Ratings based on 720 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

disgusting

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: nothing it is down a dark alley
Cons: the rooms and the cleaniness
I can honestly say that the hotel was absolutely disgusting but in defence to the hotel they did give me a full refund as I checked out the next day and I was supposed to stay 6 nights
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Nadia, Thank you very much for your feedback. We understand you have been disapointed because you expected a twin room although the booking we received mentioned one standard double room. Since all our twin rooms were fully booked, we offered you the family room (2 seperated rooms connected to each other) where you have not been disturbed by the noise of the split air-conditioning and the prayers. Therefore we offered you 2 seperated rooms but you wished to stay in one room. So we could only offer you a standard double room (as you actully booked) as well as the opportunity to change the hotel just that you have a comfortable vacation. You decided to stay. However before the hotel manager had a chance to talk to you the following morning you left to stay in another hotel. All of us are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your Istanbul stay as much as you wished too and wish you all the very best. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

hotel opposite Sultan Ahmet

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: good staff and location. Clean hotel with very friendly staff. Especially Sirci. Very helpful at breakfast times. very very helpful staff.
Location: centrally located with all sightseeing locations in walking distance from hotel.
very convenient for all sightseeing. Good location for food and shopping. Best view of the Blue mosque from the breakfast area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Assad, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed especially our breakfast service and our location. All of us look forward to welcome you back some time in the future. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from shropshire UK

Perfect situation

Posted Sep 1, 2017
The Ambassador is close to the main square, easy walk to Blue Mosque and other sites. Excellent and very friendly helpful service from all staff. Will definitely go back
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Sandy, Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We are very happy to read that you found our location convinient and quoted our service excellent. All of us look eagerly forward to welcome you back some time soon. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Horrible hotel uncomfortable room

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The hotel's wifi doesn't work half the time and forget about cellphone service. You have to leave your room to be able to use your phone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Jackie, Thank you very much for taking the time to post you review. We are sorry to read that you have not been satisfied with the WiFi connection but we can assure you that it has been taken care of. Regarding the cellphone service, it is dependent on the operator you choose and is unfortunately not in our hand. All of us hope to meet you again even so you might not be staying with us, we would like to invite you for a cup of tea/coffee on our terrace when visiting Istanbul again. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast

Great location in old istanbul

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location, Room comfort, Hammam, and helpful staff
Location: Close by to many historical sites. Don't miss the Sufi dance(get details from hotel staff) and the Rhythm of the Dance is fantastic. Best belly dancer
Excellent facilities with helpful and friendly staff. Staff are knowledgeable about activities and can organise whatever activities you wish to attend. This is particularly helpful when you have just arrived in Istanbul and are trying to get your bearings. There are many really good restaurants close by and the grand bazaar and spice bazaar are within a comfortable walking distance. The Hippodrome, Hagia sophia and Cistern Church are within 2 minute walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy to read that you had a nice time in Istanbul and tried our Hamam. All of us look forward to meet you again some day in the future. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing service and location.

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff and priced well for what you get.
Cons: A top sheet to sleep under.
Location: Mosques, Restaurants, shops, cafes
You couldn't ask for a better location and nicer staff. We were only in Istanbul for two nights which makes it tough to see the place however being located where it is made it so easy to get to all of the main attractions. The room was clean and nice. The breakfast room has incredible views and the staff up there were such legends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your wonderful words about our team. It was our pleasure to serve you and we truly hope to be able to welcome you back some time in the future. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was outstanding

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Very nice hotel, close to everything! Staffs are helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Shazia, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to read that you had an outstanding stay and look forward to welcome you back some time soon. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Good location but hotel needs renovating

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: The staff and the view from the breakfast terrace
Cons: Almost everything as far as the condition of the hotel goes
Location: Blue mosque, Aya Sophia
This hotel is in an excellent location making it attractive. However, the hotel needs serious renovating. While the lobby area is decent and they charm you with a welcome tea at the desk, the bathrooms are outdated and old, making it look dirty. The towels themselves must be over 15-20 years old! The bathtub is rusty and scratched, and the hotel is stingy with basic bathroom supplies. The room floor was dirty to the point where I had to ask for it to be cleaned only minutes after we checked it, and the cleaning never happened. Finally, to top it off, the double bed has a small almost single-person blanket to cover yourself with - not nearly enough for two people and that size bed. Not to mention no bed linen but only a blanket to cover yourself with. Rooms have no view, most look at a wall of another building. The breakfast is on the roof of the hotel and while the views are stunning, the rooftop is not well kept - needs renovation and just general and basic cleaning. We were there 4 days and every morning there were not enough basic breakfast items available, the staff would simply say they run out (e.g. bread). The only positive side to the experience was the friendly hotel staff who were clearly working hard but were too few to get the job done right. I would definitely not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear AJ, Thank you very much for your time to write your feedback which is important to us. Please be sure that we took neccessary actions. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great location. Great value.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Location.
Location: Popular tourist spots - The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Gulhane Park, Topkapki Palace, Mosaic Museum, the Grand Bazaar, etc.
I was in transit in Istanbul for one night only, so wanted a location near some of the beautiful downtown sites. This hotel fit the bill perfectly. The lack of views from the rooms (there are hotels in Istanbul with beautiful views) is made up for by the Terrace Restaurant where breakfast is served. Great expansive view of Istanbul including the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia. The hotel is tucked back a walkway off the street, but is surrounded by cafes open very late (I arrived slightly after midnight and had plenty of cafes from which to choose).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Troy, Thank you very much for your kind words about the Ambassador Hotel. We are happy that you liked the location of our hotel. Hopefully we meet again during your next Istanbul visit. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent central location

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The hotel is very close to Istanbuls best historical monuments. The dinning deck truly has the best view in the area. Starting each day with such a view was amazing, and as equally wonderful was the Turkisk breakfast. The staff here are Tremendous! This was my second time at the Ambassador.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you very much for taking the time to post you review. We are happy to have had you as our guest again and like to read that you had a wonderful experience. Hopefully we meet again some time soon. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team