Ratings based on 463 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close to main line Train station

Posted Feb 21, 2017
I had arrived late and the receptionist was super friendly and had upgraded me. The room was a lot bigger than what I needed it to be but being it was a nice gesture. I was only there for the evening as had an early morning event at Adastral Park. I had ordered the thai chicken curry as didn't really want to go out for dinner that late - the meal itself was just ok, it was microwaved and wasn't very tasty but it did the job and the server (who wasn't a chef who heated my meal) was friendly too. It was a quite in the hotel but maybe that was because it was a Sunday..? I was just there for work so overall, a pleasant straightforward stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for station and city

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Fridge with water, good wifi, deep bath, comfy bed, sofa. Quiet at the back of the building. Busy road at the front.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

On a shooting trip with four mates and two gundogs

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Staff Rooms Location Cost
Cons: Nope, cracking.
Location: We were shooting in Suffolk, so great to be in town with the countryside so easily accessible.
Brilliant warm friendly staff who spoilt us and ourdogs, in fantastic facilities at really excellent value. Highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of a refurbishment

Posted Dec 30, 2016
The hotel was ok, we stayed at Christmas so appreciate we didn't get much time in the hotel, however would make a few observations. For the standard and usual cost of the hotel and given ( apart from the Salt House) it is probably the best hotel in Ipswich it is in a strong need of a revamp or refurbishment due to what I would consider old fixtures and furnishings. The staff were ok, neither good nor terrible perhaps due to the holiday season they just seemed a bit disinterested and didn't make guests feel very welcome in my opinion. The breakfast was ok, again nothing to write home about, found the coffee pretty weak so standard stuff like that is easy to get right, and thought the overall choice was limited. The wine I had in the first evening was overpriced at £9.30 odd, I don't pay that at a Hilton in London ... The room was comfortable but as previous just perhaps needs a refresh. My wife and I were out mostly seeing family so as previous not there to fully experience the hotel which is probably a good thing as the atmosphere in the hotel was very flat with nobody there who looked that interested in guest satisfaction.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Good location for town, retail park of station. Novotel pretty standard across the UK, the only outstanding part was the barmaid service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

Central Ipswich Hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Car park quite full on arrival but luckily there were a few spaces. Otherwise not sure where we would have parked. Check-in was quick. Unfortunately we couldn't turn the air conditioning off in the room and my wife, who is very sensitive to fan noise didn't sleep well. Breakfast was good and we took advantage of the express check out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

One night stay

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Nice size room with good size tv. Comfortable bed. Fridge in bedroom
Cons: £7 to stay in hotel car park. Charging for bottle water in room. Uncomfortable pillows Breakfast bacon and eggs left too long on hot plate.
Location: 10 minute walk from town and theatre
Nice hotel with friendly staff. Room and bed were comfortable, although pillows on the hard side. Didn't like having to pay £7 for hotel car park Had to pay for bottled water in room if you wanted it, which was way more expensive than buying from a shop. The bacon at breakfast had been left on hotplate too long so was hard, as were fried eggs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel.

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel. Excellent staff and dog friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Happy customers

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Night away from the kids which was lovely. Got a great nights rest. Fabulous breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great welcome friendly staff