Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Felixstowe Sea Front Hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
I booked in for a weekend activity at the Felixstowe Ferry Sailing Club and received a very nice welcome and offered a room upgrade. The room was nicely arranged with ensuite and plenty of room, plus a nice bed and a nice TV. It was a short walk to Felixstowe town, across the road to the beech and very close to the new peer. A very nice stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
When we arrived the room was cold and damp, barren of any amenities and a door you wouldn't have on a dorm room. We left and couldn't get a refund. We didn't even care as it was such a dump. No cook so restaurant was not serving lunch and lounge was not open.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quirky & Convenient

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
decent enough, quirky Hotel, stay was fine!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
3rd floor shower was a fast drip. Sea view was saving grace Overpriced considering all
2 out of 5
by Mohamed

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Janice

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs Care And Attention

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: It is a traditional and proper style Victorian building with lots of nooks and crannies and nice ambience.
Cons: Everything seems tired and old and unloved. Carpets are badly worn and bathrooms need updating. Wifi is useless.
Location: Right on the sea front and close to, but not next to the Town Centre and amusements. Perfect position for a hotel. Felixstowe is a good place to stay.
Such a shame but a new branded hotel has opened up and offers a different experience with all mod-cons and there are holiday properties nearby. I was ok with the room and stayed there before in other rooms but very hot and stuffy. TV was very small. They advertise free wifi, which I needed, but it rarely works. I could not use the shower or bath as water was so hot and the cold tap was broken. When I mentioned this on check out the receptionists just shrugged his shoulders and said they would look at this, but this to me looked long-term and would have thought they would known about it when cleaning the rooms. Not bad value if you can put up with this general lack of attention.
5 out of 5
by Barbara from Sanford Maine USA

Best Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
This is a wonderful old hotel. The management were wonderful expecially Anant Sing one of the owners. He couldn't have been more nice or helpful. The pub attached was great and people very friendly. We would certainly stay at the Marlborough again when visiting my aunty in Felixstowe. If your looking for a new modern hotel don't stay here but if you want a nice clean hotel with nice people this is the place to stay. Good food in the restaurant, the feeling of history this is it. Thanks to Anant for all your consideration and kindness. Your dad and brother Anoop couldn't have been nicer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Close to the beach but very outdated

Posted May 30, 2016
I was very disappointed with everything no internet , we had no lights upstairs due to power cut , narrow stairs no lift , roof very low for me as i am only 5ft 9 .waited 15mins at the reception for checking in .i paid good money for the room i expected a better room
1 out of 5
by Brian from Yorkshire

Marlbrough Hotel

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
Major improvements required.