Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place for the value!

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Other than no coffee in the room, it was a very good, clean and convenient place to stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Got exactly what I (didn't) paid for.....

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The redeeming point was that it was available on a busy Badger weekend, and not too far from Madison.
Cons: Update the rooms.
Was looking for ANY hotel the night of a Badger game in Madison. Found this hotel for ~$65. I realize at that price I was not staying at a Hilton Hotel, but this hotel was extremely disappointing. My reservation got accidentally canceled, even though I had called the day before to let them know I would be arriving late, after a night Badger game. Luckily, there was one room left because someone had not shown up. The carpet in the room was dirty, and the bed extremely old with a flat, hard mattress. The pillows were small and flat. There were no extra blankets or pillows in the room. The bathroom probably has never been updated since the hotel was built. I did not even shower in the morning; I was just glad to leave as soon as I woke up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could use 4 pillows instead of the 2 pillows

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Friendly
Cons: provide 4 pillows on the double beds instead of just 2
Location: Badger game via hotel bus
Very good...great that they give you 2 free drink coupons for the nearby bar/restaurant...nice perk! Also that they have a bus to shuttle you to & from the Badger games to avoid the heavy traffic & horrible parking situation by Camp Randall.
2 out of 5
by La Toya from Washington, DC

Livable, but Don't Pay Too Much.

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
The room was very outdated: 80's style carpet, bedding, TV, etc. A plus is that it was clean on the inside. The neighborhood was safe, but the building looks scary on the outside. From the outside, it looks like a place where illegal activities happen.
5 out of 5
by jennifer from Caledonia, MN

Friendly Staff and a Quiet Study Space!

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
I traveled to Madison for a two-day Scholars' Retreat at Edgewood College to work on my dissertation, and booked the hotel room at McGoverns Hotel and Suites in Sun Prairie in advance. The caliber of service I received is far greater than I have received at any other hotel I have been a guest in. It was evident that all who I encountered are person-centered and want to provide a memorable positive experience to their guests. The young lady at the front desk greeted me at the door with a smile and had a cheery disposition. What's more is she eagerly answered all of my questions before I even asked them. It was evident that she truly enjoyed interacting with the hotel's guests and ensuring I had everything I needed. The room itself provided me with precisely the type of study space that is most conducive to my learning—it was spacious, distraction-free, quiet, and comfortable. When entering into the hotel's adjoining restaurant, I was immediately greeted by the bartender and my friendly server approached my table shortly thereafter. I couldn't have asked for better service. Lastly, the meal was delicious and cooked to order. One of the cooks prepared my rare steak perfectly. It couldn't have been better. Thank you, to all at McGovern's Hotel & Suites, who made my stay comfortable and welcoming! I will definitely be reserving a room there again for my next trip to Madison!
4 out of 5
by Kathryn

Quaint

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
A two night stay convenient to visiting family in Madison. Clean and comfortable family run motel.
3 out of 5
by Susan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Blast from the past

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff as always! Stayed here once a year for the past 3. Rooms are nothing special, but they are clean! A little throwback style if you are into vintage. Free WiFi is always a great touch.
4 out of 5
by Jeff

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
It was just an overnight but stayed here before. Will stay again.