Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA, USA

Lovely Boutique Hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Staff-helpfulness, location, amenities(spa), decor. Quiet rooms made for ease in overcoming jet-lag. Free internet hotel-wide.
Cons: Put the fridge back in the rooms. Have some a la carte offerings for breakfast.
Location: Check in with the Guilford tourist information office just down on High Street. There are wonderful sites and walks and strong ties to Lewis Carroll.
Just at the top of High Street, close to the London Road train stop, Guildford Harbour Hotel (GHH) was ideal for my needs. Guildford is a sweet town with some interesting history and picturesque scenery. Try the city's free walking tours which are delightful and I recommend a walk down to the river just in front of the "White House." Who knew that Lewis Carroll spent his holidays in Guilford and that he penned "Alice Through the Looking Glass" based on a girl he met in Guildford! We needed a hotel convenient to the major train line and close to Surrey and this was an ideal location. The staff at GHH were really accommodating and helpful. I was able to leave my large suitcase for 5 days while I went traveling elsewhere. The rooms are very nice, a bit small but I think this is typical in England. Also, there was a cabinet for a small room fridge that was empty. Having the actual fridge would have been helpful as the only option for breakfast at the hotel is the $22 buffet (this is why I gave the "4" rating instead of a "5") However, the rocket & pine-nut salad at the bar is great. And, the hotel has a spa attached as well as a work-out room. I would definitely go back to this hotel. It is homey, friendly, convenient, comfortable and a good value. While I was in England, GHH was my "home away from home." Free internet hotel-wide with easy access was a big help.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great, loved it would definitely stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

It's a shame the standard has dropped

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The location is excellent, close to Guildford centre, the downs, shops &restaurants.
Cons: Customer service attention to detail
Arrived at 11pm and the check in was disappointing slow the acces card for the Car park lift was not programmed so we had to carry our bags up two levels to reception. No assistance was offered with our bags. Allocated a 1st floor room above the restaurant where we could hear music till after 12-30am and the air con shut off in the middle of the night. Transferred to another nicer room the following day where the shower head was broken (no shower) and half the lights not working. The shower head was replaced the next day once we chased up its repair but the lights problem was not a fuse so we opted to leave them as they were. Returned to for a second stay 9 days later and were allocated another room where the shower head adjustment was faulty reducing the pressure in the shower to disappointing, but chose not to request a repair. The shower would benefit from a good clean as there was mould in the corner of the tray and touch of bleach in the WC would improve things also. It's a shame becuase this hotel has previously been excellent for us having stayed there over the last four years.
5 out of 5
by Philip

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sarah from Bracknell

Good overall stay

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Overall very god, breakfast not great food undercooked and everything disorganised, spa ok but pool tiny and again staff not eager to help etc but decour of hotel nice and In good location
5 out of 5
by Ben from London

Worth a visit

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Great spa and hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Guildford Harbour Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Throughly enjoyed our stay at the Guildford Harbour Hotel...... Room was were clean and comfortable....hotel reception and lobby are decorated to a high standard....really enjoyed cocktails in the outside sofa seating area and breakfast was delicious....a wide choice..all fresh and appetising
4 out of 5
by Gillian from Charleston SC

Great place to stay in Guildford

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel very close to center of Guildford.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So close to Wedding Venue love the atmosphere and

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Lovely Hotel really enjoyed our stay! : )) Nice rooms and great breaky