Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great outlook

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Staff great always attended to your needs. Easy access to the town and park gardens
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Vip treatment

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The angel hotel is located in a beautiful town. The staff were so professional friendly and efficent from the valet parking person to the general manager all couldnt of done more for us. The room we stayed in was spacious clean modern fresh. The room service was fast and efficent. We had a amazing breakfast with friendly waiting staff and good quality food. Would recommend this hotel and cant wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Great city centre hotel with parking, a real find

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Include breakfast in the room rates. More seating in the cocktail bar.
Location: A market on a Wedns & Sats. Abbeygate Cinema, close by. Ark Shopping Centre, Abbey Gardens, lots of restaurants
I stayed here to meet up with some friends, Ive been to Bury St. Edmunds several times but had never been into the Angel. A lovely stay, and would highly recommend it. One of the real plusses is that it is right in the middle of Bury St. Edmunds and has parking. The bedrooms all seemed to be different despite the fact we all paid the same price which was rather strange. It is actually bigger than you think as there are lots of small corridors with rooms leading off it, very nicely decorated and the rooms were very clean and tidy. The bed was just right, not too hard and not too soft, nothing worse than a soft bed when you're staying away from home. We didnt eat in the hotel but there's a very nice comfortable lounge to have tea it seemed which looked delicious or a post dinner drink. My only criticism was that breakfast wasnt included and I wasnt prepared to pay nearly £15 for a cooked breakfast when you can have the same for about £6 in a nearby coffee shop. The downstairs cocktail bar was slightly odd, very strange decor and not very well staffed, wouldnt recommend it to be honest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from plymouth

Great hotel in lovely market town

Posted Feb 25, 2017
I really enjoyed a short stay here. The staff were great with someone to carry cases and park the car. The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to leave it!! I would recommend the ham and cheese sandwich at lunchtime with the most amazing chips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells

Great hotel in the middle of town

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay. Staff were welcoming on arrival. Decor is trendy and fun. Stayed in an impression room which was quite small but nice and very clean. Had a lovely view overlooking the Abbey. Step out of the hotel and right onto angel hill with lots of good shops, restaurants and coffee shops.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire

Not what expected of a 4 star hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The friendly helpful porter
Cons: Decor and maintenance management
Location: Central location to visit shops and abbey gardens
A 4 star hotel? but not the room we were in. Cracked walls, holes in the walls, marks over the walls, stained and marked carpet, badly damaged glosswork and Mould on sealant in bathroom. The bedding was clean and bed was comfortable. Best thing at this hotel is the friendly ,helpful porter. My husband did not want me to complain"only here one night" but no matter what room you stay in ,it should be 4 star. No excuses for the state of that room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Perfectly situated for Bury St Edmonds

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The perfect location on the main square and opposite the old abbey grounds. Staff were friendly and the reception areas were very relaxing.
Cons: The room was very ordinary - not in keeping with the ambience of the hotel
On arrival, we parked outside in the public car park and went in to check-in, whereupon the bell man came out in the rain, put a permit on our car for us (so we didn't need to pay) and took our luggage inside. The reception areas are very relaxing, with big comfy chairs and open fire. The cream teas looked amazing, but as we were going out for dinner we had to pass up. The hotel has a great cocktail bar down in the old tunnels from the abbey, with several cosy areas to sit, chat and enjoy - which we did when we got back from dinner. On the downside, we found the room disappointing and very basic - probably as we were not in the main hotel building, but in a add-on to the main hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Great weekend getaway . Amazing food . Even our dog felt at home
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Beautiful hotel very well located.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Very welcoming reception and the parking and bags was taken care of by helpful staff. Warm and cosy rooms.
Cons: The restaurant - the lighting is poor and we found it difficult to read the menu which was very limited in selection.
Location: I was on a business trip so no time took around!
Certainly would like to return but unless the restaurant improves, would choose to eat in the Town. My husband's steak ( £28) was not cooked as he requested and was an extremely fatty piece of aged sirloin steak. When we were asked half way through our supper if 'everything was alright' we mumbled yes, but when our plates were cleared, my husband did make the comment that he felt the piece of meat he had paid for was not correctly cooked and was of a poor quality - most of it was still on the plate! We were advised that had he complained when they asked earlier, the food could have been replaced. A fair comment from a polite young man but somewhat unsatisfactory from the Customer's point of view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Extra special

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Just had an amazing 1 night stay at The Angel Hotel, right from the moment I pulled up outside and was met by the valet parking. Staff excellent, room just amazing, restaurant very very good and the eggs benadict at breakfast was gorgeous. Only negative was that we was looking forward to a drink in the bar downstairs before dinner which is much pushed on the websites ect, however space is limited and there was no space available, that said, we just then enjoyed a drink in the lounge upstairs instead.