk with free breakfast


Situated near the airport, this hotel is within 3 mi (5 km) of Suffolk Center for Cultural Arts, Suffolk Seaboard Station Railroad Museum, and Suffolk Visitor Center. The Great Dismal Swamp is 10.9 mi (17.5 km) away.

Hotel Features

Coffee/tea in a common area, a computer station, and express check-in are available at this hotel. Free continental breakfast and free WiFi in public areas are also provided. Other amenities include express check-out, free newspapers, and a TV in a common area.

Room Amenities

All 50 rooms provide conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, plus free WiFi and cable TV. Guests will also find coffee makers, hair dryers, and ironing boards.

Econo Lodge Suffolk ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

Learn more.
1.9 out of 5
18% of guests recommend
2.0 Room cleanliness
2.3 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
Learn more.

Great place to stay for cheap rate.

5 out of 5
by from US
Posted Nov 29, 2016
Could improve on the breakfast display. Customer service was excellent.
Was this review helpful to you?

1 out of 5
Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Nothing!! The only thing was it was close to where my brother lives.
Cons: When we arrived, their computer was done so he could find our reservations. He had to scramble and find us rooms. The guy waiting on us had a filthy white tank top on on holey blue jeans. We we finally got to our rooms about an hour after trying to check in, the one rooms frig didn't work and another rooms toilet didn't have a handle on it to flush. There was hardly any hot water every time we took showers. The wifi kept going out. They never ran the vacuum the whole 4 days we were there. We had to go ask for toilet paper. Would never stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by R J SHAH
Please accept my sincere apology regarding your recent stay at the Econolodge, Suffolk, Virginia. What you experienced is not the standard we strive to uphold. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you for choosing Econolodge, and I look forward to the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Was this review helpful to you?

Unsafe, immediately switched hotels

1 out of 5
by from Chicago, IL
Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Well, there was a Hardee's next door.
First, the check-in staff member LEERED at me and made sexually suggestive comments. I should have listened to my first instinct and left at that moment. Second, when I entered my room, it was filthy and smelled awful. There were dark-brown stains on the bathtub and the shower curtain. Third, the outdoor lighting was terrible and I felt unsafe. I was creeped out the entire time I was on the premises. And it didn't help that there was no wi-fi (or if there was, it wasn't working) and my cell signal was weak so that if something did happen, I wouldn't be able to reach for help easily. I wondered if I was paranoid about feeling so unsafe and insecure, decided that it didn't matter if I was paranoid, and left within 15 minutes of checking-in.
Was this review helpful to you?

Did the job

4 out of 5
Posted Aug 2, 2016
Needed a place to stay that was queit and I got that for the most part. Like always, some people just have to act out once it late into the night.
Was this review helpful to you?

They have bed bugs

1 out of 5
Posted Jul 31, 2016
Have bed begs...floors are dirty...hotel owners Ignore you while they talk on their cell phones
Was this review helpful to you?

Better than motel 6

3 out of 5
Posted Jun 18, 2016
A better comfort for me and my family than the motel 6
Was this review helpful to you?


1 out of 5
by from Michigan
Posted Oct 19, 2015
Cons: Every THING!!!!
I have stayed in a lot of hotels and this being the worst ever!!! I booked on line and when we arrived the owner argued with me that I didn't have a reservation, which I did. The room was very dirty!!! The tub had not been cleaned the blanket for the bed was dirty. We never even used it. The tub had not been cleaned and the bathroom stunk. The toilet seat was broke the door handle to the bathroom was broke. They sent someone to the room at 11 o'clock at night and he woke us up the maintenance cleaning person. He called me princess!!! I went down for coffee in the morning for their breakfast! The coffee was disgusting and all they had was cold cereal there. The owners argued every time you spoke to them. It was terrible. Just before we left the owner later opened out door while we were sleeping!!!! DON'T ever stay there!!!!!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2015 by RJ
I am sorry about your experience with my hotel. As you said that when you made your reservation, you have to revise your reservations couple time. There fore we had a problem to find your reservation. We have send Maintenance personal right on and provide maintenance. You have complained for every thing at same token your brother stayed in next room to you and he was happy for every thing. R J S
Was this review helpful to you?

Horrible hotel.

1 out of 5
Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: I left.
Cons: cleanliness, different management or employees, no hookers standing outside the rooms....I could continue but I am sure that you get the point
The room was dirty. I honestly do NOT think that the bedding was clean. The bathroom was disgusting. There were hookers standing around outside at night looking for a "John." The lady at the front desk attempts to shake you down for more money, even though the room has already been paid for. She even processed to tell me that I could find a new hotel, however, she wouldn't refund my money to go elsewhere. I would recommend that NO ONE EVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?

Our stay was close to Family.

1 out of 5
Posted Aug 3, 2015
Our stay was close to family and MANY QUALITY resturants as well as fast food resturants. It was easy to get to. We wished the room had been a little more modern. The door to the bathroom could not open if someone was sitting on the commode. The continental breakfast was adequate.
Was this review helpful to you?

Dirty and smelly

1 out of 5
by from Coventry CT
Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: The owner was pleasant and gave us a room even though she never received the reservation information from Expedia.
Cons: Clean, fumigate and install new carpeting.
They did not have our reservation information so I had to stand in the lobby with other guest in the same situation for over 20 minutes. Finally the women at the front desk just gave us a room. The room was smaller than the one I reserved and wreaked of cigarette smoke even though it was marked as a non-smoking room. The carpet was stained and disgusting. The blanket had white stains all over it. I would never stay here again
Was this review helpful to you?

Hotel Amenities

Hotel Amenities

A complimentary breakfast is offered. A computer station is located on site and high-speed wired and wireless Internet access is complimentary. This Suffolk hotel also offers coffee/tea in a common area, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and express check-in.

Econo Lodge Suffolk has designated areas for smoking.

  • Total number of rooms - 50 
  • Coffee/tea in common areas 
  • Free newspapers in lobby 
  • Free breakfast 
  • Express check-in 
  • Express check-out 
  • Computer station 
  • Designated smoking areas 
  • Free WiFi 
  • Free wired high-speed Internet 
  • RV, bus, truck parking 
  • Television in common areas 

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Hotel  
  • Free Wi-Fi  
  • Refrigerator  
  • Microwave  


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired high-speed Internet


RV, bus, truck parking

Room Amenities

  • Refrigerator 
  • Hair dryer 
  • Iron/ironing board 
  • In-room climate control (air conditioning) 
  • Air conditioning 
  • Coffee/tea maker 
  • Microwave 
  • Desk 
  • Cable TV service 
  • Free WiFi 
  • Rollaway/extra beds (surcharge) 

Where to Eat

Guests are offered a complimentary continental breakfast.

Nearby Things to Do

  • Golfing nearby 


If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

Hotel Policies


Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-in time starts at 3 PM


Check-out time is 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children 18 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 10 per night.


  • Pets allowed for an extra charge of USD 10.00 per pet, per night (maximum USD 30.00 per stay)
  • Dogs and cats only
  • 2 per room (up to 20 lb)
  • Specific rooms only
  • Pet-friendly rooms can be requested by contacting the property at the number on the booking confirmation

You need to know

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.


Optional extras

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.
  • Pet fee: USD 10.00 per pet, per night (maximum USD 30.00 per stay)
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 10 per night
The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees and deposits may not include tax and are subject to change.

Hotel Name

  • Econo Lodge Hotel Suffolk
  • Econo Lodge Suffolk
  • Econo Lodge Suffolk Hotel

We should mention

Children 18 years old and younger stay free when occupying the parent or guardian's room, using existing bedding. Only registered guests are allowed in the guestrooms. This property allows pets in specific rooms only (surcharges apply and can be found in the Fees section). Guests can request one of these rooms by contacting the property directly, using the contact information on the booking confirmation.