Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

One night only

Posted May 19, 2017
Last minute booking, looking for somewhere near Woking. found this hotel worked out a lot cheaper than the Premier Inn i was looking at. it is a nice hotel which for me was in the right location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Pleasurable stay

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Elegant hotel. Great food . Great staff .
Cons: At breakfast , the penchant for playing crassy euro-pop music was incongruent ,bordering on annoying .
Location: My parents live nearby, so we knew it`s a little out in the wilds . Car essential .
Gorse Hill Hotel has a beautiful country setting and has lovely grounds . Our room are was simple but comfortable . The bathroom was basic but there was plenty of hot water for baths etc. We ate in the restaurant one evening and that was fine . The buffet breakfast was really good . The staff were excellent and very helpful . Overall we enjoyed our stay there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old dirty antique hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
This hotel is old, needs lots of cleaning specially in the bathroom area. Shower head was leaking, toilet flush is very hard to make it work. Beds are very small size. Only thing is their breakfast is very good, menu selection is good. In my view this is a midprice Motel not a Hotel. Place can be nice, this place needs major renovation. Will not stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peterborough

Nice surroundings but poor accomodation

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Nice location
Cons: Everything
We were attracted by the pictures of the hotel and grounds on the internet and we booked a room with a countryside view. On approach to the hotel it looked very attactive, however we were given a room in the lodge (annex) - not the main building - which was right next to the main road. The room was no better than the average B & B and was a disappointment. There was no rack to put our case on and as we are both in our seventies, we don't want to be kneeling down to get to our cases. There was no tea, milk, water or glasses to drink from in the room. The shower was in a high bath which was awkward for us to climb into. The breakfast the next morning was a buffet and a lot of the food was dried out - the best part was the poached egg that was freshly prepared. We were away all day at a funtion but when we arrived back at the room at 10pm, it had not been cleaned or the beds made. We eventually spoke to the manager who said that he would look into it. We asked what he was going to do about it and he said that he would contact us and give us a partial refund after he had checked the facts. We haven't heard any more from the hotel - why are we not surprised?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Lovely hotel with extensive gardens in the country

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Peaceful. Breakfast was diverse and bar on site at night was a lovely way to wind down. Beautiful grounds. Felt like I was in an extravagant place. Good value for money.
4 out of 5
by anthony

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was good and convenient for our trip, the only complaint was that the cups were too small for what came out of the self service drinks machine in the loungemachine in the
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: A pleasant meal in the bar
Cons: The hotel is mainly focused on business groups and not tourists.
Directions for getting to our room proved very unclear and we ended up going up and down several flights of stairs with our luggage. The room was very clean but basic. Great bathroom though. We had food in the bar and the staff were very pleasant. The following morning a lady was looking for a meeting room, the receptionist's reply was very indistinct, and when we were packing the car the lady was still looking for the meeting room. Also, not good signage on the road to show the entrance to the hotel for strangers to the area. I would rate this hotel 3.5.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
The building public areas are nice but the room i stayed in is rather small and old,not worth the money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Was put in a cottage a distance away from the hotel. Slightly odd. Not enough pillows for a decent sleep really.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stayover

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
The room was comfortable and bathroom huge, clean and had a good nights sleep after a good pizza in the bar