Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Bad experience

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: close to main street, that's all.
Cons: just about everything!
Location: Come into town to ski
the rooms were just ok vs. the pictures on line. The hotel staff was not helpful checking in and out. Very poor communications on where to park your car. My car was impounded because I was never told that you couldn't park on the street, cost me $200.00 bucks. The pool was very small and the hot tub needed more chemicals, and didn't seem very clean. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone coming into Sun Valley for a vacation. We do plan on coming back to Sun Valley for a ski vacation, but won't be staying at the Tamarack ever again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: No
Location: Sopping j dining
Very clean n comfortable...great location..close to shopping n dining
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The place needs serious renovation

Posted Dec 31, 2016
The fireplace shown online looks like a regular wood burning fireplace but the rooms have a black stove instead
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coronado

Cozy place to stay in Ketchum

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Location, room comfort, fair rates, clean.
Location: Atkinson's Market is close for ANY need you have. Great wine selection, excellent deli, etc.
I walked all over Ketchum. Explored shops, restaurants, library and walking paths. Drove to Stanley and Redfish. The location was great and always had a parking spot. The room was spacious and comfortable. Liked the down pillows and comforters. Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
This is an older property that is a nice place to stay, great location and nothing fancy but just comfy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location!!

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
The Tamarack is in a great location for everything near Sun Valley and Ketchum. The property itself is older, but we did notice that they have done a little bit of updating to the rooms. The front desk staff - extremely helpful and kind. We didn't use the pool this time, but we have in the past and it is very nice too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

All that Jazz

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Location, amenities, courtesy of staff.
Cons: Bathroom should have a ceiling fan. Hot tub should be monitored regularly for chemical balance/cleanliness.
Location: central downtown, walk to everything; restaurants, entertainment, shopping, also free public transit.
Hotel is downtown, proximate to restaurants, shops, and free public transit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location !

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Location
The Inn is dated, but clean. Location is 5* . I'd stay again for that reason.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho Falls, Id.

Old - Remodeled

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: On the route to the the Sun Valley Lodge.
Cons: PARKING
The parking lot is to small for the size of the motel. Some parking is on the street and in the alley. I ask for a 6:30 A.M. wake up. It never came.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels