Ratings based on 713 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing service and location.

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff and priced well for what you get.
Cons: A top sheet to sleep under.
Location: Mosques, Restaurants, shops, cafes
You couldn't ask for a better location and nicer staff. We were only in Istanbul for two nights which makes it tough to see the place however being located where it is made it so easy to get to all of the main attractions. The room was clean and nice. The breakfast room has incredible views and the staff up there were such legends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was outstanding

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Very nice hotel, close to everything! Staffs are helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Good location but hotel needs renovating

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: The staff and the view from the breakfast terrace
Cons: Almost everything as far as the condition of the hotel goes
Location: Blue mosque, Aya Sophia
This hotel is in an excellent location making it attractive. However, the hotel needs serious renovating. While the lobby area is decent and they charm you with a welcome tea at the desk, the bathrooms are outdated and old, making it look dirty. The towels themselves must be over 15-20 years old! The bathtub is rusty and scratched, and the hotel is stingy with basic bathroom supplies. The room floor was dirty to the point where I had to ask for it to be cleaned only minutes after we checked it, and the cleaning never happened. Finally, to top it off, the double bed has a small almost single-person blanket to cover yourself with - not nearly enough for two people and that size bed. Not to mention no bed linen but only a blanket to cover yourself with. Rooms have no view, most look at a wall of another building. The breakfast is on the roof of the hotel and while the views are stunning, the rooftop is not well kept - needs renovation and just general and basic cleaning. We were there 4 days and every morning there were not enough basic breakfast items available, the staff would simply say they run out (e.g. bread). The only positive side to the experience was the friendly hotel staff who were clearly working hard but were too few to get the job done right. I would definitely not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great location. Great value.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Location.
Location: Popular tourist spots - The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Gulhane Park, Topkapki Palace, Mosaic Museum, the Grand Bazaar, etc.
I was in transit in Istanbul for one night only, so wanted a location near some of the beautiful downtown sites. This hotel fit the bill perfectly. The lack of views from the rooms (there are hotels in Istanbul with beautiful views) is made up for by the Terrace Restaurant where breakfast is served. Great expansive view of Istanbul including the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia. The hotel is tucked back a walkway off the street, but is surrounded by cafes open very late (I arrived slightly after midnight and had plenty of cafes from which to choose).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Troy, Thank you very much for your kind words about the Ambassador Hotel. We are happy that you liked the location of our hotel. Hopefully we meet again during your next Istanbul visit. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent central location

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The hotel is very close to Istanbuls best historical monuments. The dinning deck truly has the best view in the area. Starting each day with such a view was amazing, and as equally wonderful was the Turkisk breakfast. The staff here are Tremendous! This was my second time at the Ambassador.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you very much for taking the time to post you review. We are happy to have had you as our guest again and like to read that you had a wonderful experience. Hopefully we meet again some time soon. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The hotel was very pleasant and helpful.i recommend using hotel transfer rather than taxi as taxis may drop you off 100 metres from hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Rashid, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay and all of us look eagerly forward to welcome you back some time. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great hotel to stay in!

Posted Jun 27, 2017
The location is perfect very close to main attractions. The staff where very friendly, especially the two serving at breakfast! The views from the terrace are breath taking!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to read that you liked staying with us and look eagerly forward to welcome you back some day. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Location and links

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: It was friendly and helpful at reception. Breakfast was well presented and varied. The lady cook in attendance was especially caring and attentive.
Cons: The hotel building is a bit dated and needs some maintenance work. But then, this is perhaps typical of places in the old city.
Location: Sightseeing in old city's quarter and tsouqs/bazaar
The hotel is ideally located to visit, on foot even, most of the old city. Similarly, it has immediate access to the city transport system; the tram and metro and with the Big Bus operating tours around the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your time to post your review. We are happy to read that you had a wonderful time at the Ambassador Hotel and took your suggesstions into consideration. All of us look eagerly forward to welcome you again. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, Conveniently located, Courteous Staff

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff and view from the breakfast terrace.
Location: Sultanahmet is full of history, shopping, and restaurants.
We stayed here on a short business trip and found the hotel very conveniently located. The staff made us feel at home and we were very comfortable here. Highly recommended if you're looking to stay in a Safe, Centrally located, and Comfortable hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Nick, Thank you very much for your amazing words about the Ambassador Hotel and your recommendation. That you felt home is very special for us as we archieved our highest goal. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope to meet you again some time in the future. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Great location. Great staff.

Posted May 23, 2017
Great location. Great staff. Minutes away from some of the major landmarks. Blue mosque and Hagia Sophia Museum. All the staff were incredible. Bathroom is a bit let down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Ambassador Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Michel, Thank you very much for your great feedback and suggestions. We are happy to read that you had a wonderful stay and truly looking forward to welcome you back some day soon. Warm Regards, Your Ambassador Hotel Team