Ratings based on 843 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manteca, CA

Nice hotel for concert at shoreline

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Good hotel and staff was helpful. clean and friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Please come back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

very disappointed

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: only the breakfast was reasonable
Cons: try being courteous to your guest
the STAFF at the front desk was very rude and unhelpful. The room was not that clean. They should do some remodelling to the room. It seems like it has not been maintained for a while.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Your experience does not describe the type of hospitality that we want to provide for our guests at all. We apologize for any rudeness that was aimed towards you, and we are sorry that you did not have a wonderful impression of our service. We are also disappointed to hear that your room does not seem to have met our high standards of cleanliness. We appreciate your business and your feedback, and we would love to welcome you back for a better stay in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from never again

Hotel close to freeways and shops

Posted Jul 31, 2017
We stayed there over a weekend Friday to Sunday. Every time I left my room it seemed like my card got cleared not letting me go back into it until I got another key from the front desk. And on top of that the shower wouldn't keep one temperature for more then 2 minutes it would go from scorching hot to ice cold in seconds
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you have had some issues with your keycard; bank cards can sometimes cause keys to become demagnetized, and we ask our guests to avoid placing them together in wallets if possible. We understand that you were frustrated that this happened on a number of occasions, and we are very sorry for the inconvenience that this caused you. We hope that this inconvenience will not deter you from staying with us again, we would love to host you on a future occasion. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reeve

central location hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Cons: Bathtub, I like to soak
Clean room, like no carpet. Good location, reasonably priced
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. We were delighted to have you stay with us recently, and we are equally delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in town! Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

About 20-30 minutes from Stanford Medical Center;

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The breakfast, location to downtown, employees
Cons: Our room really needs attention. Paint, tile, etc.
Location: Downtown with good food places, Macy's, Target and probably more. Not too far from Stanford Medical Center, which is why we were there.
Comfortable bed; room condition so-so, really needs attention. Nice selection for breakfast. Nice pool; no jacuzzi. Downtown Sunnyvale very short, easy drive with lots of parking. Great food choices there. Weather amazing! Employees Amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we really appreciate it. We are pleased to have provided you with a good place to stay, and that you enjoyed our breakfast offering so much. We are sorry that you felt that your room needed work; our building is quite old, but we trust that you found it to be spotlessly clean. We hope that we will be your hotel of choice when you are in this area again. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from visalia, ca

Efficient

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Close to work. A good value
Cons: It's ok the way it is.
Location: I work there
A large, clean room. The staff was busy, but earnest not their efforts to take care of everyone. The fitness room had no control for the tv. I will stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are delighted that you enjoyed our clean and spacious rooms, our helpful staff and our reasonable prices. It is fantastic to hear that everything in and around the hotel was up to standard and you will stay with us again next time you are in the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from torrance, ca

Close to everything

Posted Jun 28, 2017
The room is in need of repairs. Paint peeling, patches on wall. They do have a great breakfast and the staff is friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Although we are pleased, you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our convenient location and friendly staff we are sorry that you felt your room was in need of repairs. We will discuss your comments with our maintenance team to ensure this issue is rectified. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced, could be cleaner

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Minor cleaning details overlooked Some dirt in shower Floors not thoroughly cleaned Good location right off highway Overpriced
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay. Our room service team works hard making sure rooms are prepared well daily, so we are very sorry to hear that you did not find the cleaning of your bathroom was up to standard. It is disappointing to hear that you felt your room was overpriced, most of our guests feel we provide good value in this area. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Convenient location. Only positive thing to say.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Just about EVERYTHING else.
Location: Close to freeway and shopping.
The property was totally run down. Shabby. Dilapidated. Tub fill provided hot water, but shower head did not. Clearly an issue with the mix valve. Had to have been an existing problem for some time. Their only solution was to fix it the next day (my stay was several days) or move me to a room on the second floor (no elevator, and I have a lot of luggage). Poured the hot tub fill water over my head using the room ice bucket. Next day, no repair. Maintenance came to my room at 8pm when I was ready for bed. No w ay a half day repair could be done then. Next day, Sunday morning, maintenance barged into my room while I was asleep at 8:30am. Anybody see a major issue here? Laundry room was a dump. Room lighting did not work, so room was in the dark. Dryer took two 60 minute cycles to dry clothes...could have been because the clothes coming out of the front load washer were excessively wet. Seriously, this place is borderline uninhabitable. I asked for a refund of the send day charge, and was told no by the front desk clerk (granted, he didn't management authority, but I was offered no adjustment). Recommend this place? I'll make sure to tell all co-workers to steer clear. Possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, and I stay in lots of hotels. Completely unacceptable. I still want a refund.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your time here, and that there were issues with your water. We are very sorry that we did not offer you an alternate room at the time - on reflection this would have been the appropriate action to have taken. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations better. Best wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a short trip

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Great location, room clean specially with those wood floors... A reasonable price for a quick stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, and thank you for your feedback! We are pleased that our hotel was so well suited to your needs and expectations, and that you appreciated the wonderful value that we provide. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management