Ratings based on 738 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, CA

Cozy hotel in the historic area.

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Best hotel ever! I was welcomed with so much warmth. I was offered tea and turkish sweets as soon as I stepped in. Although I stayed there for 1 night only, the hotel staff made sure I got the most out of my time in Istanbul. Every single person was so kind and genuine. The staff recommended places for me to visit and assisted me with airport transportation as well. They laid out my whole day for me on a map and I enjoyed sightseeing as per their recommendations. They were extremely understanding and accommodating. The view from the rooftop is breathtaking and the breakfast was divine. The hotel is also located in the most convenient area. Everything was walking distance. Tram is steps away along with the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia (3mins), Topkapi Palace (5 mins) and Grand Bazaar (10 mins) I hope to visit Istanbul again, for a longer period of time. One thing is for sure, I will only be staying at the Ambassador hotel whenever I am in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Wight UK

Excellent location

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Once found this small hotel is in an excellent location. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. An issue with the heating in our room was swiftly resolved by moving us to another (better) room. Cem and Huseyin deserve mention as very attentive staff .
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Tricia, The entire team would like to thank you for your wonderful words. All of us look forward to welcome you back some time in the future. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg

Excellent value for money

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendly staff, affordability
Location: In old city. Blue mosque, Aya Sophia, trams, great restaurants & nightlife
An excellent find. Great location in the old city. So close to Blue Mosque Aya Sophia and other historical landmarks. Friendly staff. Great Breakfast with stunning views. Excellent value for money. Loved this place
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Tucker, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to read that you liked staying with us and truly hope to be able to meet with you again. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo

Nice location

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Walking distance from main attraction Nice terrace Staff very good and kind Room really small and terrible bed (they have to change it!) Breakfast good. Although the bad bed I recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear JC, Thank you very much for your time to post your review. It is nice to read that you enjoyed our services and liked the location. Regarding the beds what would your preferation be. Softer or harder? Please let us know that we can collect information to adjust changes. We hope to hear from you soon and look forward to meet you again some time. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

An excellent base for Istanbul adventures

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: The location The staff The views The transportation links.
Cons: The breakfast does not reflect the excellent food that Istanbul has to offer. Not much needs to be done or spent to improve this.
Location: The hotel is in the heart of world historic sites in Istanbul.
I had never been to Istanbul. I fell in love with the city and its people. This started with my stay at the Ambassador Hotel. Having stayed in accommodation ranging from 6* Hotels to 3* Hostels, I would recommend the Ambassador as the best in class for its price range. Additionally, I would say that the staff to a person, raised the overall standard of the hotel by a couple of notches and would not have been out of place, to a point, at far more expensive hotels. You will be spoiled by the views from the terrace, you will not from your room. You will be spoiled by the proximity of the hotel to world heritage sites. You will be spoiled by the proximity to transportation links. Be bold however, and journey a little bit further from the hotel to get a better taste of what this magnificent city has to offer from a culinary perspective. Many thanks to the staff of the Ambassador, gushing though this review may seem they deserve it. Have a great stay,
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, Thank you very much for your time to post your review. We are happy to read that you had an overall good stay and that you have been so pleased with the service of our team. Regarding the breakfast we would like to ask you to drop us a line what you found missing or what you think would meet the taste of Istanbul better. This would be helpful to us. We truly hope to hear from you soon and meet you again some time in the future. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

disgusting

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: nothing it is down a dark alley
Cons: the rooms and the cleaniness
I can honestly say that the hotel was absolutely disgusting but in defence to the hotel they did give me a full refund as I checked out the next day and I was supposed to stay 6 nights
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Nadia, Thank you very much for your feedback. We understand you have been disapointed because you expected a twin room although the booking we received mentioned one standard double room. Since all our twin rooms were fully booked, we offered you the family room (2 seperated rooms connected to each other) where you have not been disturbed by the noise of the split air-conditioning and the prayers. Therefore we offered you 2 seperated rooms but you wished to stay in one room. So we could only offer you a standard double room (as you actully booked) as well as the opportunity to change the hotel just that you have a comfortable vacation. You decided to stay. However before the hotel manager had a chance to talk to you the following morning you left to stay in another hotel. All of us are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your Istanbul stay as much as you wished too and wish you all the very best. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

hotel opposite Sultan Ahmet

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: good staff and location. Clean hotel with very friendly staff. Especially Sirci. Very helpful at breakfast times. very very helpful staff.
Location: centrally located with all sightseeing locations in walking distance from hotel.
very convenient for all sightseeing. Good location for food and shopping. Best view of the Blue mosque from the breakfast area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Assad, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed especially our breakfast service and our location. All of us look forward to welcome you back some time in the future. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from shropshire UK

Perfect situation

Posted Sep 1, 2017
The Ambassador is close to the main square, easy walk to Blue Mosque and other sites. Excellent and very friendly helpful service from all staff. Will definitely go back
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Sandy, Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We are very happy to read that you found our location convinient and quoted our service excellent. All of us look eagerly forward to welcome you back some time soon. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Horrible hotel uncomfortable room

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The hotel's wifi doesn't work half the time and forget about cellphone service. You have to leave your room to be able to use your phone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Jackie, Thank you very much for taking the time to post you review. We are sorry to read that you have not been satisfied with the WiFi connection but we can assure you that it has been taken care of. Regarding the cellphone service, it is dependent on the operator you choose and is unfortunately not in our hand. All of us hope to meet you again even so you might not be staying with us, we would like to invite you for a cup of tea/coffee on our terrace when visiting Istanbul again. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast

Great location in old istanbul

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location, Room comfort, Hammam, and helpful staff
Location: Close by to many historical sites. Don't miss the Sufi dance(get details from hotel staff) and the Rhythm of the Dance is fantastic. Best belly dancer
Excellent facilities with helpful and friendly staff. Staff are knowledgeable about activities and can organise whatever activities you wish to attend. This is particularly helpful when you have just arrived in Istanbul and are trying to get your bearings. There are many really good restaurants close by and the grand bazaar and spice bazaar are within a comfortable walking distance. The Hippodrome, Hagia sophia and Cistern Church are within 2 minute walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy to read that you had a nice time in Istanbul and tried our Hamam. All of us look forward to meet you again some day in the future. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team