Ratings based on 2,341 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Good Hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Cons: If there would be an improvement it would have to be the rooms do need to updated, but it was very clean
Location: The location is perfect for the beach, tram is just outside the gate and within easy walking distance to Surfers Paradise centre and entertainment.
Sun City is the perfect Hotel for families and couples, its in a great position and across the road from one of the best beaches in Australia and within walking distance to Surfers Paradise centre. We had a high floor with fabulous views and the room was clean with all the amenities you need for your stay. The only small disappointment would be are the rooms do need to be updated and our curtain was torn which gives a taddie appearance. Having said that we had a wonderful two nights, the staff are wonderful and very helpful and we would recommend this Hotel to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Family friendly hotel close to beach and down town

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Love to pool area as we had extended family staying in a couple of other rooms and was a great place to enjoy and catch up during the day time.
Cons: Restaurant was nice but a little pricing compared to others in the area. Would have eaten there more if pricing was cheaper!
Location: Close to beaches, park area and water ways. 10 min walk you were in the middle of the main town.
Great time was had by all. Grandchildren love the lizards walking around garden area and pool site. Rooms were large suite and had every thing that we needed to prepare meals with good air conditioning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Perfect location

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: The location and quality are the best things about this hotel. Waterslides for the kids, spa and sauna as well.
Cons: ONLY thing that was annoying is that for the 5 days there the lifts were playing up. Two occasions I had to walk from the 12th floor down stairs.
I had a beautiful apartment for 5 nights and it was on the 12th floor and had a full kitchen, family room, balcony, laundry, bedroom and bathroom. The location is about 1km from Cavill Street but it was directly next to a tram stop AND the bus stop that takes you to the theme parks. The rooms were well stocked with things like plates and cups and washing powder.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Not the best place to stay. Rooms out dated and things broken.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gold coast

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Bit tired, but fantastic pool area & lovely helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Lovely hotel close to beach

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Stayed in king room, room was very clean and spacious, close to beach, restaurants and shopping. Bathroom tiles were a bit tired but very clean, bed was very comfortable, lots of storage space. Buffet breakfast had a good range, staff very friendly and helpful. Outdoor pool looked beautiful but unfortunately we didnt get to use it due to bad weather (rain). We only stayed 2 mights, wish had longer as this hotel is in a very convenient location and cant fault anything with our short stay. Would definately stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Tranquil, clean, value for money, great location

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: The design of the hotel and resort style feel that was tranquil. Location. Buffet breakfast. Quiet room.
Cons: The room/apartment we stayed in was very outdated.
Location: Location was outstanding as you could walk to Surfers Paradise and the tram was at your doorstep.
Fantastic location, peaceful context and lots to do. Very clean and comfortable bedding, but our apartment was outdated. Apartment was spacious. Value for money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Darwin

Never Again

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The morning staff was out standing
Cons: Where do I start, The rooms need to up dated, the night staff were not helpful at all with anything and I do mean ANYTHING.
Location: The location was great and close to just about everything.
The Morning staff was fantastic but the night crew was not helpful at all. Every time I went to them with a question or for assistance they could not help me and even told me twice to speak to the morning staff. Like when I asked for a late check out on my last morning or fixing the TV that is in a different language and unreadable. I was told on the Mantra and Expedia site that I could get two twin beds. Not two single beds that just look alike and therefor are twins as night shift stated to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qld

Great area

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Hotel in a great spot. Room was big. View of the river and it was a good view. Pools were great. In winter the heated pools were great and hot spa. Only bad point was the couches were uncomfortable and one couch could not sit on at all because the sitting base was not there. A little dated but other than couches everything was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Location and close to everything

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Apartment was huge but in need of an update and new paint