Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Terrible night in tiny hot and noisy room

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Good parking - nice location
Cons: room should not be rent out at all.
We got room 102 above the kitchen. The aircon from the kitchen was noisy so were the noises from the outside freezer units. The room was tiny and you had to squeeze through to get to the bathroom. Everything was clean but the bed and bedding was not comfortable. We had to leave early after a sleepless night and had no breakfast. It was very expensive for what we got. I would not recommend it and would never go there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wherry Hotel, Oulton Broads,

Posted May 22, 2017
We stayed at the Wherry in Lowestoft. The Hotel overlooks Oulton Broads. A very pleasant setting. The room was very comfortable and the food was very good. Would definitely recommend staying there. We will be going back later this year.
3 out of 5
by Steve

Average hotel, well above average price

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Room was in poor repair. Bathroom had a loose panel on the bath that allowed a draft to blow in. Even though I specifically asked for a quiet room, it was noisy if you opened the window as the road has traffic most of the night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Great location and staff

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Great views and location with ample parking. Good carvery service and great staff (and a good selection of beers too)
Cons: Had some issues with being able to get consistent flow of hot water for shower
Location: Lovely location right on the broads. Parks and waterside walks close by and access to Carlton Marshes (a nice wildlife haven) is close at hand
Stayed for three nights in a comfortable recently updated single room with a stunning view of the broads. Staff were very friendly and extremely accommodating and handled my concerns regarding hot water availability to my satisfaction.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SW England

Superb views

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Nice overnight stay whilst on family business. Friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful water views over Oulton Broad. Nice breakfast - a change from my normal coffee and slice of toast. Room was small for the price but I'm glad I upgraded. A small room at the rear of the hotel would have been a poor experience. The hotel and bar appear very popular but could do with updating - it was all a bit Travelodge and pub food but at a higher cost. However I would stay again.
3 out of 5
by Guy

a brief encounter

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
I arrived at 1.30am after a 3hr drive, the night porter was very helpful. I found my room and slept, then got up, ate breakfast which was ok and then left at 8.30 am, so had a pleasant but brief visit. Staff were all friendly and the hotel was clean, creaky floorboards in my room made me uncomfortable when I arrived as I didn't want to wake anyone.
3 out of 5
by elaine

not very dog friendly

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Room very clean had everything you need. Staff friendly & helpful great location right on Norfolk broads. The only downside was we booked as it say dog friendly infact dogs only allowed in room & reception. Not what I call dog friendly they should be allowed in bar as other dog friendly hotel do. If u have a dog go to nearby Lowestoft & Southwold they have plenty if dog friendly places to eat. If u are the wherry on your own u couldnot even get a drink they need to change with the times or not say dog friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel, nice location and lovely food.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Spacious room with lovely view over the water. Lovely food. Nice staff.
Good hotel, stayed for 2 nights for work. Nice staff. Comfortable hotel. Would stay again. Carvery is lovely and good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique Hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Location, uniqueness
Cons: USB plugs in the rooms to charge phones
Location: Excellent location, near to all the bars and restuarants. A pleasant walk along the river is also possible.
A classic hotel above a pub. Unique in its layout and a fun place to stay. Good loaction
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wickford Essex

Good location.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
We stayed for three days over Christmas. The standard of service throughout was excellent. From reception to restaurant and bar they could not have been more friendly and helpful. A very enjoyable stay.