Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CALGARY

Overpriced

Posted Dec 14, 2017
The room was not what we booked, food was terrible and overpriced. The restaraunt staff was slow and not knowledable. The room bathroom sink was not functional. The info binder was empty. The only thing enjoyable was the skiing and the hot tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Great staff makes stay enjoyable

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Fantastic staff. However food is mediocre. Place to stay if you want to ski all day. Not much entertainment at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Good hotel for convenience

Posted Nov 13, 2017
You pay for convenience . No need to drive and take gondola since the hotel is in Sunshine. Excellent staff. But price does not justify for the overall quality of the hotel if you do not factor in convenience. Small room with no adequate heating. Elevator was out of service. Disappointed with food. Food last year was excellent. But disappointing this year. I tried food at the hotel, Trappers, food court and gondola base. All disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Relax!

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Room was excellent! Views were grand! Stars at night marvellous.
Location: Ski, hike, relax in e lounge or hot tub. Enjoy!
Best and most relaxing stay in a hotel. Beautiful!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2017
We had a pretty decent stay - the rooms were clean. Personally, I think this hotel would have been better during winter time as it is a ski inand out resort. The great part about it was that there were multiple hiking trails and beautiful lakes. Disappointing part: (1) must be back by 11pm or else we would have to pay $75 to get back up the mountain and (2) unclear communication during checkout. The rep was not clear on the instructions. He told us to wait for the van to take us down the mountain when in reality we had to take the gondola. We waited for 15 minutes before I had to ask again. I asked clearly and he said the van was coming.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Must provide full information while booking.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Terrible
Well, what they don't tell you is that you have to take the hotel transit to reach the hotel. You will have to park your car on the ground and then someone will drive you up the hill. They charge $75 after 11 PM. What I hated the most is the fact that this information was not available on Expedia. It basically ruined our whole trip. I was charged extra for not checking out at 11 am even though I had left the hotel at 9:30 am and the receptionist didn't say a word to me about checking out. Later on, I found an extra charge on my credit for not checking out on time. Basically, they are just looking to make more money off you. My advice is to stay away and find something in Banff even it costs more but it will be worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Great Hotel way, way up in the mountains.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: This hotel is perfectly set up to enjoy nature but you don't have to be rugged woodsman to do so. All the glam of vacation and the comforts home.
Cons: Storage areas in our room was pretty limited. Adequate enough to contain everything , just cant spread out much.
Location: Well, the location is 7 thousand feet up in the Rocky Mountains, in a National Park. Some of the most beautiful vistas and lakes on this continent.
Completely isolated from the world.....In such a good way! No city noise to put up with. Sunshine Village is a ski resort, so it's all about winter sports. What a secret GEM during the off season. The grounds and hotel are kept immaculate. A perfect blend of wood and stone make it feel rugged with a modern updated feel. The rooms are kept immaculate and spacious enough. Just a little tight on storage space for our stuff. Our visit took place the last week of summer. Traces of snow and plenty of sunshine. Timing was perfect for us as were got to see the northern lights. Not hard to do since you are up with the stars. But, the real stars are the staff of Sunshine Village. Everyone was friendly and courteous. It seems the employees are crossed trained in all areas of hotel management. Everybody just knew Everything! Not a single employee seemed disgruntled or unhappy. The only disgruntled I saw was my husband and myself when it was time to leave Sunshine Village, Banff. Sincerely, Frances from Fort Lauderdale
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice but not for everyone

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The accommodations were OK but I stayed during the summer time. You need to take a bus up and down from the hotel and cannot access it otherwise. The buses run 8-11p but outside of those hours younpay $75 for the ride. I can see the draw for winter skiiers as it is right on the mecca of ski slopes, however it is inconvenient during off season. Nothing special about the place, jist the location to the slopes. Wouldnt recommend for off season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from traverse city, MI

beautiful property close so many attractions!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Fun property with amazing views, great trails, close in to other attractions, (banff) and others and very reasonably priced compared to other locales.
3 out of 5
by Martin

Dirty transfer

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was great, the big problem is that there is a transfer from the car park to the hotel of about 20 minutes up a very bumpy road, as much as a pain that is was, it is made considerably worse by the fact that the vehicles used to transfer you are old a very dirty vans. Ours not only rattled like it was about to fall apart but one of the windows was cracked and steadly got worse the whole time we are there. All they had to do was give the van a clean