Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Resort with Extravagance of the Palace

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Location: Watch out for the pot holes on the way to Sun City!! You could lose your car down some of them.
We stayed here for 6 nights with our two children, aged 3 and 5. Our stay at the palace was a superior family room where the children slept on a sofa couch, but with a proper mattress. Rooms are spotless and turned down each day. The breakfast and buffet meals are outstanding with a choice really fit for a King. We made a lot of use of the resort centre to eat evening meals as there is a great soft play area in the middle of the restaurants. Otherwise the resort itself seems to have undergone a radical change from gambling resort to family resort with so much to do for children and adults. Service of the staff overall is superb and they will do anything to ensure your stay is up to your expectations. From golf to game drives, to the valley of the waves to the lost city maze! Crocodile enclosures, water sports on the lake, great pools and a creche for the younger children. We made use of this on one morning which cost R200 for both children for 4 hours and they really enjoyed. We had one or two little mix up's but the manager, Francois soon attended to this and made sure we were compensated for the inconvenience. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would come back within a few years - given I didnt get the chance to play golf this time around and so much to do!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Absolutely one of the best !

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Right from when your greeted, going through check in and then escorted to your room your made to feel like Royalty. The ambience the glamour and the sheer excellence of the architecture and decor leaves you just bedazzled and spellbound. The hotels grounds, waterfalls and pools are nothing short of mythical.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice place, could do with a facelift

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Nice hotel, friendly staff, overall great place to stay however rooms could do with a makeover as they appear a little dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Stunning hotel with friendly helpful staff. Great breakfast buffet and lovely pool area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Palace

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: its fine
Location: The Pilanesberg National Park is next to Sun City, you can see the big 5. Perfect
We have stayed at the Palace a number of times and it never disappoints
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Very unfriendly staff. roos ok, breakfast very good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
It was the worst experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Aus

Aged and decrepit with poor service

Posted Jan 19, 2017
This hotel is like an aged sport pro who was once great but is now old, fat and complacent. In terms of condition, this hotel is in desperate need of renovation. Our room shower was in terrible condition. The faucets were all worn down. There were bulbs not working in the room and some flickering in the halls for the whole of our stay. Some staff were helpful, others clearly couldn't give a hoot. I had three strict vegetarians in our party and none of the restaurants would serve us on our first night, so we had to eat a terrible take away in a food court. The next night we were able to eat in the onsite French bistro where we ate a VERY expensive fruit platter and some roast veg with some rice. The staff in the restaurant were great and the chef very helpful, but still a complete ripoff. The Valley of the waves advertises a wave every 90 seconds. They neglect to mention that it is only a few waves every half and hour. Not to mention they shut early for a private function while we were there. Strongly suggest people stop giving this bunch money. It's all marketing and no substance. Cannot recommend - there are so many better places to go in South Africa. Please don't support this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Androela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over crowded water park

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
Shocked to find the wave pool & waterpark overfull - you literally could not get into the water at the wave pool. I can't believe it was safe to have so many people. According to staff questioned, there is no maximum limit. We were kept 2 hours before our room was available to check in. It was only resolved after my husband demanded something be done.