Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Beautiful hotel near to major attractions

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: The Location. Just minutes walk away from all the major tourist attractions.
We were here 9-15 Jan 2016. Winter in Istanbul. The hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Sultanahmet Square, Hippodrome. Me, hubby and 21 years old daughter took a triple sharing room. We were given Room 2304 (3 single beds; part view of hotel dining area and management office). The room was spacious compared to the 1 Queen bed + 1 Single Bed set up we were kindly shown. Housekeeping comes in every day with a new change of towels! There is in-room tea/coffee facilities and a mini bar. Floor is parquet. Breakfast was always prepared fresh and a good variety too. Kudos to the staff namely Yessmin and Atti who were very helpful and friendly. There is an elevator! A godsend when you have 3 large luggage to pull. The hotel's restaurant is located on the 4th level and you get this beautiful view of the Bosphorus Sea whilst you dine. Prices were reasonable considering we stayed in the tourist belt! The nearest Metro (light rail) to the hotel is Sultanahmet station just 8 minutes walk away. Atuturk Airport is 20 minutes drive. We took a private shuttle service from airport to hotel that costs 120 lira per van. From hotel to airport there was a shuttle service that costs 15 lira per person.
3 out of 5
by Celia from New Zealand

Interesting stay.

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
On our arrival at the Byzantium at about midnight we were told that there was no room for us as they had over booked despite the fact that we had booked 5 months previously. Not a good start. They sent us around the corner to another hotel of lesser standard for the night. The next day when we were able to check in we were upgraded to a suite which was nice. However when we returned to the hotel for another two nights two weeks later we were in a tiny room with a tiny bathroom. Breakfast was average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fabulous find in the heart of old Istanbul

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: The room, the location.
Cons: Have Turkish people in the massage area.
Location: This hotel is in the old town and very close to the Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia. Great location. Close to lovely restaurants.
The hotel was a little hard to find from the Sultanhamen tram/ metro station but people were very helpful when we asked. When we got to the hotel, the staff were great helping us check in. We had booked a family room and did have to walk out of the hotel and around the corner to get to the room. After a days' traveling I was not impressed, however the room more than made up for it. It was luxurious, large and the kids loved it. There were two single proper beds for the kids, not trundles. They had their own room with tv and we parents had our own room with tv and huge king bed. The hotel is walking distance to Aya Sophia, the Blue Mosque and the various shops. We also walked to the Grand Bazaar which took about 15 minutes. My young son and I had a Turkish massage/ bath and I did find it a little disappointing. However, this is probably only because I am quite familiar with this and that the lady who looked after me was Russian and somehow in Turkey I had expected someone more authentic. We left very early the next morning to do the Gallipoli tour and we told the hotel that we would need breakfast at 6am and would that be a problem because the hotel dining room we noticed was not open until 7am. They said that they would arrange something which I foolishly believed to be room service of some sort. It was not until 6.15 when we actually went to the lobby to ask where breakfast was that they pointed to the dining room. Best to clarify what they mean beforehand I guess.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff are 5 Star!

Posted Sep 15, 2015
From check in to arranging outings for a party of 6 to laundry/checkout, a home run every time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

NICE HOTEL

Posted Sep 11, 2015
The staff were so welcoming. The rooms were super clean. The location was close to main tourist attractions.
1 out of 5
by Gregory from USA

Bad attitudes, bad AC

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
I read several reviews about how other travelers were upset that they were "stuck in the basement", so I specifically requested not to be. Of course, that's just what happened when they claimed, "Sorry, usually we would put you on the fourth floor with a view, but we'll have to give you a tower room instead, because all of our rooms were booked." In the basement.... I wasn't overly upset, because I was just spending the night but after a few minutes I noticed that the AC was out. So I called..."Did you turn it on?" Yes, I did. "I will call my friend to come fix." The friend hit the same buttons as me. "Ok, I will call technician". I told them that I wanted a new room. "Just wait, technician will be here at 8". Well, I went out and called around 9, asking if "technician" had come out...they said they would send their "friend" to go look at the AC and had no idea what I was talking about. When I got back, no AC. I told the manager that I want a new room, they said, just a minute, I will call technician...Ok, here will be here tomorrow. Anyway, they had no more rooms, so I demanded to be transferred to a new hotel, which they appeared to try to accommodate, but I waited in the lobby for a taxi for about an hour. Finally, I capitulated, took the room and demanded a refund which they gave me in cash Euros, along with a fan and a bag of ice. Unlovely. Breakfast was a chaotic affair with a snooty staff. I couldn't wait to go....
5 out of 5
by firdaus from indonesia

a lively place in istanbul

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Hotels
came back and stayed a total 5 nites with my family 20-23 and 28-30 june 2015. after my last visit last jan 2015. a perpect place to enjoy the whole istanbul holifay! highly recommended for international travelers who wanna have joy and fun. the roof top restaurant still a lively place to have dinner. thankyou byzantium and all the staff. we will come back again next summer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pinner

Byzantium not Constantinople

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Location, roof terrace, breakfast buffet, friendly staff, what's not to like?!
Cons: Air Conditioning for us.
Location: Perfect - very short stroll to the major sights of the Old Quarter & close to all transport links to wider area.
Firstly we went back to this lovely hotel for a second time within a year, so that must be a strong vote of confidence. The location is perfect for fun loving tourists with loads of restaurants & bars open to the street on both sides, so don't go for a quiet break! The staff are very attentive & welcoming with daily advice given freely as to things you should go off & see. The bedrooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is great catering to all tastes whilst the whole hotel is spotlessly clean. Unfortunately our stay was a little less enjoyed this time due to the air conditioning not working properly and the staff didn't seem to fully appreciate our discomfort. However 2 doors along our friends experienced no such problem so pot luck did for us this time!
5 out of 5
by Maurice from Malta

Excellent tourist area

Posted Jun 7, 2015 on Hotels
Good hotel but room too small. Service very good. Excellent area. Front desk service excellent. Highly recommended hotel if small room for a couple does not put you off.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Nothing special, its an ordinary service hotel.

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: Location, near to the restaurants and historical places.
Cons: Nothing special.
Location: Excellent location to the restaurants and historical places.
They could not reallized that Expedia already paid the hotel charge in advance unless I made a call to Expedia in front of the receiption. But the location is excellent near to many restaurants and historical places to visit.