Ratings based on 298 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas, NV drcosens@hotmail

I love this hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2017
I have stayed in this hotel 3 times this year. I have enjoyed the stay every time and sleep great. The location is nice and best of all quite. I have and will again recommend this hotel to my friend's even my mother. This is not a new fancy hotel this is a hotel with the 50's 60's style the way I like it. The hotel and rooms are spotless. There are no bugs or mice. The internet is good and the water is hot in the shower with great pressure. The sheets are clean and beds comfortable. The breakfast buffet is very very tasty and the food is fresh. Now I feel this is very important, the staff. The staff is the nicest in all of Bangkok I wanted to hug some of them when I left but left a big tip instead, more appropriate. But really all of them from the tuk tuk driver to the housekeeper to the breakfast staff and one lady at the front desk who was exceptionally sweet nice and beautiful inside and out. I hope this helps you to decide to stay at this hotel or not but I already booked for April 12th to the 25th.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Did-the-job hotel not far from Nana station

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Breakfast buffet.
Cons: Free coffee and tea in the room.
I decided to book a hotel online to prevent myself from walking from hotel to hotel trying to find the best deal. My stay was only for one night and it was fine, simple but fine. The breakfast buffet was good and was a good start for the day.
1 out of 5
by Thomas

Possible unsanitary water

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
Was a favorite because of price but no longer. They are recycling water bottles with no seals. I do not trust the safety when the refilling water the is not sanitized and no seals. The caps are broken.. These bottles are used. I would not trust the management who skimps on safety.
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
good location. good price for budget travelers no english tv
4 out of 5
by NEALE

Nice enough for the price

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here 17 years ago and it it needs an upgrade. Bit too much peeling paint and the shower/bathroom is a little rundown. The free tuk tuk to the main road is helpful. Quiet hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Satisfied customer

Posted Jul 11, 2017
I am very pleased with the Hotel service...People are kind, the atmosphere is excellent...Rooms are clean and confortable...Highly recommended...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
I booked three rooms and all were disgusting to say the least. Air con stunk of cigarettes and other bad odours. Noisy to the point of could not sleep. Management would not refund money for the second night and did nothing to oblige our request for a different room other than to say all rooms are the same. Avoid this hotel like the plague. Zero stars, shocking. Would not recommend this hotel to a RAT.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Average
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Cheap hotel in a good location

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Next to Nana station (sky train) and a few blocks to Asoke station (subway), offers easy access to airports and most of Bangkok. In room safe.
Cons: Everything - wi-fi, customer service, accommodations, AC.
Location: Sukhumvit is a great spot for foreigners to stay in Bangkok. Lots of activities geared toward westerns and easy access to most of Bangkok.
This is a cheap hotel for Bangkok and you get what you pay for. I stayed here 20 years ago when it was listed in one of my travel guides. Subsequently, I have stayed here two more times and after each stay have somewhat regretted it. I return because I like the location (which for me is ideal for Bangkok) and it is cheap. However, it is very evident that they haven't improved the facilities in the 20 years since my first stay. Wi-fi is the absolute worst of any hotel I stayed at in all of SE Asia. Their prices don't fluctuate much so their standard price typically beats most other hotels for the area. Other hotels of higher quality, typically have much higher prices in peak travel times, but can have similar prices to Royal Asia Lodge in low season. If this is the case, it is a no brainer to stay at one of them. If in peak season, Royal Asia Lodge may still be an option, but a somewhat reluctant one. I agree with other reviews, it is best for short stays, particularly when flying in and out of Bangkok on your way to somewhere else.
2 out of 5
by Kiet

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels