Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for bury st Ed town

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Slow service in lounge and hard to get a table for a drink. No automated table buzzer to get staff attention. Breakfast not included so at £14 each we just went into town. Great room over looking abbey gardens so was fantastic view of fireworks! Great hotel for shopping eating and drink in town. Great butler service parking your car and dealing with your luggage.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Somerset

A great location.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Car park was an asset.
Cons: Plumbing and the EATERY need attention.
Location: Excellent location and Bury is a fine town with plenty of sites to visit.
Food excellent but dining room drab and poorly furnished. Usual lack of comfortable chairs in our rooms and bath water not warm enough. Shower a disaster. Luggage and car handling excellent But our room was a "mile" from lift.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: location and service were great
Cons: the interior could use a little refreshing
Very charming hotel with a lot of character in a beautiful little town. The service and staff was great. The rates were very fair. Would definitely recommend to others.
3 out of 5
by Marion from Wolston

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Bury st edmunds was ok to stay for one night.Without the foodfestival it would have been rather boring. The hotel was ok....the breakfast was complicated to order. A buffet with opportunity to order full english breakfast would have been much better
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
A quick weekend stay where we had a double bed suite. Was surprised about the lack of fridge although was informed by a lovely member of staff that if we asked they could refrigerate items for us. The most aggravating thing was the TV, where the sound suddenly stopped working and trying to watch a little bit of You Been Framed with no sound is pointless. The amenities are very nice, they do a delicious room service pizza and a great fried breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Kelly Louise from Rayleigh

Good hotel...... little dated

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was on the perfect place close to all the shops and attractions. Hotel was clean but rooms and decor needed to be updated . With fresh paint
5 out of 5
by Matthew from Manchester

Well run independant hotel!

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Classic style hotel in the centre of Bury St Edmonds, arrived late (on business) but staff at reception were pleasant and helpful. Read reviews that car parking is an issue but to be fair I found a place right outside hotel. Had to leave car keys at reception as I think they have to play 'musical cars' to prevent tickets being issued but no problem in the morning as car was brought round to the front of hotel promptly. Room was spacious and tastefully decorated in fitting to style of building. Tea / coffee facilities, free wifi and excellent shower all contributed to a nice stay albeit a short one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Great hotel in centre of Bury St Edmunds

Posted Aug 24, 2016
We arrived fairly late but we're able to park right outside the hotel. They even paid for the parking in the morning giving us a couple of hours until 11 to look around the town. We had a problem with our booked room but they moved us to another lovely room whilst we went out for dinner. All the staff were excellent and and facilities were first class.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chelsea, london

Lovely view of ancient Abbey relics

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Position, history architecture, large bed and bathroom.
Cons: Freshly squeezed orange juice!
Service was excellent from parking car and taking luggage out and to room. Loved my visit feeling comfortable, well ded and well looked after. Only negative was the advertised freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast was out of a carton.
4 out of 5
by Sebastian from barcelona

mejor hotel de la ciudad

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
buena situacion