Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel that didn't deliver

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Sun Valley Inn has a great reputation and is situated in one of the most beautiful places in Idaho. However, I was very disappointed in the condition of the inn and room. We paid over $450 for a room for one night. The threshold when entering the room was cracked and missing sections, paint was missing and worn off on the interior doors, pealing paint in the bathroom ceiling Lack of maintenance and attention to detail.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Lodging was good. Just not as upscale as the price reflects
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pocatello, Idaho

Nice hotel with classic decor.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: The ambience fits with the historical importance of Sun Valley. It's classic decor invokes nostalgia with modern touches. The pool is delightful.
Cons: Nothing. Please don't remodel this gem!!
Location: See the sleigh ride and XC skiing descriptions above.
The ambience fits with the historic significance of Sun Valley. We loved the sleigh ride from the Sun Valley Inn to the Trail Creek Cabin for dinner. It was cold, but so beautiful under the stars on the sparkling snow. The sleigh driver and rider were great, and the wool blankets piled on top of us were great. Dinner was absolutely scrumptious. We highly recommend this experience!! Also, the XC skiing on the North Fork Trail was perfect. We'll definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel close to Ketchum

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Excellent accommodations, very professional staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hillsboro, OR

The room was quite large and furnished nicely.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
We walked the area and shopped at the complex stores. We also had great breakfasts and breaks at the deli. The snow was only a couple of inches thick but, it was enough to show off the scenery, and since we are too old and rickety to ski, we wouldn't have needed more snow. We enjoyed watching the ice skaters and just hanging out in the lodge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Couldn't imagine paying peak-season rates to stay

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
When booking it wasn't clear to me that we were booking a room in the Inn, and not the Lodge. I wouldn't have stayed here had I known that. Also, they've done a semi-update of the rooms which didn't include shower fixtures. The dated, mildew filled 70's era fixtures were disturbing for a room that cost this much in Idaho during the slack. The heated pool was the one highlight of the stay, but the attendant who couldn't be bothered to get off his cellphone when I needed a token for the changing room lockers helped offset that. Reminded me of staying at a lodge in a national park. You're basically paying for the name and location, not the disappointing rooms and poor service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Valet service excellent, staff attentive, total experience top drawer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice resort hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Bowling alley and pool table
We stayed in the Inn rather than the lodge and it's a nice enough hotel with on site shops and lots of facilities. We particularly enjoyed the bowling alley and pool table at the lodge. Great for us for a nights stop over.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels