Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Purley, Surrey

An excellent hotel in a wonderful location

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Absolutely everything
Cons: In our opinion, nothing!
Location: Easy and quick access to Oulton Broads is a recommendation in itself for the location of Ivy House. Southwold is a short drive and truly wonderful.
My husband and I cannot speak highly enough about our stay at Ivy House Country Hotel. From the moment we were greeted by a wonderfully welcoming receptionist to the moment we left we were treated to a first class experience. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The choice and quality of breakfast was terrific, as was the menu for the evening meals. The staff in the restaurant were charming and professional, with a special word for James who was attentive and warm in his dealings with us. Finally, the location, with immediate access to Oulton Broads further enhanced a memorable few days. .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Romsey

Good hotel very close to the Broads.

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Restaurant, staff and situation for walking.
Cons: Better TV in room for those occasions when the rain comes.
Location: Very close to Oulton broads with lots of walking and bird watching on the area.
Lovely restaurant, excellent food. Hotel very pleasantly situated close to walks along the Broads, straight from the hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel do a quiet stay, probably best suited to couples rather than families.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Romsey, Hampshire

Lovely hotel with good walking close by.

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: Position, friendly staff.
Cons: Television in room not very good.
Location: Walking, bird watching, access to broads.
We enjoyed a very pleasant quiet stay with good walking right on the doorstep. Very good restaurant, staff very friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
I was there for a business trip. Serving of breakfast was very late and slow.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

A very good hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: The staff were fantastic
Cons: The bed was a bit on the arid side.
Location: Located right on the Broads. Close to Lowestoft.
This is a good hotel which easily beats many four star establishments that I have stayed in. The food is good and the room was warm and comfortable. However, the strength of this place lies in its staff who are welcoming, eager to please, courteous and quick to respond to one's needs.
4 out of 5
by nicholas

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel , the food menu was a bit limited but otherwise very good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overpriced

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Spacious
Expected better for the price. Restaurant menu very limited. Restaurant staff inexperienced -students ? Food quality ok but that is all.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Kingston

Restfull and relaxing

Posted Aug 6, 2015 on Hotels
Would have stayed more than one night if we had realised how good it was. At the end of a drive with foot access to the edge of Oulton Broad made a perfect location for a relaxing time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, AUS

Nice hotel with lovely grounds

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Rooms were large and comfortable, very pretty setting would be lovely outside in summer, bar and restaurant were nice, food was good and staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again happily.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

A pleasant break.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Good location, helpful staff and cleanliness.
We stayed in an executive room which is big and nicely furnished. The bathroom is very clean with a bath and a separate shower. The shower is powerful just the way we like.. Breakfast is good and the kippers are the best we ever had. We had dinner in restaurant the first night and enjoyed it. We took the footpath from the hotel and walked to Lowestoft via Oulton Broad. It was lovely walk with beautiful scenery.