Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel friendly staff but room too cold

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Complained and were provided with an extra duvet. Otherwise the hotel was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Co. Down

Lovely hotel by the beach

Posted Oct 4, 2017
We have just returned from an amazing stay at the Marriott Sunderland. The hotel was so central from some lovely eateries and walks on the promenade. The facilities in the hotel were excellent and the staff top class. I would highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sunderland

Quiet night

Posted Sep 10, 2017
A nice restful sleep quiet room. Away from it all. Last minute stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Really nice hotel close to beach

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Lovely stay at this hotel. Very clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly. View over the beach. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from margate kent

Good hotel location very pretty and nice restauran

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Very relaxing and nice feel about the hotel
Cons: Restaurant menu could do better
Location: Lovely location and plenty of cafes and restaurants and pubs
Very relaxing nice atmosphere clean staff very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Nice hotel overlooking beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. The worst things were the swimming pool changing rooms and the horrible bit you have to walk through to get into the pool from the female changing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Views to die for

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Very friendly staff and views are amazing Close to public transport and all the facilities you need for a comfortable stay Close to spectacular Indian restaurant Shagoriki
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel very close to beach

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Everything .
We took our two young granddaughters for a two night stay and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The family room we were given was sspacious ,comfortable and very clean. Staff were all very friendly and polite and would certainly recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great location, rooms have no Air Conditioning

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Location and friendly staff, rooms are comfortable and well appointed, the Spotify hookup on the TV was appreciated by my daughter. Pool is nice.
Cons: Windows open a couple of inches only and there's no air conditioning so room was too and stuffy. Power outlets are mostly not standard G types.
Location: Sunderland itself is 10 minutes by car away, the location is right opposite the beach
Overall enjoyed our stay, rooms need air conditioning and removal of non standard power sockets so that charging laptop and phones didn't require digging around behind the TV for a standard G type power socket. Pool is nice to splash around in with children but the pool also doubles as a gym so it's a little awkward with men doing laps next to us trying to just play. Try to avoid the "deluxe" rooms facing the rear of the building, every morning you'll be woken around 7am by garbage trucks and hotel deliveries. If they installed air conditioning in the rooms this would be a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
by Alexandra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels