Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Beautiful hotel, great location, service was ok

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Came to Sun Peaks Grand to celebrate my sister's 40th birthday. The hotel was beautiful. Lobby was warm & welcoming. Rooms were well-appointed, clean & comfortable. Highlight was the Mantles Lounge & Restaurant downstairs. We had appetizers & cocktails there each night and the most amazing & well-priced buffet there in the mornings. Service there was very good. Was honestly disappointed with the hotel service, however. Front desk staff did not acknowledge/welcome us or call us to check in, they waited for us to approach the desk before they even looked up. At first she said there was nothing she could do to get our two rooms even on the same floor, but our disappointment was evident and she eventually figured out a way. We asked for coffee & creamers to our room as they hadn't been replenished - & it took over 20 minutes. The bellman who picked up our bags was very pleasant, but when we went to collect our bags from the bell desk she let us into the room to find our own bags & then gave us the cart to bring our own bags to our car. Disappointing for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delta, BC

Great Location

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Location was ideal.
Cons: WiFi speed and connection.
Location: Skiing was good with excellent snow. Could use a few more restaurants to provide better choice on longer stays.
Located close to lifts and in the middle of the village for restaurants and stores. Only complaint of hotel was the very slow WiFi, but that may have been due to some recent system problems that the staff said hadn't been sorted out yet. Sun Peaks in general could use a bit more investment to upgrade other lifts to high-speed express lifts (especially to reduce the 27-minute Burfield lift duration) and implementing RFID lift tickets to make lift access easier (instead of having to wait for staff to scan your lift pass each time). Some grading of trails to reduce the number of flat spots or uphill sections would be nice. The village itself could use some additional restaurant options for longer stays, but must recommend Powder Hounds German restaurant that had great schnitzel and very friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Bruce THank you for the great review. Sorry about your challenges with the wifi. We are looking at other providers currently to address the problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great ski in ski out hotel!

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Awesome hotel very clean, amenities well taken care of. Can't beat the three outdoor hot tubs and swimming pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Langley British Columbia

Excellent ski hotel with ski vallet.

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Everything! Clean wonderful rooms, the ambiance and warm setting, and everything within reach.
Cons: Unsure. We loved everything.
Location: It is a relaxing location so strolling around the Sun Peaks shops, eating out are possibilities which we did. After skiing it was great to just relax
Our family recently stayed here and absolutely LOVED it! The staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed the close proximity to the ski hill just right down the elevator and outside the door. Along with the ski vallet which stored our skis made it much easier for us to enjoy our trip. Not lugging skis around certainly made our stay more enjoyable. The outside hot tub was a delight when the snow was falling and Sun Peaks mountain which we had never skied at was thoroughly enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Mary Thank you for the great review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with your family and I hope we get to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Little Fort, BC

Only stayed one night, but we absolutely loved it

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: pretty much everything. Great Hottubs and pool, superfriendly and caring staff and a great restaurant
Cons: Really nothing comes to mind
Location: This is a ski hill, so its all about Winter, skiing, snowshoeing, skating, xcountry, skleighrides, etc. Great eats, golf & Mountain biking in summer
Check in was swift and very friendly and professional. Room was clean, spacious with a fantastic bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Francesco Thank you for sharing your experience and for the great review. Kind regards, David
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great location

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: My room the outlets didn't work.
Great location and staff! My room had issues with the outlets. Most didn't work and the couple that did were not consistent. No hot water for two or the three nights I stayed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Lesia Thank you for the review. It appears you enjoyed your stay very much. There was a hot water outage during your stay due to a pipe bursting and we had to shut it off for a repair. Our apologies for the problems this rare incident caused.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: free parking
Location: great skiing
Excellent all the way around; accommodations, food, and staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! I appreciate you sharing your experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronti

Great location

Posted Dec 10, 2016
I wa not able to get a room for the first night of my stay. Sun Peaks Grand called me when one came availabe. Fast checking in, great room and courteous staff. Only criticism is the hotel is on a ski hill with no boot dryers. It was so cold and boots have to be dry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Activities,what activities

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Location would be fine if activities had been open,see above.
The hotel was ok,but was looking a bit tired in places and in need of some tlc. The staff though were helpful and pleasant. Our main gripe with resort was that despite being sold as an activities resort at the time we went(early October) everything was closed,including chair lift,which gave access to many hikes and views. This was fact was not indicated when hotel/resort was booked.Our visit was rescued by me playing golf for first time in 10 years on a well maintained shortish but challenging course.The golf staff were very helpful .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight Stop

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Well priced , very clean and quiet in our off season stay
Cons: Nothing it was great
Location: In the heart of the village easy access to everything
Great hotel, for a stop on an extended driving trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review!