Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, UK

OK, if you like hills....

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: The staff were very helpful and efficient and nothing was too much trouble.
Cons: A lift (elevator) if the hotel is ever refurbished.
Location: Very hilly location. Close to a number of main attractions. Number of small shops, bars and restaurants very close by (thankfully).
We stayed two nights in two different rooms - the first one was small and up four steep flights of stairs. It was a bit poky (as was the ensuite), but clean and the bed was comfortable, and we also had a great view. As there was no lift and the stairs were hard work, we asked to be moved. The second room was much bigger in all respects and we only had two flights of stairs, so a huge improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Jul 4, 2015
We loved our room. It was clean and cozy. We only got to stay for one night though.
1 out of 5
by Tania Sharmin from Cambridge, UK

Basic Hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Hagia Sofia 15 minutes walk, Blue Mosque 10 minutes walk, Tram Station 10 minutes
Not suitable for family. We stayed in the hotel for five days in two phases. We were so disappointed during the first stay, we wanted to cancel our booking for the next phase. But the hotel manager didn't agree. The photos in the website are misleading as it will give you an impression of a very posh hotel. But, in reality, it's a very basic one, In terms of facilities. You don't get what you pay for.
1 out of 5
by Tania Sharmin from Cambridge, UK

Worst Hotel ever booked with Expedia!

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Hot water and room temperature.
Cons: Everything.
We stayed in the hotel for five nights. First of all, location was weird, it took taxi driver almost 20 minutes to find the hotel. We were given a family room on the 3rd floor, with very steep stairs and no elevators. When we entered the room, we were quite disappointed to see the very basic arrangement! It didn't match the photos in Expedia at all.The toilet is extremely small with a tiny basin, in a dilapidated condition. Floor tilts were broken. However, there was ample supply of hot water. Breakfast was at the ground floor with very basic staffs. Breads didn't feel fresh. The attendants in the breakfast room were very gloomy and unfriendly. We stayed in the hotel in two phases and wanted to cancel our booking for the second phase, but the manager didn't agree. It was a super off pick period and we still paid very high rents. On the other hand, we paid much lower rents for our stunningly beautiful hotel in Cappadocia. The difference between two hotels are quite striking and the more we compare, more we get disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for money

Posted Jul 28, 2012
Very good hotel. I highly recommend it. Room was of very good quality and staff were very helpful.
3 out of 5
by delpihero

Location on a slope - 2 star hotel at best.

Posted Jul 26, 2012 on Hotels
Biggest problem was the slope of the Hotel, any families, elderly, any person who does not want to walk 300meters up a 30 degree slope then avoid. The Hotel has no lift so when when coming back from the outdoors slope, the 5 floors are hellish. Hotel is on the edge of the slums and the nice hotels. Blue mosque is 10 min walk as is the grand bazar and tram. 10min up a slope is tiring. Hotel is £37 a night but over 7 days the average cost shot up to £50 which is cheap for Istanbul but truth is its a laugh considering around the world £50 is a 3-4 star hotel, Asitane this is 1-2 star. I would be happy if the hotel was not on a slope and cost £37 but the wife could not bear the walking. Next time ill spend £10-15 more and have a hotel at the top of the hill closer to the tram/grand bazar. Breakfast is nice and normal just like other budget places. Dont get your clothes washed, they charge more then central london even though they dont provide the service they give to the laundrette and it was to much. Staff where excellent and always helped. No problems while staying. Rooms are clean but dated who cares as long as it all worked which it did. Dont go for the 5th floor, theres to many stairs and our bath tub was made for a midget.
2 out of 5
by Grinki

Not honest with us and never respected our booking

Posted Jul 4, 2012 on Hotels
We were disappointed with the service, the way the manager treated our reservation and the way they bounced us from a hotel to another because they were overbooked. In addition to that, we found mold-fungus in the bathroom where water leaked from everywhere. The overall experience ruined our few days of vacation that we spent in Istanbul. My advise to you: Be careful!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2011 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Close to Local Attractions

Posted Aug 20, 2011 on Hotels
Good overall choice. Breakfast included, which was basic but good. Walking distance to Blue Mosque & Topkapi Palace.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Excellent location in Istanbul

Posted Oct 27, 2010
The staff was great and the hotel was located in the perfect place. It was an easy walk to every destination in the old part of Istanbul. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!