Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Yorks

Good location, lots of options

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: See above experience
Location: Plenty to do, public transport good, right on the beach.
Room (137) was lower floor facing front so views limited but decor and standard of room very good. Double room but small and quite dark, no bedside table on door side of bed which was quite inconvenient. Two minor points, water pipes very noisy and corridor door could have done with soft close mechanism to reduce noise when people passed through, resulting in being woken up several times. Discount voucher pack meant excellent value on in house facilities/eating /bar. Staff excellent and responded very quickly to problem with shower. Overall an enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cumbria

Beautiful views of shore

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Not disabled friendly. On arrival advised lift not working and in order to get to our room we were advised to use stairs. My wife finds stairs very difficult due to a heart condition and room 131 required us to ascend and then descend to our room which was a major problem. The room was also very noisy early morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Hotel was clean and comfortable, with very pleasant food available. No complaints about the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BATH, SOMERSET

USED TO BE LOVELY . STANDARDS HAVE REALLY SLIPPED

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: Stunning location and views from the front of the hotel
Cons: Please see above. Attention to detail and management on the floor, managing the situation.
Location: Walking, docks national glass centre, St Peter Monkwearmouth, city centre.... where to stop;- its fantastic.
Used to be a lovely hotel. Standards have really slipped, and all could be put right with some attention to detail and decent management. - Loo holder in the bedroom (No131), was broken when we arrived and stayed broken throughout our visit. Also the room was at the back of the hotel; view awful (fire escapes), and a persistent very strong smell of sewage from the drains. -At breakfast the tables all had vases of dead flowers on them, which were worse than no flowers at all, and the restaurant had run out of butter and could only offer Flora spread. Unbelievable or what ! On the Friday night we ate in the hotel, and it was a pantomime. Over an hour before any food at all arrived, and on two separate occasions the waiting staff returned to say that menu choices were no longer available. Quite unacceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nuneaton

Beautiful hotel overlooking the beach.

Posted Nov 24, 2017
We came to stay at the Best Western Roker hotel in Sunderland just for one night whilst visiting family in the area. We were met by helpful, pleasant and friendly staff, who made us feel extremely welcome. Our room was beautiful, with a very comfortable bed, and tasteful, relaxing decor. Breakfast was delicious, and bar prices very reasonable. We will definitely be booking there again! 5*
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Refurbishment looks good but too many flaws

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Lift out of service for many days so rooms given were accessed by going up and down several flights of stairs and along two corridors. There was no heating in one of the rooms (mid November) so we were moved onto the 1st floor the following day which cut out one flight of stairs but there was still no lift and still no heating in one of the rooms. Breakfasts were lukewarm and served on cold plates. However, the two hotel restaurants were ok with good food and pleasant staff. We have stayed in this hotel before and enjoyed our stay but things seem to have gone sadly awry this time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Isle of Wight

What has happened to standards in this hotel?

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Lovely position on the seafront and the attached Italian restaurant is really nice.
Cons: Nearly everything to do with customer service. This is not what people expect from a four star hotel.
Location: Lovely beach and park close by.
We have stayed here several times in the past and always loved it, but not this time. Our room was really small, not really big enough for a double and when I opened the wardrobe door the handle fell off. The bathroom was large but totally uninspiring - it reminded me of a hospital bathroom. Our bath took so long to drain that I had to shower each morning ankle deep in my husband's bath water.The first morning we went down to breakfast there were small vases of roses on each table. A nice touch except that they were all dead shrivelled. They looked horrible. We asked for some butter as there was none out but were told they'd run out and only had spread. There was no butter the next morning either. We booked a window table for 8pm in the Poetic License restaurant. When we arrived (not late) they'd given our table to someone else, but there were others available. Both the starter and main I ordered were unavailable. We then waited over an hour before we got any food. The chips were inedible - overcooked, soggy and greasy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Executive rooms with a view of the sea are lovely

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: A touch of luxury, sea view, room service, lovely staff.
Cons: Let customers know what to expect from the function rooms facilities. i.e. unacceptable volume of noise with times.
Location: Beautiful beach with rocks, harbour, cafes, walks and activities.
Great location by the sea, sea view, big comfy bed, soft sofa, nice décor, tv, tassimo machine and biscuits, clean, towels, toiletries, robes and slippers all good, exceptionally nice staff, good room service. The fact that we had no idea that we would feel as though we were being forced to attend a party both nights was a serious blow. The music was so loud that we had to turn the tv up to full volume just to hear it over the noise. On the Saturday night we had to go for a midnight walk for some respite. As we were taking a break in order to recharge our batteries from our stressful previous month, this was a huge problem for us. We had been given no indication by expedia or the hotel that this would be the case. Had I known, I would have found somewhere else to take a short break.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Great location

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Location, parking.
We stayed here while visiting family, the hotel location is great and it has free parking also great but that's where it stops, at check in the staff on reception were miserable, our first room was above the kitchen extractor fan and the window was broken, when shut I could get my finger to the outside through a huge gap, not happy we went back to reception explained the problem and were given another room right in front of the car park, we had requested when booking a quiet room if possible sadly our request was not met but at least the window worked so we decided to stay in it. At check in I asked about vegetarian meal choices and was told to try the Italian restaurant as they had a better choice so that's what we did, we sat down at 5.10pm a very sharp miserable and abrupt waiter took our order but we didn't get our food till 5.50pm that's quite a long time to wait for one course, the restaurant wasn't busy and the used tables were left with dirty dishes etc not a good selling point really. Our bathroom extractor fan didn't work so when the shower was used the room got very wet and steamy resulting in a slippy floor and soggy loo roll. The room had quirky lights and ornaments and a chair far too big for the size of the room, more effort should be spent on quality mattresses, pillows and bedding instead of tiny globes and 8 cushions on the bed ?. The room was noisy,cramped and uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Uptown with Construction

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
Poor parking conditions if you have a car. Breakfast very busy and often need to wait for seating or food.