Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older even tho renovation has taken place.

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: It's character, history, and proximity to venue.
Cons: Needs an update.
Location: Good location. Close to dining, train, shopping.
Bathroom tub was dirty. Old phone jacks that couldn't be removed were left with holes around it in plaster or drywall. Very unattractive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel. Inviting fireplace

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Cozy
Cons: Toilet paper could be softer
Everything went smoothly, receptionist nice, Lunch great even though we ate quite late in the afternoon. Bed comfortable . Breakfast great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Room was nice and the lobby and dining are were also nice.
Location: Location is perfect for us. Our son lives quite near the hotel.
There was a crying baby up quite late all 3 nights we were there. That made it hard to get to sleep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Old Fashioned Style - Lots of Space

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Spacious rooms. Good location.
Cons: More plugs by the bed. And there were know pull-down or transparent shades on our windows -- just a blackout curtain.
Location: Great little town with upscale shops that have something a bit different. Enjoyed a number of restaurants too. The local neighbourhood is lovely.
We enjoyed the hotel and found the staff generally engaging. Service was good and it was a pleasant environment. It is an easy 5-10m walk into the centre of Summit, which offers lots of local shopping and services. We also used the train to head into NYC, and once again, that is only a 10-minute walk away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great stay

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Very convenient for why we were in the area.
The staff is excellent. Included breakfast above average. Accommodations above average. We enjoyed our stay. Will select this hotel if we are again in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Had a great stay, very comfortable bed. Great buffet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Enjoyed stay

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Always a nice visit and have stayed several times when in area. Only down side is there is a daily parking fee and pillows aren't as comfortable as I like. Breakfast is nice in the morning. Good location for area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Major work needs to be done for this hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Free pass to Equinox.
Cons: Almost everything.
Established in 1868 and feels like renovated in 1968. We had to shorten our stay and found another hotel due to the following reasons: 1. Extremely poor sound-proof. Guest upstairs returning late and getting up around 5am, tiptoeing, sounded VERY loud. Anyone talks in a reasonable volume on the hallway will surely wake you up. Can't believe this is a commercial property. 2. Tiny room. With double queen beds, they had to move the beds to squeeze in a roll-away bed. Otherwise, no walking space at all. 3. Run-down bathroom. Shower head is so inefficient that it took a long time to wash my shoulder-length hair. 4. Breakfast under-par to say the least. Not to mention the limited selection. The foods are NOT fresh. The boiled eggs tasted like they've been left over in the fridge for a couple of days. Scrambled eggs are watery. 5. Fitness center smells so bad that we didn't summon up enough courage to try it once (but they do offer free pass to Equinox a couple of mils away) 6. Outdoor swimming pool very poorly maintained (when we checked it out, we saw some dead insects floating) This is the first time I posted negative reviews for a hotel. We are so disappointed that we had to change our plan and checked out before our planned date.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New England

Needs updating

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Breakfast buffet is ample but I had to pay way more than it was worth for guests that visited me in hotel.
Cons: See above. Also they might want to consider a pet policy for some rooms that could be accessed from the back.
Location: Good location.
The elevator was out of service and had been for awhile. Had to use service elevator. Rooms are tired and need updating. TV is old technology. I see no need for parking charge in an open lot. I think they rely on the lack of competition in the area. I see new hotel is being built in nearby town... I will probably start using that on my fairly frequent trips to the Summit area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive for the accommodations

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The hotel was very musty smelling and damp. There are two service elevators. Only one works and there is no ventilation. It's so hot you can't breath. The rooms were clean but aged. The vent in the bathroom was caked with black dust. It needs to be renovated.