Ratings based on 875 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

More for workers than holiday-makers - car needed.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Good spacious apartment, friendly staff, pools available, reasonably quiet (given location), plenty of parking, good security.
Cons: See above. It would not take much to bring this up to a standard which justifies the price.
Location: Well-located to main road (if driving) - plenty of shopping facilities. 3-4 minute drive to beachfront.
We hired a 2 bedroom apartment which was pleasantly situated within the complex away from the very busy road, and with a distant view to the sea. Location is not really within an easy walk of beach, and complex seems popular with workers working away from home, meaning early morning departures, but most are considerate. Beds and bedding great. Pretty clean, except for bathroom/toilet - toilet pan/seat had not been cleaned properly. Bathroom clean but design fault means blooms of mould in window-frame above bath and shower in bath. All amenities necessary - washer, dryer, dishwasher, microwave, fridge, TV, stereo - relatively new and spacious. Lounge OK - 'Freedom Furniture' standard. Plenty of cooking equipment, but don't lose the one teaspoon and bring your own egg-lifter (although I was loaned one by the kitchen when I asked). Air-conditioning is not up to the job in this particular apartment which catches all the morning sun, with only one head-unit, meaning it is difficult to sleep despite ceiling fans in bedrooms and a/c must be run all day to keep temp reasonable. As is often the case, curtains falling off tracks, and other small maintenance issues, such as plaster cracks, dead plant in large pot on otherwise pleasant balcony, tattered information folder and a refuse room (which one is obliged to access) which absolutely reeked. Overall I perhaps expected more attention to detail at the tariff level paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great value.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Easy to find and close to shops. Excellent value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs upgrade

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The staff were very helpful
Cons: Comfortable chair to sit in. Bedside lamp that works.
Location: Perfect area.
Not even one comfortable chair in the room, I had to sit on bed. Shower glass door a bit dodgy,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Nice Apartment, friendly staff

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Clean, secure parking, friendly staff
Cons: Requested 2 Queen sized beds, but received 1 queen and two singles. Communication would have been appreciated
Location: Short drive into Calounra and surf beaches
Just a short stay in Caloundra, to attend 2 Birthday parties.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Stop over

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Lastminute
We had a full day of travel from logan to hervey bay and then to caloundra. We needed somewhere to stay overnight so we could travel again the next day
1 out of 5
by Veronica

DO NOT STAY HERE - read reviews and then avoid

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
On a 4-week trip all over Australia, this was the worst, as well as time most expensive place I stayed at. Two really important things: the room was FILTHY, and the management was the MOST RUDE ever. When I arrived in the room, I saw a laminated brochure about the area over the microwave. I went to pick it up and a cloud of dust arose! Literally, a cloud. In the meantime, I had already noticed the carpet smelled of URINE. I called the manager, who came to my room, and had the courage to claim the carpet was NEW (!?!) and therefore it couldn't smell. He couldn't however deny the dust over the microwave, so he said it was a shame but there was nothing he could do about it apart from telling off the cleaner in the morning, and proceeded to tell me he was going to leave as "I'm trying to have a quiet evening", which I had clearly disrupted! This was at 7pm on Friday, 30th of December, on the Sunshine Coast. Hardly a day of the year when a hotel manager can aspire to put their feet up! If you don't like to help your guests, choose a 9-5 job! After he left, I realised the dust wasn't just on the microwave, but on EVERY surface of the room - so before I could even open my bags, I had to dust everywhere for almost an hour. I took pictures, see them attached. Emailed management with pics and a request for a partial refund, since the property was obviously below standard, and they have simply totally IGNORED me (I did receive assistance from Hotels.com though).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to main shops and nearby beaches

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: location
Cons: customer service
Basic facilities, staff not very friendly and be aware to clean any dishes used in the room otherwise they will ping a fee on your credit card. They won't mention it as there is a little sign in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach

A brief stay but comfortable.

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Wotif
Very friendly check in. Nice clean hotel. Perhaps a little out of the way; it's in a suburb of Caloundra so don't expect a brief walk into the centre of town. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast simple but fine for the heat. Only one minor issue with the light not working in the room. But a positive experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

cramped room

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: close to our destination
Cons: reception open. realistic photos of available accommodation.
reception closed at arrival. instructions disjointed. parking difficult & not convenient. no baggage trolleys. dark corridors. Noise from other occupants. no reception to contact. Star rating & images Very misleading.
2 out of 5
by Gary A

poor service

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
The accommodation was comfortable and clean but the service left a little bit to be desired, almost like the guests were a nuisance to the managment. Example include: - a) nobody on reception when we checked in at 4pm ( also 3 other people were checking in whilst we waited; b) initially given a room that was already occupied and we went in whilst the occupants were in the room; c) when we were given another room ( the manager blaming his wife for the mistake), the manager told me to let him know if the room had not been cleaned (instead of checking himself first)! d) the apartment we rented had an internal lockable door between a bedroom and lounge, which had a faulty catch so it kept shutting. A key was then needed to get from the bedroom to the lounge. This happened during the night and early in the morning, trying to get from the bedroom to the lounge, the room key did not work. Initially the reception was not staffed but eventually when the the manageress arrived at reception, I was sent back three times with 'solutions' to try, none of which worked. The manageress said that she didn't want to wake her husband as he'd had a late night but eventually he turned up to open the door saying that the door needed new batteries, which is why it wasn't working and suggested I use a chair to keep the door wedged open! e) Although free-wifi was advertised, I was unable to get any signal/connection to be able to use it.