Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel.

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Stayed for one night at The Angel. Lovely large room, beautiful four poster. Staff very warm, efficient and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel, the staff simply couldn't be better

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Furnishing, food, friendliness.
A superb experience and superb staff. You would not be disappointed in any way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic weekend

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: The central location made life easy, comfortable lounges to chat with family.
Cons: Stayed at the hotel to attend a wedding, a full length mirror in the room would of been helpful.
Location: Location perfect for me, shops near by, restaurants and the restful Abbey Gardens.
Made a long weekend of a family wedding, needed to stay centrally, had a very pleasant time at The Angel major part of a fantastic weekend
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but...

Posted Aug 16, 2015
The hotel is situated right in the heart of beautiful Bury St Edmunds, so great for a spirit shopping etc. Staff were lovely, polite, helpful and smiley. However the hotel needs stripping down, gutting and re building. The reception area is fab, but once you go up stairs you start to see peeling wall paper, damp spots etc, I don't think rooms have been refurbed since 70's. Our room was ridiculously hot, making the stay very uncomfortable. Only one small window would open half way.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Funky hotel right in the city centre

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Excellent hotel with immensely friendly and accommodating staff. The hotels location is perfect for exploring the city and its decor strikes a great balance between classic elegance and new quirkiness. The room was excellently appointed and really well designed. The only thing that prevented giving this wonderful hotel five stars was that it suffered from horribly thin walls and the corridor above the room meant footfalls and creaking floorboards were heard anytime it was used. The cleaning staff woke us at 0730 through no fault of their own using the vacuum cleaner on adjacent rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from states

Classic, comfy hotel in Suffolk

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: The funky decor, and generous room sizes.
Bury St Edmunds is enjoying a renaissance, and the Angel Hotel is a splendid place to experience. Wonderful staff, food, and atmosphere, in the middle of everything across the street from the magnificent Cathedral of St. James and St. Edmund, and the ruins of the medieval Benedictine monastery, transformed into spectacular English gardens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Deborah from Diss

Great place to stay and right in the town centre

Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels
Very helpful staff, took care of parking our car for us. The room was very comfortable and luxurious. We were upgraded which was much appreciated. We stayed here for the close proximity to the theatre and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Wen-Hsiung from Taiwan

Cozy hotel locates in the centre of Bury St Edmund

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
I have stayed in the hotel for several time and always enjoy it. A great hotel if you want to visit the city. I never try to dinner but the breakfast is superb. Also a nice bar which provides great selection of drinks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Oxford

Weekend trip to Bury St Edmunds

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Perfect town location

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Well kept hotel with friendly non obtrusive staff. Ideal location in town with parking. We stayed for one night to celebrate my wife's birthday and my only gripe would be the interesting looking Wingspan bar was closed, and we could not get a cocktail in the lounge. Breakfast was delicious and reasonable on price considering you could order as much as you like from the menu.