Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

beautiful hotel but some problems

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The hotel itself is gorgeous and the staff are very helpful. We did have problems though: on the first night they put us in a room on the top floor that was like a sauna. By 1am we couldn't stand it any longer. The night manager was very helpful and found s portable a/c unit but that only got the temp down to 26C (high 70s F). As a family of 4 in a room that hot we had a really rough night. They moved us to a ground floor room the next day which was a little cooler but still hot. Our second evening we ordered sandwiches at the bar. Over an hour later I asked what was happening -- they hadn't even made our food! By then it was almost 11pm so we cancelled our order. There was a large wedding party there but we only ordered sandwiches! While the staff were always helpful, I was very disappointed by the response to our awful first night: no offer of any sort was made by way of restitution. It's a beautiful hotel. It I would not go back in the Summer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Lovely hotel, but drinks at the bar are expensive

Posted May 9, 2017
Lovely hotel and really beautiful grounds. Room spacious and clean. Breakfast was adequate and plenty. Drinks at the bar are quite expensive, £11 for a large glass of wine (did not see any price lists). Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at De Vere Wotton House, however I am disappointed the bar staff did not go through the pricing of our wine list. We do hope you will visit us again very soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice countryside hotel

Posted May 7, 2017
Great place and very relaxing Good service, considering the location Shame about the food, undercooked, no seasoning and boring presentation
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and I am disappointed to read that you encountered poor quality food in the restaurant. I do hope you made our Restaurant Manager aware during the evening and we were able to rectify this for you. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
5 out of 5
by KEVIN

EXCELLENT HOTEL.

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
I HAVE STAYED PREVIOUSLY AND THERE HAS BEEN AN IMPROVEMENT IN THE MANAGEMENT OF THE HOTEL. EVERYTHING HAS BEEN IMPROVED AND THERE HAS BEEN A MAJOR INVESTMENT IN RENOVATIONS. RECEPTION STAFF VERY EFFICIENT AND THOROUGH. RESTAURANT AND BAR STAFF VERY GOOD SERVICE TOO. GARDENS ARE BEAUTIFULLY MAINTAINED. RELAXING WALK AROUND THE ESTATE IS A MUST.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017
Kevin, Thank you for your lovely review of De Vere Wotton House and I am delighted to read you have noticed all the changes we have made to the hotel. We do look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Wotton House and I will be sure to share this with the team. Kind regards Mark Bradford Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
by Colleen

Perfect hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
I liked the small details such as the Hunter riding boots offered and the bicycles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017
Colleen, thank you for your review and I am delighted you took advantage of the cycles and hunter wellington boots during you stay at De Vere Wotton House. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Mark Bradford Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Stunning grounds

Posted Apr 15, 2017
The beautiful surroundings, building and wildlife are what make this hotel so special, but the detail in the service is what let down our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
I am delighted you enjoyed the surroundings of our hotel and if possible would like some further feedback on the service you received in order for me to further investigate. We pride ourselves in providing first class customer service and it is clear we fell short on this occasion. We do hope you will revisit us again so we can make you next visit an even more pleasurable one. Warm Regards Mark Bradford
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed feelings

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel has fairly recently been taken over by De Vere. On the night I stayed (a Monday) there were very few guests and the receptionist told me that the vast majority of rooms had been upgraded. It was interesting that I was then put in a non-upgraded room with an exceptionally noisy water extraction system in the bathroom and pretty dirty tiles over the bath/shower area. The wall mounted radiator didn't work so staff brought me a plug-in radiator when I told them it was needed. The windows need replacing/repair but I expect this will happen in due course. On the plus side, the restaurant was hugely improved and the service very good. Somehow the overall new decor, whilst fresh and clean, has stripped this lovely building of it's character and sense of history. The bedrooms were definitely in need of upgrading but some of the main public areas are now characterless. Perhaps the refurb is ongoing and it will improve. I do hope so.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to read that you feel our refurbishment has taken some of the character away from the Hotel. Our guests in general have been delighted with the newly refurbished hotel and the changes we have made since we became a De Vere venue. We have as a whole worked very hard to maintain a great deal of the history and heritage of the building, to ensure generations to come will be able to appreciate this spectacular venue. Kind Regards Mark Bradford Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017
Thank you Kind regards Mark Bradford Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel for a cycling weekend.

Posted Mar 28, 2017
The hotel is recently refurbished and well presented. The spa is looking a little tired but still a nice place to spend time. Good location for the Surrey hills. Way too many speed bumps on the driveway. Slow check in and check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and you took advantage of exploring the surrounding area. The reduced speed is due to a large number of wildlife we have roaming around the countryside and to ensure the safety of guests who use the drive to walk along. Since this review we have made significant changes to improve the speed of our check in and check out process. Looking forward to seeing you again very soon. Warm regards Mark Bradford
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from shoreham

Nice hotel in a lovely setting

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Really nice hotel with great facilities, Great food, The coffee could be better at breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
I am delighted you enjoyed our hotel and all its facilities. We can offer a range of alternative coffees on request from the restaurant team. We look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Wotton House very soon. Warm regards Mark Bradford