Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Tv not working. Bed mattress very uncomfortable.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Tv not working. Bathroom horrible, not how started in the photo. Fridge not working. Staff booking the wrong taxi for me on the back, in results of the chaos I missed my flight and had to pay £600 at the airport for the next flight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Very good location and helpful staff

Posted Oct 15, 2016
We reached there before 4 hours from our booking. We were very tired so after 2 hours they gave us room in Azade suites that hotel is in front of hippodrome hotel. So they gave us room 2 hour before our booking and they didn't charge.. very helpful staff and the other one hotel Azade suites also nice. Nearest to the blue mosque and good restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Service.
Location: Sultanahmet
A good stay as always with friendly accommodating staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good central location; lovely stay!

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: Staff & great central location.
Cons: More fruits for breakfast please.
Location: Blue mosque, Hagia Sophia, Bisilica Cistern, Halal Burger Kind, Halal McDonalds, Grand bazaar, Hodjapasha
The hotel is 10 mins walking distance from Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Bisilica Cistern and about 15 mins walk to Grand Bazaar, Hodjapasha Cultural Centre (whirling dervishes). 2 mins walking distance from a dainty little street lined with authentic restaurants - so plenty to choose from! We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days, the staff was lovely - went over and beyond their role and oh so charming. The bathroom was amazing, perfect size bath&shower, clean, plenty of toiletries. Distance from airport is 20mins drive - shouldn't cost more than 80 TL (about £25). Breakfast was served on rooftop terrace - view of Blue Mosque. Breakfast included standard eggs/toast/cereal but also authentic turkish sides olives/salads/sausages/salami as well as tea/coffe/juice. Lacked fresh fruit - but you can prob buy your own. Its much riper/sweeter/organic there as compared to UK. Not to forget, oh so cheap. They also serve tea/coffee/turkish pastries and cookies between 3pm-6pm in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco USA

Worth more than twice the price

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything? Mostly the staff. Helpful, friendly, trying so hard to speak English well (and mostly succeeding). Did I say helpful and friendly?
Cons: This is too small to mention, but the caulking around where the shower walls meet the tub was a little grimy. About the same as my own at home in fact
Location: 15 minute walk to tram. Haggle for carpets & kilim. Buy spices & souvenirs. Walk to Topkapi or Gulhane Park. Take a tram to a Bosphorus Ferry or Bazar
Close walk to Hagia Sofia & Blue Mosque. The staff are exceptionally friendly, enthusiastic & helpful. My room was small, but with a separate bathroom. Internet was slow some nights, but just fine most of the time. There is an elevator. You are right in the middle of Sultanahmet, so you'll be bouncing out of your room to experience Istanbul; but time spent in your room is quite pleasant, and an incredible bargain. Breakfast is just down the street (40 meters?) at the Hippodrome's big brother luxury hotel, so each morning you have a short walk to a posh environment for your buffet with a view of Asia across the Bosphorus. Fresh eggs, juices, cereals, cold cuts, etc. Lots of choices. Choice of cappuccino or coffee from an automated machine (great for machine cappuccino; not bad by general standards). Each morning I left thinking 'Well, that was nice! Certainly better than I expect from a hotel breakfast!' Oh, there's a safe in the closet of the room that you set with a combination of ur choice. Nice touch, though I never got a feeling anyone was shady. The fish restaurant across the street has a deep menu & tasty food. (Fried calimari looked pretty normal, but Stuffed Calimari was a huge calimari shell, served sizzling in a ceramic dish, with an out-of-this world stuffing of various seafoods). The next restaurant up had nightly Turkish folk music from a talented & entertaining trio on violin, canon (like cembalom or autoharp) & drum. Great with Raki (but try Emet beer too)!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Liars well located

Posted Apr 9, 2016
They lie showing facilities they don't offer (breakfast, sleepers, fake pictures, etc.) They lie about pieces of tours and transfers. The hotel desk is an EXPENSIVE TRAVEL AGENCY. They lie about the walls. Walls are pieces of papers, you can listen the breath of guests next room and pedestrians in the street. Location is very convenient. If they were less liars, it'd be an acceptable option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great price, great service

Posted Jan 31, 2016
I stayed here by myself during a 24-hour flight layover. Great experience from beginning to end. The staff were very efficient and helpful, and the room was comfortable and clean.
3 out of 5
by Ingrid

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ann from Hammond

Hippodrome Hotel plus 2 others

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
We had booked at the Hippodrome for 4 nights with another couple and a third couple was joining us for the last 2 nights. We were sent across the street for our rooms and the breakfast was at another different hotel. The hotels were just doors away from each other, but we didn't know this when we booked. The breakfast food and the view were wonderful and the hotel location was walking distance to everything so it was very convenient.
1 out of 5
by Sumayya from South Africa

Not peaceful for the price you pay.

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
Warning: extreamly noisy at night within the hotel. Can hear people checking in/checking out, luggage moving, even ppl talking in the next room and bathrooms. not solid walls between rooms and wooden floors. Also bedding is limited. No duvets provided. Only toweling sheets. if u feel cold at night you have to wait till the next morning for extra blankets. Good location and good breakfast. Staff are pleasent, friendly and helpful. Good wifi connection.