Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Rachel

Comfortable hotel with character

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel and large room. Stayed 3 nights in Dec after Christmas. The hotel was quiet, restaurant and bar were both open and food great. Nice selection for breakfast all freshly cooked to order.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Lovely countryside surrounding the hotel with a short walk to the Outlon broads. Bedroom was clean and spacious with a comfy bed. Staff friendly.
Location: Lovely walks around The Outlon Broads. Not far from Great Yarmouth either.
Lovely hotel and staff very helpful. We eat in the Restaurant and the food was top notch too. We took a small dog with us and he was made to feel very welcome too. Will hopeful return soon.
5 out of 5
by Marion from London

Delightful countryside break.

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
We brought our 92 year old mum up to see relatives who live nearby. We all met up in the lovely garden for a drink. She went back with them for the night while my partner and I had a delicious meal and stayed overnight as a treat. The room was large and the huge bed very comfy. Staff were really friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Purley, Surrey

An excellent hotel in a wonderful location

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Absolutely everything
Cons: In our opinion, nothing!
Location: Easy and quick access to Oulton Broads is a recommendation in itself for the location of Ivy House. Southwold is a short drive and truly wonderful.
My husband and I cannot speak highly enough about our stay at Ivy House Country Hotel. From the moment we were greeted by a wonderfully welcoming receptionist to the moment we left we were treated to a first class experience. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The choice and quality of breakfast was terrific, as was the menu for the evening meals. The staff in the restaurant were charming and professional, with a special word for James who was attentive and warm in his dealings with us. Finally, the location, with immediate access to Oulton Broads further enhanced a memorable few days. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Romsey

Good hotel very close to the Broads.

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Restaurant, staff and situation for walking.
Cons: Better TV in room for those occasions when the rain comes.
Location: Very close to Oulton broads with lots of walking and bird watching on the area.
Lovely restaurant, excellent food. Hotel very pleasantly situated close to walks along the Broads, straight from the hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel do a quiet stay, probably best suited to couples rather than families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Romsey, Hampshire

Lovely hotel with good walking close by.

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: Position, friendly staff.
Cons: Television in room not very good.
Location: Walking, bird watching, access to broads.
We enjoyed a very pleasant quiet stay with good walking right on the doorstep. Very good restaurant, staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

A very good hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: The staff were fantastic
Cons: The bed was a bit on the arid side.
Location: Located right on the Broads. Close to Lowestoft.
This is a good hotel which easily beats many four star establishments that I have stayed in. The food is good and the room was warm and comfortable. However, the strength of this place lies in its staff who are welcoming, eager to please, courteous and quick to respond to one's needs.
4 out of 5
by nicholas

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel , the food menu was a bit limited but otherwise very good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

overpriced

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Spacious
Expected better for the price. Restaurant menu very limited. Restaurant staff inexperienced -students ? Food quality ok but that is all.
1 out of 5
by Niels from St Ives, Cambs

A near miss!

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
We booked 2 nights in a family room through Hotels.com. Our room rate was £185/night and so we were expecting it to be pretty decent. On arrival we were allocated room 3. On opening the door several things were immediately apparent - the faux leather sofa was peeling; there was a smell of damp/mould; the carpet was rucked up and uneven; despite the large room size the TV was tiny; the radiator was rusty. On closer inspection we found - that the bathroom ceiling was covered with mould; the bathroom was dirty; there were several flying ants in the room; there were several ant bait boxes in the room; there was a pest-control plug-in connected to one of the sockets. The smell of damp and flying ants alone were enough to motivate us to leave with our tired 4-year-old in tow. We returned to reception, advised them of the issues and explained that we would like to leave. Despite first saying that we would still need to pay the Manager was called and she apologised for the problems and said that we were free to leave and would not be charged. We quickly searched for an alternative and booked the Norfolk Mead Hotel at a very similar room rate. The hotel was about 20 miles away and the difference, despite the very similar cost, was immense. A near miss with a happy outcome as we loved our stay at the Norfolk Mead.