Ratings based on 489 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia Information Wrong

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Expedia showed hotel as 'Pet Friendly' and was quite a bit more expensive than hotels that were 'Not Pet Friendly.' Upon arrival was informed that this hotel was also NOT PET FRIENDLY. Cancellation period was TWO WEEKS PRIOR, therefore NO REFUNDS or other attempt to resolve the problem. Won't be using Expedia again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016
It was Gud but water is not draining fast in bath tub
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, NY

Beautiful view of the water. Clean room.

Posted May 23, 2016
Cons: Help to get luggage upstairs.
Location: We went to Key West which was interesting.
Everything was good. The new clerk at check in was not very accommodating. However, there was another employee that was helpful. My sister and I are seniors and had a difficult time getting our luggage upstairs. The clerk didn't seem to care. Another woman saw us and asked her husband to help. They were tourists.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Friendly staff, nice views

Posted May 5, 2016
We got into town early in the morning, after driving all night (to avoid traffic) from Naples. We found ourselves with nothing to do as most everything was still closed. Check-in isn't until three and we got there around 9 or 10 to see what we could do. The woman at the desk was very, very helpful and told us that we could use their pool, marina, and facilities, and that she would call us as soon as the room was turned over. She called around noon which was great. (So we could nap!!) The rooms have a great view of the water and some of our neighbors were snorkeling right there. There are so many iguanas running around! I enjoyed the tiki bar. Even though we were only here for one night, I enjoyed myself and would definitely recommend this place especially if you can't quite afford some of the resort prices on the keys!
5 out of 5
by Ammad from NY

Best value for the money

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Thoughly disappointed

Posted Apr 20, 2016
The room was smelly and the smell improved only slightly after running the air conditioner for several hours. The tub/shower had alot of mildew and rust. The whole building/site needed attention.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

two thumbs way up

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing stay. Close to key west. Great staff.
4 out of 5
by Manfred from Allgäu

Toller Ausgangspunkt für Key West

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Die Sugarloaf-lodge ist der ideale Ausgangspunkt um Key West zu sehen. Mit dem Auto nur 30 Minuten entfernt, dabei selbst sehr idyllisch gelegen mit viel Wasser und Natur drumherum. Der Preis ist auf jeden Fall günstiger als Key West und die Zimmer sind angenehm gross mit zwei Betten und Terasse bzw. Balkon direkt am Wasser.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Lower cost older quirky hotel 15 mi from Key West

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: Price was good. Staff was very friendly and very helpful. The grounds are a bit beat up but inherently lovely.
Cons: The Air Conditioner - hotel AC units are notoriously awful but this one was really old and made the room feel damp. The beds should be queen sized.
Location: Location is 15 miles from Key West which was OK to drive back in the evening. I would not want to drive back and forth several times a day.
We stayed at the Sugar Loaf Lodge because we wanted a "basic" hotel at a low price - and that's what we got. The staff was very nice and helpful and check in and check out was very smooth. The property itself is pretty spectacular - quintessential "FL Keys". There is a Tiki bar on site which was rockin. The room decor is very very old looking. The door keys are metal not electronic cards. We arrived about 10PM and there was NO food nearby - we would have had to drive miles even for a candy bar. Soda machine but no snack machine so bring your own snacks if you have a need to munch at night! You can get free coffee in the AM in the Tiki bar but no breakfast. Sugarloaf Pizza carry out is next to the lodge office and they offer breakfast food as well as food later in the day. The pizza chef was friendly. .I would "recommend to a friend" but for two things: 1) The very old-looking air conditioner kept the room cool but was noisy and we all agreed that the room also felt damp. 2) The beds were fairly comfortable but are doubles - so consider that if you and your spouse or significant other are accustomed to a queen or king. We had trouble adjusting so didn't sleep well at all. If you are already used to sharing a double or there are just two of you for two beds then that's probably OK. If it were just my wife and me we'd stay here again - particularly for the price near Key West. May depend on the season.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

A piece of paradise...

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: Mentioned above...
Location: By the Bay.
Upon our arrival, the sight of 2 iguanas on the lounging on the bridge by the pristine water at the back of the property had my entire family out of the minivan at lightning speed. They followed one, which lead them to trees full of these beautiful lizards. The front desk personnel, a very amiable gentleman, was very friendly and welcoming. Our room was in the middle of the 2nd floor, and had a fantastic view of the bay. And yes, there were more iguanas looking at us from the first floor, some being fed with lettuce by the other guests. My husband commented on how soundly he slept on the pillow soft queen bed. There were 2 sinks, one inside the bathroom and the other one outside – this was so helpful with two teens. Other amenities in the room include the tv, a fridge, microwave and hair dryer. There were also two lounging chairs on the terrace. The tiki bar had a good number of people in it but we couldn’t hear them from inside the room. I definitely recommend this place, close enough to Key West without the exorbitant fees but with that blissful peace. We will definitely come back!