Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greensboro,NC

Not Indicative of the veneer.

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: The outward appearance of the entire complex is fabulous but the actual room is NOT indicative of the veneer.
Cons: The directions to one's room MUST be improved and more precise with a GPS address.
Location: The Oyster Festival was very nice and fun.
The room I reserved on line did not look the same in person. The beds were poorly made. When we returned from the Oyster Festival, we discovered a sizable stain on the sheet. When I asked for clean linen , the front desk wanted me to come to the office, which was at least 2 miles away, and get them. After I refused, they were delivered to us in a short time. Finding our room from the Reception Center was quite a challenge. After a 3rd phone call and receiving a GPS address, our 2 GPS systems STILL had major trouble finding the room. We finally stumbled across the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice but beds are outdated and not comfortable

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Very nice room. Very clean. Mattresses are from the 70's. Unable to sleep because the bed was so uncomfortable. No shades on the windows so break of dawn was an unwanted wake up call. Not at all what I expected from a resort.
5 out of 5
by Scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Carla

Would not return

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
Dated room. Old pillows, very thin cheap blanket. Not impressed.
2 out of 5
by Grace

Worse than any hostel I've ever stayed in

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was basically cheap motel level quality. Which is fine if you're paying cheap motel rates, but we weren't. Wi-Fi never worked on Apple phone. Paper thin sheets, toilet wasn't clean, stains on the bathroom walls. Tried to visit the pool half an hour before it closed, they had already locked it up. Staff was lovely, though.
4 out of 5
by Eric

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
The neighbor were very nice. The staff was helpful and courteous. Amenities were good except for the fact there was no ice machine in the whole place. When it is 100 in the shade an ice machine is critical instead of having to go buy ice three times a day. Except for that an excellent place to stay
4 out of 5
by Laura

Nice visit to Sunset Beach

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Glad I didn't make my decision to stay based on some of the other reviews I read. The Sea Trails Resort exceeded my expectations. The area is beautiful and peaceful. Check in and out was simple. We stayed in the River View mini suite 505, and it was comfortable and clean. Nice small kitchenette area and included basic dishes, coffee pot, toaster and microwave. No stove top but we ate supper out each night so that wasn't an issue for us. The beds were a little firm for our liking, but clean. Bring an extra pillow from home. Tv was small but we only watched it when it rained. We had all basic necessities provided and loved the screened in porch. Yes the decor was somewhat outdated, but it didn't bother us. We did visit the activity center and stopped by the pools, indoor and outdoor. Both were nice and clean. Towels were provided in the activity center for use while there. We did not have any issues finding our way around. Google maps took us everywhere we wanted to go around town. On a side note, you do need to pay $8 to park at the Sunset Beach pier, cash only. If you rent fishing gear inside to use, they will refund your parking fee. Beautiful beach but was crowded close to the pier. If you walk towards Bird Island, it is very quiet and peaceful. Hope this review helped!
4 out of 5
by Catherine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Lisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NC

Great Setting

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: It was very convenient to the beach, yet gave us respite from the sand and the wind. Lovely pool and activity center.
Cons: The room was mostly quiet, though being in one of the "mini" rooms (two twin beds), meant that the air-conditioning was loud as was the ice maker.
Location: Fibber McGees is a great place to eat! The pan seared scallops and fried calamari at lunch are out of this world!
We loved it! The setting is beautiful. We loved looking over the golf course from the second floor. For two people it was perfect. The room was mostly quiet. We did hear people above, below, and beside us. The sound of a child laughing was actually quite nice.