Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
This is such a beautiful hotel. It's a huge hotel but with the extensive passageways and courtyards it's easy to think you're the only one there. Really worth the stay (and the staff are extremely accomodating and courteous)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

An amazing experience to repeat again and again

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: Immaculate state of conservation of such piece of history. Unbeatable location. Nearby amenities. Professional and caring stuff. Facilities.
Cons: Please change the pool towels. Are a shame for a truly 5* property you are. They lost colour, have holes and are not nice anymore.
Location: Walking distance to the greatest tourist sights in the city. Across the road of a huge shopping centre with gigantic food court.
This hotel is a masterpiece in all senses, and especially to someone how likes to be transported back to colonial times. The architecture is simply the finest, the courtyards inside beautiful, the overall feeling everywhere priceless. The reception, restaurants and old entrance lobby are filled with history in every corner with a meticulously work of historic preservation worth to mention. Since the moment we walked in late at night every member of stuff treated us special. You are not just a "number" or "another person". Everyone is well treated, and remembered my name the entire stay! Even the less likely person they did called my name. The room was beautiful, bright, cute terrace, great shape and care, impressive blend of modern with the old copper bath tap, sink and shower. Even the light switches are original from the era. Very large breakfast of top quality products, and a chef to make fresh eggs of many types available. The pool although not large was heated and very nice. Only downside the pool towels, really old and with holes! Not matching for a truly 5* property. Location unbeatable. Walking distance to the most important sights, and just across the road a huge shopping mall with gigantic food court. It has been one of the very few places I've check out and I felt sad for leaving such splendid and beautiful place. Without any doubt will select the same hotel on a next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Beautiful Hotel!

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: Staff, hotel facilities, location
Cons: Presence of mosquitoes, which is perhaps unavoidable
Location: Shopping malls within walking distance
Stayed for the second time but the first time was years back and only for one night. This time round stayed for 2 nights with my parents and we had a fabulous time. Both checking-in and checking-out were hassle-free and the staff were super friendly and efficient, speak excellent English as well. The staff presented me with a birthday cake on the day when I checked out which was a pleasant surprise!! Cakes and cookies sold at Toko Deli had my mother craving for more. Shopping malls were located just opposite. Last but not least, the hotel was simply beautiful, a perfect match to her reputation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surabaya

Relaxing weekend retreat

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Staff were very professional, excellent service and quality with English fluency.
Cons: We'd much rather have a mosquito net than need to spray in the evenings. Rooms should be fresh and aromatic.
Location: Surabaya is more of a business destination. There are no significant or interesting activities within 2-3 hours of the city. Shopping malls & traffic
Beautiful hotel, excellent food. Nice pool and spa. Hotel provided complimentary extra bed for our daughter. We stayed in an Executive Room in the far back 2nd floor between pool and garden. Very comfortable room, the only disappointments were very poor wifi signal, and slight mildew smell when entering the room. There is poor ventilation in the room and it just smells damp. This created a negative first impression. It is also in a very busy and noisy part of the city. We heard loud music throughout the day from neighboring businesses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Historical treasure

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Wonderful heritage hotel - with great location, especially lovely staff, wide selection of carefully prepared food, friendly bar and excellent gym and pool facilities. Just one drawback. Room was clean but slightly damp due to rainy season weather. Maybe this time of year hotel should use a dehumidifier in the rooms if the weather gets too wet. As I stayed only one night I did not ask - but would next time. Would I go back? Definitely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Beautiful Hotel, Perfect Staff

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Cons: The internet speed leaves something to be desired, but this is a problem in Indonesia, not peculiar to this hotel.
We spent two days at the Majapahit in January after having such a good time staying here in February/March 2014. We were shocked that 90% of the staff we so liked then had left but, such is the quality of staff training at this establishment, we left after our two days with a new bunch of friends. Someone is evidently doing something right. Even the maintenance staff and gardeners, not normally much involved with the guests directly, were smiling, friendly and polite. A credit to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

A Nice Hotel. Very relaxing and serene environment

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Few mosquitos are found here and there. Though management does regular fogging, but it can be improved.
Location: Its city center and close to shopping Malls and other attractions.
Exceptionally good hotel, well maintained, lovely garden, greenery and has very helpful staff. Majority of the staff can speak English. Restaurants were good and have variety of food. SPA center is also good. This hotel gives you a feeling of staying a Palace. Its location is in the city center and close to most of shopping areas and attractions. The management is doing their best to control mosquitos. Hope they will take this feedback to improve and make it more pleasant. I recommend this Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Character

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Character
Cons: Bathroom containers, vacuuming
Location: Massive and modern shopping center across the road
A step to the past with modern amenities, not sure why use carpet in such hotel. Attention to the little details needed ie toilet dishes broken or cracked, shower needs better cleaning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel grounds

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Hotel itself is beautiful. With a great character its an easy place to like. As a lover of good food and good indonesian food. Their food was a small let down. But the restaurant was nice. Also wasnt informed that the wifi is being upgraded so was given a code and then told they didnt know why it wasnt working until check out. Which is a massive frustration.
2 out of 5
by C from L.A.

Decent hotel, needs improvement

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The old world dutch architecture
Cons: As stated above, replace the carpeting, remove some trees from around the pool, include breakfast in the price of the room w/out jacking up the price.
If you like old world charm, this place has it, however, old shouldn't pertain to the upkeep. The carpet in my room badly needed replacing. Not quite sure if they even change the sheets. I noticed hairs stuck between the sheets & the mattress. The pool was nice, but too many trees. I wanted to see & feel the sun. Why bother putting umbrellas out there? They do have a nice breakfast buffet, too bad it isn't included in the price of the room.